We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lying in the hot tub staring at the stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

found this place last minute looking for somewhere around lake placid. Got the smallest room I think but very cosy, clean and comfortable at the price. 2 minutes from Whiteface mountain skiing and 10 minutes from lake placid so ideal for exploring the area as well ask skiing. The couple who ran it were a little withdrawn and blunt- maybe it had been a long week- which was disappointing as the house is full of character and they are clearly an interesting pair.
The sauna and hot tub are perfect for post ski recovery and lying in the hot tub looking up at the stars with snow all around it was hard to fault the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 165 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

We wanted to go to Whiteface during our winter break, but didn't want to break the bank between lodging and lift tickets. Willkommen had just what we were looking for, along with a warm and welcoming atmosphere that made it feel like home. We went with the "Deluxe Room 8" with the whirlpool tub, which was a wonderful treat after a day on the slopes. The bed was really comfy, the fridge in the room worked fine (and clean), and not once did we run out of hot water for the shower.

Breakfast is served between 7:30-9AM, cooked to order within 5-10 minutes. I'll admit I'm a bit of a clean freak, but by no means did I find anything dirty or dusty during our stay, (not even their dog). On the weekend in the evenings, we found a crock-pot with Chili, and the next day with New England Clam Chowder, complements of the house with bowls and spoons to serve yourself in the dining room.

Even though we chose a time where most of the rooms were filled, we hardly noticed them when we went to bed. At the same time, we saw a few guests while we were downstairs in the common area, and had pleasant conversations while sitting by the fire.

All in all, a truly warm and wonderful place to stay. Would HIGHLY recommend it to any of my friends and family, and would love to come back next time we have the chance.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to go for one of the "Deluxe" rooms. It's a real treat to soak in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was in the Wilmington area to hike Whiteface mountain in early October 2012. I could not of dropped in on better hosts than Bert and Heike. The room was comfortable and clean, the breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and what I really liked was the hot sauna after my day of hiking. I would definitly recommend this B&B for it's location and the hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in this beautiful bed and breakfast during July 2012 when my husband did the Ironman triathlon. The inn is 10 minutes from downtown Lake Placid, and Bert recommended that we see beautiful Whiteface mountain and eat at Rosalia's restaurant, both of which really added to our visit to the area. Heike and Bert were excellent hosts-and the breakfasts were delicious, especially the homemade muffins! We didn't get as much time on the hammock or the beautiful front porch as we wanted but we'll save that for our next visit. We'll definately be coming back to visit again!

Room Tip: Suite with TV room and jacuzzi is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed during Ironman 2012. What a fantastic location- right off the bike course and a few miles outside of the crazy downtown. Breakfasts were delicious. Bert and Heike took fantastic care of us. Rooms were clean and the house was a story in itself. On race day, Bert set up a tent, made mimosas and snacks, so we could cheer on the bikers in style. Heike set out a breakfast at 4 am for us! Beautiful scenic drive into downtown Lake Placid takes approx 10 minutes. We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ack14102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed at Willkomen Hof 5 nights in March 2012 .Each day after excellent , filling breakfast
I went skiing at Whiteface Mountain . It only takes 3 minutes to get there from Willkomen Hof .
Heike and Bert were very helpfull , gave me good info about skiing at Whiteface .
After skiing , I would go back to Willkomen Hof , have a tasty homemade soup (chilli) ,
and relax in sauna -great feeling after all day of skiing .I am coming back !!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wlodek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed 3 nights with my 15 yo son and 9 yo daughter during this President's week. For us this B&B was a perfect match! After the wonderful homemade breakfast we would hit the slopes early and stay until the last lift. At that point we would grab a sandwich get back to the B&B and began to relax. The sauna/jacuzzi combo totally soothed our muscles from beating Whiteface's black diamonds all day. Afterwards we played some cards and boardgames by the fireplace. By 9PM we were done. The atmosphere at the Willkomen Hof was so soothing that TV & internet was not pique our interest.
We will return!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvmvmvNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
1.5 mi away
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
#5 of 9 in Wilmington
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
50 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
301 reviews
8.7 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5367 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $87 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mile from Whiteface Mt. Ski Area, our European style B&B features 3 comfortable deluxe rooms with king or queen feather beds, bath robes, hair dryers, refrigerators, coffee makers, whirlpool bath, or fireplace. We also have a three-room suite with bath, a 1 bedroom apartment with full kitchen, bath with jacuzzi, and 2 rooms that share a bath. Amenities includes sauna, outdoor hot tub, satellite TV, free WIFI, fireplace in our library. A full home cooked breakfast is included. Ski packages. Pets welcome. Great for small groups 14-20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing