We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
1 review
“WOW”
Reviewed December 24, 2008

Simply the best WE of the year !

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank Metridium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    26
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
77
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2008

A great B&B for the whole family, including the dog. It's not often the whole family is made to feel welcome, but here at the Willkomen Hof we all felt at home. The rooms were immaclulate and well decorated. The breakfast was fabulous! Cable TV, games, books, and wireless made this B&B stand out from the rest.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC_travel_trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed at the Wilkommen Hof the last week in August and found it charming and unusually comfortable and homey. The breakfasts were excellent and the location was perfect for us. Bert and Heike are consummate hosts, friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Their style is laid-back but attentive.

The rooms vary in size - ours was roomy and spotless, and the king-size bed was extremely comfortable. If you need to be connected the inn has wi-fi, and our connection was fast and dependable.

We came to hike and fish - Wilmington is the perfect location for any outdoor activity. The Wilkommen Hof is right on the banks of the Ausable River and Bert was very generous with his knowledge of local fishing conditions. If you're not a fisherman the area is great for hiking, biking, kayaking, and almost anything you can do outdoors. It is a short drive to Lake Placid and Bert and Heike can recommend restaurants and activities in the area.

If you stay there you must take a dip in the hot tub at night under the canopy of the Milky Way. As city dwellers we had forgotten how many stars there are in the night sky and sitting in the bubbling hot water in the cool night air after a day of hiking was real luxury.

We hope to return soon and often.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen_EastVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2008

My wife and I were looking for an overnight stay and found Willkommen Hof. The place is homely and the owners friendly and hospitable. There is a good choice of breakfast and the place is situated in a beautiful landscape.
We just can recommend it.
E. & .N.H. Jørgensen

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank teruDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2008

This is a great place. There is a lot of variance in the rooms, ours was number 9 (see pics on their website) and it was fantastic. The entire place is really clean, neat and very comfortable.

Our stay included breakfast which was pretty tasty. When we came in from a day of skiing there was hot, homemade apple cider which was a nice touch. They have a great outdoor hot tub and a sauna which make for nice relaxation after skiing.

All in all, if you're skiing Whiteface and want to stay right by the mountain as opposed to driving up from Lake Placid each day, then this is place!

  • Liked — Freindly Owners and a very comfortable stay
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank xbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Lakes, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

My husband and I loved this place! Our stay was the result of an impromptu weekend getaway and having never visited the area before, we weren’t quite sure what to expect. We came across the Willkommen Hof in our online search for a pet friendly hotel since we wanted to travel with our dog. After visiting their website, we decided to take the plunge. We were looking for a location where we could spend our days doing a mix of outdoor activities, but also wanted to be close enough to some restaurants, shops, etc. We were not disappointed!

The rooms are spotless and very comfortable, the owners (Heike and Bert) are very friendly and helpful, and there is so much to see and do in the area. The B&B is located right in the heart of breathtaking scenery that offers unlimited opportunities for hiking, biking, fishing, and more. Lake Placid is only a short drive away and offers some great restaurants and shopping. Bert and Heike provided us with some wonderful recommendations to help make the most of our time. All is all, the Willkommen Hof was a great home base. After a full day, we looked forward to returning to its comforts – naping in the hammock, soaking in the hot tub with a glass of wine, or rocking on the front porch. Waking up in the morning to a delicious breakfast provided the energy to do it all over again. It was very obvious right from the start that Heike and Bert go above and beyond to provide a great experience and their attention to detail was evident throughout our stay.

With only 3 days/2 nights to spend in the area, we couldn’t possibly fit everything in and will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank swimbikerun35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2006

On a whim, we chose the Willkommen Hof for an upcoming bobsledding & skiing trip. The main reason we chose it was that it was close (2 minutes or so) to Whiteface, and the website seemed okay.

Now that we are here (I’m relaxing in the den), I have to say, that it’s been really great, and a very, very pleasant surprise. Firstly, the B&B itself is very homey, warm, and fun. It has a traditional European flare, without being overdone. There is a great library, den, TV room, fireplaces, games, and even a small movie collection. We were happy to find a spa, great sauna, and even Internet access.

The room we chose was one of the larger rooms with an included bathroom. It had a fireplace which was incredibly warm when on, and a comfortable king size bed. There was even a VCR in the room. The room was well kept and nice.

Breakfasts were great, in the fun Bavarian dining room, with made to order eggs, crepes, pancakes, and waffles. Try the soft-boiled eggs for a fun presentation surprise! There was also cereal, fruit, home baked bread and jam.

The highlight of our trip was Heike and Bert, the host/owners. They were warm, friendly, and very knowledgeable without being overbearing. Bert and Heike made the stay really great, by providing things like clean flip-flops for the spa (it's awesome in the snow!), warm towels for when you get out, aromatherapy oils on the sauna stones, and even bathing suits when we forgot ours!

I highly recommend Willkommen Hof for an experience that will make you feel like part of the family. If we ever come back to Lake Placid, we'll stay here. If you want great, homey, warm, fun place to stay, try the Willkommen Hof!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odin4566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
9.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,289 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.4 mi away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
293 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast

Property: Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5367 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2003
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mile from Whiteface Mt. Ski Area, our European style B&B features 3 comfortable deluxe rooms with king or queen feather beds, bath robes, hair dryers, refrigerators, coffee makers, whirlpool bath, or fireplace. We also have a three-room suite with bath, a 1 bedroom apartment with full kitchen, bath with jacuzzi, and 2 rooms that share a bath. Amenities includes sauna, outdoor hot tub, satellite TV, free WIFI, fireplace in our library. A full home cooked breakfast is included. Ski packages. Pets welcome. Great for small groups 14-20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing