We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Accommodations from A-Z!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Brook Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Brook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Notch Accommodations from A-Z!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice since we found out about it a few years ago and there is no better place to be than the Mountain Brook Lodge when in the area! Al and Alicia go out of their way to make sure you are well taken care of. Warm, clean comfortable rooms with a cozy common area for a Continental breakfast with a quant Adirondack gift shop. They treat you like family and set up a wonderful campfire even in the Winter time! We enjoyed ourselves so much and created beautiful memories there, and cannot wait to return once again! Do not hesitate to call Al and Alicia, you will not be disappointed:).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hello again!!!! Thanks for the great review! You are some of the greatest people we know. Please hurry back!!!!
Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    37
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
89
104
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Wilmington is a nice quiet area away from the big crowds in Lake Placid. This was the third year in a row we stayed at the Mountain Brook and the place is better than ever. Brought the whole family, took up four rooms and all were nice. Plenty to eat for breakfast, Al doesn't skimp here. The pool area is nice and there is a big campfire every night, weather permitting. Plenty of hiking and other activities close by. Call Al for reservations way ahead of time because the place fills up fast. Will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Book directly with Al, all the rooms are good, rooms with double beds are a lot bigger though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmac_and_pmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The room was more than adequate, at a very reasonable price. The owner, Al, was just amazing. It was as if we were old friends, and we had come for a visit. The hospitality was great, and he gave us great ideas on what to do and where to go. We even stayed 4 nights instead of our planned 3. We really enjoyed the firepit which was burning each night (except when it rained), and it was very interesting meeting the other guests from all over the country and Canada. We would definitely stay there again, rather than in Lake Placid, which was much more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Al and Alicia Armstrong, owners of the Mountain Brook Lodge, are wonderful hosts. They are friendly, helpful, and fun but not overbearing. They make you feel like friends/family coming for an enjoyable visit. Their lodge is more like a bed and breakfast. We stayed in the summer but the room would also be wonderful in the winter months with its electric fireplace, drying racks, and cozy mountain lodge décor. We would highly recommend the Mountain Brook Lodge. Carol and Dick Fochler

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We wanted to spend a couple of days at Lake Placid and not spend a fortune. We found this on Tripadvisor and luckily got the last room available. We got there, and the owner, Al, greeted us so warmly and showed us our room. Exactly what a room in the Adirondacks should be. Clean and cozy, all the amenities, a wonderful breakfast every morning. Al and Alicia were so helpful and accommodating, telling us the best sights, how to get the best value and places to eat. We have spent a great deal more and had rooms and service that could not compare to this, it is an amazing value for the very modest price they charge. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish6050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I'm just calling to know if a room is available for 2 nights, the women at the phone is answering me like shi... i'm gonna spend my money on a decent place. I'm just asking a simple question and she doesn't take time to answering me and hang up the phone. You do good buisness.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Sir, this is a total crock!
My wife is the only woman here that answers the phone. She would never treat a customer like that.
Please provide me your phone number and roughly the time you called. I will check out caller ID to see if you did indeed call.
You may e-mail me the number at mtbrook@frontiernet.net
Regards,
Al Armstrong
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four just came back from a trip to the Maine coast. On our way home, we stayed one night at this lodge, in a room with a double and a bunk bed. Our kids were thrilled to sleep in the bunk bed! They also liked the popcorn in the room. Al (the hotel) owner was super friendly. He offered us food to eat when we arrived late. Breakfast had more than enough varieties for us. The room was clean. It was an overall homey feeling during the stat. We highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
10.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpine Country Inn & Suites
Alpine Country Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ledge Rock at Whiteface
Ledge Rock at Whiteface
#6 of 9 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Brook Lodge

Property: Mountain Brook Lodge
Address: 5712 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 miles from beautiful Whiteface Mountain, where the 1980 Winter Olympics were held, in the heart of the Adirondacks! 12 miles from Lake Placid!! Free late check out for skiers. Go home comfortable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Brook Hotel Wilmington
Hotel Mountain Brook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing