We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean motel, outstanding hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain Brook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice clean motel, outstanding hosts”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you want to go someplace and feel like you're staying with friends rather than a motel, go here. To start off, the owners of this motel treat you like you're a member of the family - they're friendly, nice, helpful, and chatty. In the summer, when the weather is right, they build a little campfire in the front and chat with the guests. The motel itself is very clean and inviting. The rooms are simple but comfortable and come with a microwave and minifridge, and they put some coffee, hot cocoa, microwave popcorn in there too. There's a small pool, too, which we didn't use but was well maintained and fun. Every morning they have a nice continental style breakfast - cereal, toast, bagels, coffee, english muffins, hardboiled eggs, etc. In the lobby they also have a little gift shop with interesting souveniers (we bought one).

This is not a big or fancy place, but it is very comfotable, clean, quiet, and friendly. It is located in Wilmington at the base of Whiteface Mountain. It is also convenient to Lake Placid (maybe 15 minutes). The road is a simple highway (but the place is very quiet) with other motels and a few restaurants. The post office is next door. We used this motel as a jumping off point to other attractions in the area, like Ausable Chasm (30 -45 minutes away), Lake Placid (15 minutes), Whiteface Mountain road to summit (practically at the front door). We didn't go but Santa's Workshop is pretty close too. It was perfectly located for what we wanted to do. We even went a bit further, to Blue Mountain Lake, which was only about 1.5 to 2 hours away.

They don't have dinner but when we arrived the owner gave us a 10% discount coupon to a nearby restaurant (at a different Inn) called the Wilderness Inn, which we really liked.

We would definitely recommend this place and would go back again.

Room Tip: The room by the pool (#17) is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trisarahtopss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    39
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
93
112
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recently ventured to New England for an 8 day vacation. On our 2nd last day we were driving by this adorable mountain-type lodge, and my wife spotted a gift store inside. We had no intentions of stopping overnight here as we were almost in Lake Placid, but the gift shop drew us in. Al (and BamBam, their bulldog) met us at the door. We explained our destination. He almost begged us to go up Whiteface Mountain claiming "we would not be dissapointed". He was right. It was the high light of our trip thus far. When we came back down the mountain, we had to go back & thank him. We wished we had booked a room earlier, and were afraid all the rooms would be gone. He said he was full, but knew we would be back so he saved us a room. How is that for someone you never met. Rooms were aboslutely amazing. Memory foam mattress, 2 person futons, electric fireplace, fridge, microwave, even a fish tank in the room. Coloured towels, a great front porch & a firepit after dark. Fantastic reccomendation for dinner (with a discount), and cold beverages when we checked in. Felt like we knew Al & Alicia for years. Terrific breakfast, great gift store, unbelievable hospitality. Can't wait to return. Many thanks, Don & Rosemarie.

Room Tip: Let Al or Alicia show you one, you won't be dissapointed with any of their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadalbin, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My finance and I spent a few days at the Mountain Brook Lodge recently and had an incredible experience.....The bed was most comfortable and one the best night's sleeps we've ever had in a motel. The breakfast buffet was generous and plentiful with both multiple choices and quality foods. The room was clean and pleasant to return to after long fun days out and about Wilmington and Lake Placid area. We enjoyed both the pool and the evening campfires, as we joined in with the other friendly folks who were staying there. If you need a room in Wilmington, be sure to choose Al and Alicia's Mountain Brook Lodge....They give much more than your money's worth....We've already decided to return there on our next trip north.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I spent three days with Al and Alicia last month. We came upon Mountain Brook while searching online for lodging in the Lake Placid area. Boy, did we really luck out! Al and Alicia are the kindest, most hospitable people. Accomodations are immaculate, comfortable and very reasonably priced. Wonderful free breakfast and the pleasure of meeting BamBam, the bulldog, and Little Buddy, the cat, too. Who could ask for more? You will love meeting these wonderful folks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our family has had the most wonderful experience here with Al and Alicia. We were treated like family, and our children never want to leave! Thank you for such a lovely experience. We are definitely coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albear1947, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review!!! You wrote the 100th!!!! Congratulations and we will give you a free night's stay!!! Al & Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The world
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a GEM of a place. Lovely, cosy, super clean room. Fab bed and everything you need for an extended stay. Al & Alicia greet every guest. (When do you have that any more?) Easy access to Whiteface & Lake Placid. Writing this review will make it even more difficult to make a reservation but Al & Alicia are exceptional people and my experience was wonderful. This was my first time but I know this will not be my last.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulimith82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Mountain Brook Lodge again this past weekend for the 2012 Lake Placid Ironman - another great weekend For those doing the race Wilmington is a great place - quiet, but not too far to get into LP; and for those not going for the race it is still a great place to stay! Al & Alicia are great hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
10.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
40 reviews
10.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Country Inn & Suites
Alpine Country Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Wilmington
71 reviews
10.8 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Brook Lodge

Property: Mountain Brook Lodge
Address: 5712 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 miles from beautiful Whiteface Mountain, where the 1980 Winter Olympics were held, in the heart of the Adirondacks! 12 miles from Lake Placid!! Free late check out for skiers. Go home comfortable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountain Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Brook Hotel Wilmington
Hotel Mountain Brook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing