We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olympic Mt”
Review of Whiteface Mountain

Whiteface Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whiteface may have made its name in winter, it has the highest vertical drop in the east, after all but it does summer pretty well too. The warmer months make Whiteface a natural setting for outdoor enthusiasts of all levels and ages, whether you're looking for an adrenaline rush or just an afternoon of beautiful views with your family. Take a hike along the Stag Brook Falls trail or Bear Den Mountain, play a round of Disc Golf and check out the area's most exhilarating, challenging Mountain Biking terrain. Or gather the family for an afternoon of taking it all in with a Scenic Cloudsplitter Gondola Ride to the summit of Little Whiteface. Drive the Whiteface Veteran's Memorial Highway to the summit, and lean into the Adirondack breeze as you marvel at the world below you.This well-known mountain offers exciting and scenic runs for skiers of all levels: Beginners do well on Easy Acres, which features its own ski school, novices and intermediates enjoy Little Whiteface, while experts head to the heart-pounding summit.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Caroga Lake NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Olympic Mt”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

One of the top Ski areas in the Country! Ski the Olympic downhill run. Lots of new terrrain. Whiteface is known to be 'ice face' because it is usually very cold, windy. We were there in January 2012 was -20 first day then 20+ No wind the next couple days. lots of snowmaking and plenty of natural. Good food in the lodges even on the mt. if you haven't been to the Olympic Mt you should check it out!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ADKMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    225
    30
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rural NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring gondola ride”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I spent almost an hour riding up the mountain, gazing at the view from the top and riding down. What an experience! Only a bit of sway on the ride and the sights at the top are amazing. 4000+ feet! We stood at the site of the Women's Downhill we experience in 1980. Great memories of an grand day!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Conquesthistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Views!!!!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was one of the coolest parts of our trip! we wanted to do the gondal ride but it was not working and didnt go to the summit. so we desided to drive up the highway. very resonable priced. on the day we went they were not sure how far we could see. it was very cloudy but we got up there just in time! we could see all the way to Canada! you can take the hike up the mountain your self or take the elevator! i whimped out someting my husband will not let me live down for a while! All i can say it was awesome! There is a place where you can get food and a gift shop in the castel, the best part was looking at the photos of how they construted it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Newlyweds9812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A view to behold”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beautiful ride up the mountain with lots of places to pull over, take pictures & marvel at the scenery. There is a short walk from your car to the elevator which takes you to the summit. The views are spectacular as far away as Lake Champlain!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent , Amazing one day attraction”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent , Amazing one day attraction if you are in upstate new york. located near lake placid, lake George area. nice scenic drive up the mountain. there is a fee to drive up with the car not expensive though but worth every penny u spend. you also have an option to hike. restaurant at the top or you can take your own food. car parking available. great view . best season will be during the summer or when the leaves change the color. Definitely a ski area in winters but i guess you can drive up the mountain in winters.
One important tip: when you drive down on your way back use lower gears.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiteface Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Whiteface Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing