We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BYOB Mondays”
Review of Jojo Bistro & Wine Bar - CLOSED

Jojo Bistro & Wine Bar
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: French, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“BYOB Mondays”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A year ago my boyfriend took me here to celebrate my graduation from college. We had a very nice time except they brought him the wrong food. (Fixed the problem immediately).

A year later we went to celebrate his graduation. We chose Monday because it's BYO. We had to wait almost a half hour for our table even with reservations. We were worried about being a little late and had to sit, but this happens. It was busy.

Lots of people in the place with different bottles of wine. We waited a rather long time till anyone came over. Our server was not overly nice. Just efficient. Opened our wine. Asked if we were ready to order right away without telling us the specials.

We started with the Raclette, which was amazing. I love blue cheese. It tasted like fancy nachos and it was awesome.
We also started with the mussles which he had last time we were there. The broth makes them extra tasty.

For dinner I had the swordfish special. I didn't like the sofrito that was on top but the fish was cooked nicely and I enjoyed it.
My boyfriend had the salmon and it was awful. The crust was rock solid and the salmon was over cooked. He doesn't ever complain so I felt bad watching him move pieces around his plate. The server noticed he didn't eat much and didn't want it wrapped but didn't say anything.

If you're in a rush or extra hungy I would skip this place on a Monday. Took a while for everything. But if you're looking for a fun date night/ night out with friends, grab a few bottles and maybe just split some apps, because those were awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    3
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lima
Level Contributor
732 reviews
473 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Sloppy service”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had dinner on a quiet week night at Jojo's so we are not sure why the service and kitchen were so sloppy. We ordered two of their Wood Fired Pizzas. One from the regular menu and one from the dinner specials. Our pizzas were delivered by someone from the kitchen. He unceremoniously dropped both pizza pans on the table top on the edge of the table. The pizza pans were metal mesh so our pizzas were basically sitting on the table top. Every other table around us had holders. Our waitress was nowhere to be found to correct the situation. The pizzas themselves were very poorly prepared. The sauces were slapped on and not spread around to the edge of the dough. The toppings were thrown on the pizza and not evenly distributed. We had inches of dough without any kind of toppings. Both pizzas were very disappointing. We have eaten at Jojo's on many other occasions and it has always been acceptable so we will probably give them another chance but if this was my first experience I would not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sket101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Everything”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

There is nothing to dislike about JoJo's. Monday nights are BYOB night with no fee. Great way to get rid of some dusty bottles in your basement. Our waiter was great. Very friendly and just attentive enough. The spinach & walnut salad is an excellent blend of spinach, walnuts, prosciutto and strawberries with a devine walnut vinagarette. All the pizzas are good too---nice and thin crust with a perfect wood fire flavor. For appetizers - the mussels are a must. 24+ in a delicious broth...definitely a meal by itself. The menu has is by no means huge, thus causing decision stress, and everything offered sounds very tasty. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jujugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst, ny
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Barn Atmosphere for a wine bar”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a disappointing venue for a modern wine bar. In stead of a sleek interior this place features rustic wood beams, shiny oak tables, and chairs reminiscent of a 50's gin mill. The food was ok, the service was attentive, but the atmosphere was pure greasy chicken wings and beer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmherstNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“sometimes you try a place even though the reviews are NOT the best....”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

and find a tasty meal! Short ribs were recommended by our server and ordered by 3 of us-very tasty, a bit fatty as short ribs are-and served with rissoto(creamy rice)-$19.00-delicious! Bottle of reisling $28.00, ($7/glass) individual large gourmet pizzas-$12.00-delicious! Fresh green salad with steak-$17.00 delicious, small salad with walnuts and goat cheese $5-delicious! Service was leisurely as we requested so we had plenty of time to visit with each other. We topped our dinner by sharing a Black and Tan sundae, a blueberry concoction, and a crispy doughball and ice cream dessert---we were all happy and pleasantly stuffed!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jojo Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Williamsville, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing