We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sunday brunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Mill Inn - CLOSED

The Red Mill Inn
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“sunday brunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

not bad at all not the best and not the worst get there early and the manager will do anything to make you happy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    15
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Happy 40th Anniversary to us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We dined here on our 40th Wedding Anniversary!
It was very good dinner.
We had seen the restaurant often in our travels to the area but never stopped in.
Service was good.
Complimentary dessert for us too!
Will stop in again on our next trip to the States!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I went to The Mother's Day Brunch Buffet today and was very disappointed. Despite our reservation, we were seated 20 minutes late. That was not so bad. However, we were there towards the end of the Brunch Buffet time (big mistake). Love it when they run out of things and don't feel that they need to replenish it because it's the end of the Buffet time, however, we were not through the buffet yet. We were not offered drink refills and had to ask for coffee. We did not have utensils at our table other than forks. We had to wait for plates before going through the line and the plates were dripping wet when they were put out. The servers were more interested in clearing off the tables to prepare for the dinner crowd than making sure all the brunch attendees were taken care of. Also, this place is so old and in need of renovation it is pathetic. I think they are more interested in packing people in like sardines and making the money than making sure they can accommodate how many guests they book.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank amuzica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ended up getting dinner from McDonald's!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Worst service we ever received. When we entered the empty lobby at 6:45 the hostess was writing something at the desk and completely ignored us until my husband said hello. Then without even looking up she told us to wait a minute. When she finally got around to talking to us we gave her our reservation name and she said it would be a minute and walked out. It took ten minutes for her to seat us and the restaurant wasn't even full. We ordered our meals and choose water as our beverage until our meals arrived. It took fifteen minutes just to get the soup. I would tell you how the rest of the meal was if we had actually eaten anything else! By 8:15, after watching other diners served before us and the tables around us finishing their meals and leaving, and after being ignored by our waiter, we decided we had waited long enough. We asked our waiter to speak to the manager and he said we would have to speak to him. We told him we were leaving. Ready for this? HE TOLD US HE WOULD BE RIGHT BACK WITH OUR BILL! After staring at him dumbfounded he realized how insane that was and said he wasn't going to charge us and he hoped we would come back. Other than a bunch of excuses like how our order had gotten behind a large party and then something about how he had to send our food back, he didn't even offer us a voucher for a free appetizer or drink to ensure we would return. Needless to say, we won't be going back. And to top it off, it was our 17th wedding anniversary. But at least there was a McDonald's nearby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lou and Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Greeted by the owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The owner greeted us and sat us at our table. The shrimp po boy sandwich and the shaved prime rib were delicious. What a cozy, "old fashioned" restaurant. I have never had more tender prime rib and mom's shrimp was just as good.
Will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MMTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Mill Inn also viewed

 
Williamsville, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing