We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic drive up a beautiful mountain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whiteface Mountain

Whiteface Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whiteface may have made its name in winter, it has the highest vertical drop in the east, after all but it does summer pretty well too. The warmer months make Whiteface a natural setting for outdoor enthusiasts of all levels and ages, whether you're looking for an adrenaline rush or just an afternoon of beautiful views with your family. Take a hike along the Stag Brook Falls trail or Bear Den Mountain, play a round of Disc Golf and check out the area's most exhilarating, challenging Mountain Biking terrain. Or gather the family for an afternoon of taking it all in with a Scenic Cloudsplitter Gondola Ride to the summit of Little Whiteface. Drive the Whiteface Veteran's Memorial Highway to the summit, and lean into the Adirondack breeze as you marvel at the world below you.This well-known mountain offers exciting and scenic runs for skiers of all levels: Beginners do well on Easy Acres, which features its own ski school, novices and intermediates enjoy Little Whiteface, while experts head to the heart-pounding summit.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Scenic drive up a beautiful mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was the first time driving up Whiteface Mountain in almost twenty years, and it was just as fun and memorable as when I was younger. The road from Lake Placid towards Wilmington was almost as much of an attraction in itself, with scenic views of the mountain.
Whiteface Memorial Highway was a fun drive up, with spectacular views and plenty of pullover lots. Once at the top, there is either an elevator or stairs up to the summit. The temperature was only a degree or two cooler at the top, compared to the base of the mountain, and it offered awesome views of Lake Placid and the Adirondacks. There were plenty of interpretive signs to let you know what you were looking at in every direction, and a little about the mountain itself.
The drive down was a little more challenging, but once you put your car into low gear, it is a more relaxing experience. If you are in the Adirondack region and want to truly see the Park, a drive up to the summit of Whiteface is a truly fun and memorable trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    224
    28
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT!!! So good, that we just bought 3 passes for Winter 2014!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Amazing skiing. My family just loved it. I went there to ski when I was younger and now I can enjoy it with my family. We enjoyed it so much that we bought a vacation home in Lake Placid and got ski passes for 2014-2015 already!! We just love Wilmington and Lake Placid. You have to ski at the mountain. The trails are for so many different levels. There are many activities in the summer too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kbeckernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not great in summer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We've been to Whiteface Mountain 2 times before. Both times were during fall. We had a great experience. The view was amazing, and we spent hours taking pictures, and climbing the mountain. This time we decided to come during summer. It was a big mistake. When we arrived to Whiteface Mountain we noticed the sign "blackfly warning". We didn't have repellent with us, and it was too late to go back to the town for it. So, we thought we'll buy it on the top at the gift shop. We couldn't find gift shop, as the "castle" had too many doors, and the sign way above gift shop matched the color of the wall. It was not noticeable. The elevator was out of service, and we had to climb. Half way up the black flies were really bad, with todays light wind. They bite, and bite hard. You get about 50 of them at once. We didn't have time to look around, as we were busy fighting with flies. You think it gets better with elevation but nope... it gets way worse. On the top it's like hell. Thank God some people gave us their repellant. But even with it black flies were horrible. We could stay on the top really short period of time, like 10 min. A lot of people just turned around, and went back without getting to the top.
Bottom line: bring repellant with you, because as we found out, it cost $15 at the gift shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome drive view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Road up was very bumpy in areas but I guess they are fixing it this year. Two ways to the top after you park your car. Opted to take elevator up and walk down. Large area to explore at the top. The walk is between the top and parking area is steep and very rocky. Would not do if out of shape and would not wear sandals or flip flops. Would do if you want a good mountain view of the area and are not doing any hiking up the other mountains

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingJoe51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We checked out Whiteface Mountain when we were on a weekend trip to Lake Placid this spring. We drove our car up to the top, and we were lucky because this was the first weekend it was open (May 17). Amazing views from the top. We hiked up and back from the upper parking lot to the summit, so we didn't take the elevator. The road to the top is a common route for cyclists. Wow!! That must be quite a workout. I was surprised how bumpy the road was. Not a problem for cars, but for cyclists it would be a different story......

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiteface Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Whiteface Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing