We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple motel - try something else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hungry Trout Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2011

not a resort,just a simple on the road motel.overpriced.try something in lake placid,a much better location.no breakfast at the property

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

My family and I just stayed at the Hungry Trout- very last minute. It was so clean, nicely decorated, newly redone, it was just a super surprise for us. We were just looking for something clean and quiet, and were very happy with the Hungry Trout. Refrigerators in the rooms, clean showers, heat and fans in the bathrooms. just really nice value for the money. Added bonus: pool and playground for the kiddies!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinMomof2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will be back. It is just a stone's throw from the picturesque "flume" on the west branch of the Ausable River, and the property adjoins a hiking trail with views of the river cascading over large boulders, which is lit at night. The room was absolutely immaculate, being well-appointed, big, and comfy (and we just loved the great Simmons mattress). The bathroom had all new fixtures and was very attractively fitted out. It was great to have a lovely view of Little Whiteface from our bed! You can't beat Wlimington in mid to late August and during leaf peeping season. Now it's time to write a review on the restaurant (which was also a wonderful dining experience, given both the quality of the meal and the seating overlooking the river!)

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have the potential for a great mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I just returned from a stay at the Hungry Trout and was very impreSsed overall. An unbeatable price, clean rooms, and a comfortable bed were all I needed as the days were spent on the water or in Lake Placid. I highly recommend the Hungry Trout to anybody looking for a simple place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krubytuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We found exactly what we were looking for stating in the Hungry Trout. A clean and confortable room in a beautiful location with the added bonus of a great pub and excellent restaurant. The location could not be more perfect with great fishing, hiking and swimming surrounding us. We hired a fishing guide (Evan) who patiently tought us the fundelmentyals fly fishing and who made the overall experience an adventure. Mike, another guide, who we met at the Fly ShopZXMy wife and I will return.

Room Tip: Deluxe King Room was large and recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rcarbon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Just came home from 4 nights at the Hungry Trout. 3rd spring in a row and already looking forward to next year. If you want a great place to fly fish, try this clean spacious motel RIGHT on the legendary west branch of the ausable river.
Jerry will check you in before you can say "Fish On!".
Right near Whiteface mountain and Lake Placid. Keane is a cool town as well.

Go in the fall for unbelievable foliage.

Come to the Hungry Trout to see the Adirondacks, you'll keep coming here again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerseychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay for a Lake Placid/Whiteface trip. It is conveniently located to all of the major attractions, the facilities are great, and the owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and well designed with high quality items. Overall it is the perfect place for the area. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
#4 of 9 in Wilmington
42 reviews
2 mi away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
51 reviews
9.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hungry Trout Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hungry Trout Resort

Address: 5239 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2000
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: $97 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hungry Trout Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Hungry Trout Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hungry Trout Hotel Wilmington
Hungry Trout Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing