We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WINTER WONDERLAND”
other travelers have booked this property
a cozy Adirondack Log Home in winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
a cozy Adirondack Log Home in winter
Treetop panorama over house and Whiteface Mt range 180 degree aerial panorama Living Room with gas fireplace unit and rustic rocker and tables
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
a cozy Adirondack Log Home in winter
Treetop panorama over house and Whiteface Mt range 180 degree aerial panorama
Living Room with gas fireplace unit and rustic rocker and tables
Living room with guest book on homemade cherry coffee-table by owner
kitchen island made from hemlock from the property
Master bedroom with yellow birch bed, and views out the door to balcony
upstairs bedroom balcony view of Whiteface Mt, right outside the bedroom
Master bedroom with yellow birch queen bed and hickory rocker
entrance with soffit lighting highlighting the logs
cedar log balcony from local timbers
Dining room table seats 6+ people comfortably
living room from stairs, seating 6, with rustic lighting and hickory rocker
downstairs queen bed with locally made handcrafted frame
entrance from Haselton Rd
cedar railing deck in winter
Kitchen island with hemlock counter and locally sourced cedar post
handcrafted rustic Adirondack cedar lighting over kitchen island
new log home completed in 2013
living room with cherry homemade coffeetable
1st floor bathroom glass sink, with washer/dryer and shower out of photo
comfortable brand new sofas and rustic hickory rocker
master bedroom yellow birch bedframe with owner's Adirondack photography on the walls
stairs including rustic fixtures and cedar railings
entrance hallway with log support beams
the cedar deck. Whiteface can be seen beyond the large white pine in the photo
winter in the Adirondacks
cedar railing 12x24' deck overlooking Ausable River
exterior in winter
the house overlooks Whiteface Mt and the Wilmington Range
Kraus vessel sink, hemlock counter from wood from the same property
Whitefact Mt ski area viewed from the property
180 degree aerial panoramic showing house, Ausable River and Whiteface Mt
Whiteface Mt Olympic ski area from master bedroom balcony
Stephenson Mountain Range and stairs leading down to Ausable River bank from house
Stairs leading from the house down to the Ausable River frontage
Stairs leading direct from the house to the river's edge - great for fly fishing!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wilmington, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
viePrivee
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WINTER WONDERLAND”
Reviewed December 26, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The pictures are pretty true! The cabin was lovely and immaculate! SO PEACEFUL...

We enjoyed relaxing in the cabin, going skiing in the nearby mountain (only 8mn drive) and coming home to cook our own meals. (including a marshmallow roast outside in the fire pit!!)

There is a dishwasher, so that was easy and washer dryer, but we didn't stay long enough to use it.

The views is what I am missing the most now that I'm back to NYC :(

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2017
Thanks for staying at my home over this past Christmas holiday season! And thanks for the review! Welcome back anytime, Happy New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CongoDanc...
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful Paradise”
Reviewed November 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Slice of heaven on the Ausable River. The house is well appointed with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Amazing views and stair access to the river but not for the non-fit. The upstairs bedroom has beyond amazing picturesque views and you can hear the river. Peaceful and private but still close to everything. Would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2016
Thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay! Hope you got some nice photos of the Adirondack fall foliage leaves! And I'm glad my house provided an ideal base for your Adirondack getaway!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2016
thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay! And I'm glad my house provided an ideal base for your Adirondack getaway!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lawrence...
1 review
“So hard to leave such a beautiful place”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cabin was perfect!! Stunning views and the interior was so beautifully decorated and very characteristic of the adirondacks. Wilmington had enough amenities to satisfy and you were only 15 min from Lake Placid.
Lots of biking and hiking trails within about 5-10 min.
There was an outdoor deck where we ate almost every meal. The BBQ was a great treat. We even found a crock pot to use which was awesome!
Upstairs bedroom had a gloriously comfortable mattress and the views as you were lying in bed were wonderful. A screen door would be fantastic as a few of the nights were quite warm and it would have been great to be able to keep the doors open. There were fans though to keep things a bit cooler.
We cannot wait to return!! Thank you Johnathan for opening up your beautiful home!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: spectacular views
Liked least: no screen door on upstairs deck so couldn't get fresh air through the hot muggy night. Plenty of fans though which helped
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Thanks for the review, and glad you liked the area, and the house itself! Sorry about the extra person air mattress deflating, please let me know sooner during your stay and we could have found a solution! You're welcome again in the future, and Happy Travels!
Johnathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmarEldai...
Syracuse, New York
1 review
“This log home is a perfect 10”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This house is a piece of art, everything in it was perfectly done. the view is spectacular and the sound of the river is very calming.
Thank you John for having everything ready for us.

Omar

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay, and the views from the house! Happy travels, and hope to see you in the Adirondacks again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My husband and I and two children (13 and 10) spent 5 days here. Great location (close to Whiteface Mountain for skiing) and Lake Placid. We very much enjoyed the mountain views and river. The house was comfortable (heated floors) and we didn't lack for any amenity. The art (which can be purchased) was also a very nice touch.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
I am so happy you enjoyed your family time in my log home! Thank you for taking care of it as if it were your own. I would look forward to a return visit at a future date, and I could offer you a small discount as a returning guest if you mention that to me in your inquiry.

Sincerely,
Johnathan Esper
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeetree
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We so enjoyed our stay at this cabin! It is so beautiful and the location is perfect! The views
were amazing from the decks and cabin layout was perfect for our family of four! We didn't want to leave! We had very cold weather but it was nice and toasty warm! Also decorated and built very nicely! We skied Whiteface mountain which was great and explored Lake Placid...
The town is super quaint! We played lots of board games and cards and just relaxed with our down time! A great getaway and look forward to visit again! Thank you to owner Johnathan!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin and location!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
Thank you so much for appreciating and taking great care of my home during your stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time in the Wilmington / Lake Placid region which has a myriad of activities in which to partake. I would be nice if you returned at a future date, and I can offer you a small discount as a returning guest. Just mention to me that you stayed here before.

Sincerely,
Johnathan Esper
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing