We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like staying with family!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Brook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just like staying with family!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I am going on my third stay here at Mountain Brook and the service never changes. Al and Alicia are a wonder couple who go above and beyond for their guests and do whatever they can to make you happy. From our first impression two years ago, we will never stay anywhere else again. We are a military family, and Al really takes you under his wing. So much in fact that we are stationed in Germany and are home to the states on leave and had to make a trip up here to stay with them.

Al helped me plan a surprise getaway with my husband the first time we stayed here, and that is beyond memorable. They really went above and beyond for our family and the couple of friends we had traveling with us!

They give you a great recommendation to a resturant for dinner, and have tons of options for places to eat to satisfy your taste buds. You are greeted in the morning with a small breakfast and wonder company. On the less windy/snowy nights Al breaks out the bonfire for all his guests to gather around and share stories, and have a drink if you so choose. I have never stayed at a hotel with such customer service. They are like family to us!

Plus! The rooms have been newley renovated with new memory foam mattresses, new fridge and freezer, microwave, and TV!

Room Tip: Just tell Al or Allicia what your needs are and they will be more then willing to accomadate you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    39
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
93
112
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Lodge, Our room was so comfortable and larger than you expect to get at a motel, new memory-foam mattress, fridge, microwave and extra heater for those cold Adirondack nights.
The best part is the atmosphere, friendly and helpful.
Would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonbarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Al and his wife make this feel like a home away from home. Not only did they personally show us to our room on our first night and show us around, they stopped in at breakfast every morning to talk and deliver the ski report and were just all around great hosts. In the midst of a giant ski and resort area, they run their business like you're staying at a spare bedroom in their house with their attention to detail. The rooms are clean, updated, have everything you could possibly want. Al keeps microwave popcorn in the room "just for a snack", has updated flatscreen high definition tv's (with hi-def tv service), Temper Pedic beds and pillows, and will get you whatever you need if you ask. He is very flexible too and also has a wealth of knowledge of the area. Make sure you meet Bam Bam, his Marine Corps. bull dog. Lastly, and maybe most importantly, you can't beat his prices! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstesprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Mountain Brook Lodge was an amazing place to stay it is like a home away from home. Al and Alicia are the most caring people. The holiday season is crazy staying here with Al and Alicia made it so much more bearable. The rooms are so comfortable and the water pressure is ideal. If you are ever in the area avoid the commercial stays and come and enjoy yourself at the mountain brook lodge.

Room Tip: The adirondack feel of the rooms is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjmastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We just got back from our trip. It was out first visit of Lake Placid and out first time skiing at Whiteface. We chose Mountain Brook Lodge mainly because of its great reviews. Our visit was just few days but it was amazing. Al and Alicia made us feel like home. Our room was very nice and very clean. The breakfast was very big and always prepared early so we could hit the slopes. Al and Alicia were great and they were always making sure that we have everything.We had such a great time staying there, and we are planning to make it our every year trip. Looking forward to next year already!Thank you very much!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina86_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Over a period of several years, I have been a regular to Mountain Brook Lodge and have come to consider Al and Alicia not only the best hosts in the world, but kind, generous, loving people and loyal friends. Al, a marine, has dedicated his life to supporting the military and has an amazing program for his active duty and veteran patrons. Not only is superior hospitality at the forefront of the benefits of this wonderful Adirondack get away, but the rooms are comfortable, very clean, and outfitted with the best of everything. You will find memory foam mattresses, flat screen TVs, wonderful, full sheets that don't come off the bed when you turn around and many other little comforts that make you feel like you are staying with family (with complete privacy), rather than a cookie cutter corporate box. Reading one review stating that the owner was rude is very surprising to me. I have never experienced the Armstrongs to be ANYTHING other than gracious. I'm wondering if there was some miscommunication and in anger the reviewer blew it a bit out of proportion? I don't know, but read all of the other reviews and don't let one person allow you to miss a great experience in a beautiful setting in the Adirondacks!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyShuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had to cancel a week prior to my stay. Owner was very rude. And complained that he was going to have trouble filling the room to another guest. Told me to never bother coming out to stay there. And then hung up on me. How disrespectful.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
15 Thank Thatonearmyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Merry Christmas sir! Say a little prayer for those Soldiers that can't be home with their loved ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
10.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
40 reviews
10.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Country Inn & Suites
Alpine Country Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Wilmington
71 reviews
10.8 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Brook Lodge

Property: Mountain Brook Lodge
Address: 5712 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 miles from beautiful Whiteface Mountain, where the 1980 Winter Olympics were held, in the heart of the Adirondacks! 12 miles from Lake Placid!! Free late check out for skiers. Go home comfortable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mountain Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Brook Hotel Wilmington
Hotel Mountain Brook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing