We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA
Nearby Hotels
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hungry Trout Resort(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Brook Lodge(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
$89
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledge Rock at Whiteface Mountain(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
$129
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand View Motel(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ADK Trail Inn(Upper Jay)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
90
37
9
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
37
9
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnack barwhiteface mountainroom cabingolf cartnice storelarge sitethe au sable riverburner gas stovebath housetent areakids activitiespull through siteshiking trailslake placidnatural beautygreat campgroundcamping experience
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 145 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Super clean, well maintained campground. Very friendly staff. There is a lot to do right in the campground itself such as renting a recumbent bike, canoe or kayak for the AuSable river right behind the campground. Giant chess board, arcade, pool, movie nights upstairs in main lodge S well as breakfast on the weekends for a small fee. Laundry may and mini putt as well. Nearby is unlimited hiking in the beautiful Adirondack Mountains, Whiteface, Lake Placid Olympic Village, Saranac Lake, Tupper Lake Wild Center and so much more . Famous Hungry Trout top of the line dining at not so expensive prices with a majestic view.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4GivenMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Spent 3 night there last week-end and this is a truly amazing camping. The nicest in the area. We were there with a single tent and the sites for tents are huge and private. Bathrooms & free showers were plenty and kept very clean. Even though there is a huge section of RVs, the tent area is remote at the back of the campround. There is a pool on site and you can walk to the river where you can swim but don't expect a beach and if you do swim in the river, bring water shoes, it's pretty rocky.
Again very nice place to explore what the area has to offer (biking, hiking, fishing etc.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylvieCrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were at the KOA Whiteface Mountain camping for the long week-end of May 18-21, 2012. Nice camping site and the staff was very helpful and very friendly. Nice reception area with a convenience store. The pool was empty on this week-end but this was not a big of a deal for us. Large easy pull thru camping lot, sandy grounds, not much grass, but was ok. The only two things I can say negative is 1. the free Wi-Fi did not work half the time. Possibly too many users and 2. Kids and adults alike were passing thru our lot. I found this a bit disturbing as kids were running thru and once they stepped on our hose and cable wires. Showers and washroom facilities were very clean and well maintained. A must see on this camping ground is the hiking trail near the water fall. Very nice but be sure to wear good walking shoes. We will probably be back next year for a different week-end.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank malyhupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have RV'd from Alaska to Florida over the last 7 years. This KOA ranks among the best.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful The facilities were very clean and the grounds provided many areas to hike and explore. Many areas on the riverbanks were breathtaking.
I would suggest those with pets bring your up-to-date rabies information. It is mandatory at registration. We have found that many campgrounds do not require this.
There was an ice cream social on Saturday at a reasonable price and a Mother's Day pancake breakfast on Sunday morning.
We are three hours away and intend to return as often as we can.

Room Tip: Some sites have cable tv and others do not. Be sure to get the amenities you want at registration.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom12newengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have stayed there many times and have always been impressed with the staff friendliness, and the owners are fantastic people! There is so much to do right in the campground for families that you could be content to just stay right in the campground for a day or two. There are recumbent bikes to rent, an outdoor arcade, game room, arts and crafts, canoes to rent, movie nights, pancake breakfasts, a pool. Very clean bathhouses and kitchens as well as restrooms every time we've been there. The security is worth it all as they patrol the park many times during the day as well as night giving you a feeling of safety. There are an infinite number of things to do outside the campground as you are in the famous Lake Placid area teaming with fishing, biking, camping, hiking, horse shows, the olympic center, the mountain views, shopping....on and on and on....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4GivenMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews