We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This log home is a perfect 10”
other travelers have booked this property
a cozy Adirondack Log Home in winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
a cozy Adirondack Log Home in winter
Treetop panorama over house and Whiteface Mt range 180 degree aerial panorama Living Room with gas fireplace unit and rustic rocker and tables
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
a cozy Adirondack Log Home in winter
Treetop panorama over house and Whiteface Mt range 180 degree aerial panorama
Living Room with gas fireplace unit and rustic rocker and tables
Living room with guest book on homemade cherry coffee-table by owner
kitchen island made from hemlock from the property
Master bedroom with yellow birch bed, and views out the door to balcony
upstairs bedroom balcony view of Whiteface Mt, right outside the bedroom
Master bedroom with yellow birch queen bed and hickory rocker
entrance with soffit lighting highlighting the logs
cedar log balcony from local timbers
Dining room table seats 6+ people comfortably
living room from stairs, seating 6, with rustic lighting and hickory rocker
downstairs queen bed with locally made handcrafted frame
entrance from Haselton Rd
cedar railing deck in winter
Kitchen island with hemlock counter and locally sourced cedar post
handcrafted rustic Adirondack cedar lighting over kitchen island
new log home completed in 2013
living room with cherry homemade coffeetable
1st floor bathroom glass sink, with washer/dryer and shower out of photo
comfortable brand new sofas and rustic hickory rocker
master bedroom yellow birch bedframe with owner's Adirondack photography on the walls
stairs including rustic fixtures and cedar railings
entrance hallway with log support beams
the cedar deck. Whiteface can be seen beyond the large white pine in the photo
winter in the Adirondacks
cedar railing 12x24' deck overlooking Ausable River
exterior in winter
the house overlooks Whiteface Mt and the Wilmington Range
Kraus vessel sink, hemlock counter from wood from the same property
Whitefact Mt ski area viewed from the property
180 degree aerial panoramic showing house, Ausable River and Whiteface Mt
Whiteface Mt Olympic ski area from master bedroom balcony
Stephenson Mountain Range and stairs leading down to Ausable River bank from house
Stairs leading from the house down to the Ausable River frontage
Stairs leading direct from the house to the river's edge - great for fly fishing!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wilmington, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OmarEldai...
Syracuse, New York
1 review
“This log home is a perfect 10”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This house is a piece of art, everything in it was perfectly done. the view is spectacular and the sound of the river is very calming.
Thank you John for having everything ready for us.

Omar

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay, and the views from the house! Happy travels, and hope to see you in the Adirondacks again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My husband and I and two children (13 and 10) spent 5 days here. Great location (close to Whiteface Mountain for skiing) and Lake Placid. We very much enjoyed the mountain views and river. The house was comfortable (heated floors) and we didn't lack for any amenity. The art (which can be purchased) was also a very nice touch.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
I am so happy you enjoyed your family time in my log home! Thank you for taking care of it as if it were your own. I would look forward to a return visit at a future date, and I could offer you a small discount as a returning guest if you mention that to me in your inquiry.

Sincerely,
Johnathan Esper
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeetree
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We so enjoyed our stay at this cabin! It is so beautiful and the location is perfect! The views
were amazing from the decks and cabin layout was perfect for our family of four! We didn't want to leave! We had very cold weather but it was nice and toasty warm! Also decorated and built very nicely! We skied Whiteface mountain which was great and explored Lake Placid...
The town is super quaint! We played lots of board games and cards and just relaxed with our down time! A great getaway and look forward to visit again! Thank you to owner Johnathan!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin and location!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
Thank you so much for appreciating and taking great care of my home during your stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time in the Wilmington / Lake Placid region which has a myriad of activities in which to partake. I would be nice if you returned at a future date, and I can offer you a small discount as a returning guest. Just mention to me that you stayed here before.

Sincerely,
Johnathan Esper
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y2429RQda...
2 reviews
“Best stay ever! Great location, cozy, personal and clean!”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We're a family of 6 (with children; 6,8,10,12 years old) who spent our annual Thanksgiving hike-weekend in Adirondack for the first time. We have done a lot of hiking/skiing, both in Sweden and in the US, but this was the best accommodation ever. Instant and helpful info from owner, and a lodge that fulfilled all expectations by far. The log house has everything you can ask for, both when it comes to equipment, location and atmosphere. We loved the area and will definitely try to come back, hopefully to Jonathan's log home:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean, cozy and personal
Liked least: That the log home isn't available for Feb vacation;)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
Thank you for such an enthusiastic response about your stay! I am honored you enjoyed my cabin for your Thanksgiving - hike weekend. I would love for you and your family to return in the future! Remind me that you were a past guest, and I can offer you a small discount for a future booking.
Sincerely,
Johnathan Esper
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MImperato
1 review
“Quiet getaway”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A peaceful Adirondack getaway. All you need in one beautiful location from outdoor activities to great food.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice house in a convenient location with beautiful views”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

House is located in a great location close to lake placid and whiteface mountain.it has great river and mountain views

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: No tv downstairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara1933
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful log house !!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed 3 nights with our 4 children ages 2-14. The log house is brand new, clean and has anything you'd need. Even the small things like oil, butter or matches for the outdoor fire. It is located nicely away from the road but yet very easy to find when you drive there. The view from the back porch is breathtaking. We even took the canoe to lake Placid. The owner is extremely nice and friendly. He has board games, DVDs, life jackets for the boat….. even bug repellant spray….
This place is really unbelievable. Can't wait to come back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is brand new and clean !
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2014
Thank you for leaving your helpful review for your stay at my log home, and I'm thrilled to hear your family holiday in the Adirondacks went well! I'm glad you appreciated the little things like kitchen items available, and also pleased that you got to use the canoe over in Lake Placid! I hope you decide to stay here again for your next family trip to the Adirondacks, and if you do, I'm happy to offer you a returning guest discount! Happy vacationing!
Johnathan Esper, owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing