We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Meal or Drink.”

R.F McDougall's Pub
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Meal or Drink.”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Been stopping here since the late 1990's, Always a great place to eat when in Wilmington. Nine of us ate there and everyone was happy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tmac_and_pmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We dined here twice on our visit and it was delicious both times. The staff was friendly and quick service. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sldag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“very good to excellent pub fare depending on what you order”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

standard pub menu and the option of ordering from the restaurant upstairs.
the smoked trout is a must......i've tried it a most of the other area restaurants
and this place makes the best!!
inaddtion the burgers and home made potatoe chips are the best around too.
there are always nightly specials and my group has never found a dud, and portions are filling.
if you are staying at a local hotel be sure to mention that to the waitress and you
will get a 10% discount.
service runs from excellent to acceptable depending on the crowd and amount of staff on duty.
the gentleman behind the bar runs the place , so if you ever need something , don't be afraid
to ask.
a recent addition, is the outside dining patio, which fills up first. excellent view of the mountains,
forest and river., so get there early.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norita06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome service, food, and atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

All 4 of us ate here one night and loved it!! The waitress was friendly and on top of her game...the view of the waterfalls and creek as we sat on the patio was great... but the food was wonderful...the gourmet burgers are second to none! (We have come here numerous times just for their gourmet burgers)...our go-to place!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wundertchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So disappointed :0(”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My family and I have passed by this restaurant for many years wanting to try it. Finally this year for our Wilmington/Lake Placid vacation we finally did. We came away very disappointed. To be fair, they were very busy as it was a rainy evening. We didn't mind waiting for a table and they were quicker to seat us than we expected, so that was great. The gentleman bar tender was also friendly and quick. Unfortunately, that's where our good experience ended. Our waitress could not have been less friendly, bordering on nasty. First, as we were trying to sit down, she switched our tables on us to a less desirable location, fine we can roll with the punches on that, as I said they were busy. From there we had to flag her down every time anyone needed a refill on a drink or extra napkins or silverware or whatever. She never came over on her own accord to make sure we had everything we needed. We felt as if we were an inconvenience to her all night Also, they have a 1 refill limit on the kids drinks and she proceeded to clear away my daughter's drink while it was half full. She was saving it, because she knew there was a limit. When we mentioned it to her (and the only reason we did, was because there was a limit and the poor kid was saving it) she testily, begrudgingly said she would get her another half....seriously....it was a fountain drink. She was very quick to clear our plates away...even before we were done. She obviously was in a very big hurry to get us out of there. The food was meh at best. I had the vodka pasta it was ok and the chicken fingers were way overdone for the kids meal. My husband was happy with his burger. At this point we probably would have left with a neutral opinion, but the final straw was when she overcharged us for 2 drinks on our bill and when we pointed it out to her she obviously didn't believe us then instead of a simple apology we got a "Well, it was a simple mistake." in a very nasty, snarky tone of voice. It was such a shame because we were really looking forward to trying it out this year and we came away wishing we went someplace else. Our waitress was Joey (at least that's what it says on our receipt). Hopefully, her day got better after we left, but I kinda doubt it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R.F McDougall's Pub also viewed

 

Been to R.F McDougall's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing