We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value….but Salvatore's dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salvatore's Garden Place Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Williamsville
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Value….but Salvatore's dissappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have stayed many times for a one night get-away (We live an hour away on Canadian side).
Hotel package is great value. Staff is friendly and they know what they are doing. Well managed property. Rooms have been renovated a bit recently. Still a bit "unique" but clean and well done.
Good breakfast set-up.
But….Salvatore's (their off-site restaurant) is, in my mind, becoming a bit tired. My wife and I love the old "Supper Club" feel to the place but…..Bartender was "slick willy" type from a Sinatra movie. One foot up on the drink rail, "been there/done that" attitude. Service staff in general seemed to be a bit on "auto pilot" and not much real hospitality happening.

Food this time was a B- at best. My Sea Bass was too big and not great. My wife's steak was good, not great. General sense we had was that this place needs a kick in the butt! Younger, keener staff or a bit less of the "resting on our reputation" attitude of the old guard.
I am sure Salvatore's / Garden Place will continue to prosper. I'd just like to see them freshen up a bit.
Still a fun time at a good price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Team J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    246
    94
    46
    35
See reviews for
153
447
31
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is a pleasant and wonderful place to stay for a really change of venue. The staff are friendly and prices are very reasonable. Great location due to it's convenience to airport, shopping and restaurants. We received a Jacuzzi suite and the room was huge. The morning buffet breakfast was terrific and an even bigger treat is the hotel's restaurant "Salvatore's". The hotel offers shuttle service to and from the restaurant every fifteen minutes. This hotel would be a wonderful hotel for longer stays as well. We have visited this hotel four previous times and we have always been extremely happy with our decision.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi Room is extremely large with a separate bathroom and the hotel overall is very quiet. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia234-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIII, General Manager at Salvatore's Garden Place Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a wonderful review like this. On behalf of the hotel I want you to know we all appreciate your kind words and love hearing from our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our sister property Salvatore's Italian Gardens. You truly cannot have the full experience unless you eat dinner at Salvatore's Italian Gardens. We look forward to seeing you in 2013 and have a Happy New Year and Merry Christmas.

Hospitably,
John A. Santora III
General Manager
JSantora@Gardenplacehotel.net
716-635-9000 x4416
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a very nice stay here in a clean, well-appointed room.

I've normally stayed in the big chain places around Williamsville and they've been fairly mediocre. Salvatore's was a pleasant surprise and I'll be back.

One note: show up early for the breakfast buffet. These things -- at many hotels, actually -- turn into a madhouse when everybody trys to eat at the same time. I'd say go before 8am or give it a shot later in the morning. Go when it's crowded and you'll just get aggravated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmadeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Once again our two night stay at the Garden Place Hotel exceeded our expectations. The room, 246, was spotless and could not fault it in any way. The reception staff were more than courteous throughout our stay and rectified a problem with the booking with speed and efficiency.
Our stay included dinner for both nights at Salvatore's Restaurant of which they provide transportation both to and from the hotel so having a drink with your meal is no problem. Both nights the food was exquisite. Friday evening I had Steak Russel which came with mushrooms, vegetables and a Parisian Potato. Excellent. Saturday night I had the pasta dish and again was superb. If you are ever in the area of Williamsville New York a visit to Salvatore's would be an added bonus to your trip.
We booked again for next year which will be our sixth year for our Christmas getaway and again look forward to our pilgrimage to the Salvatore's Hotel and Restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIII, General Manager at Salvatore's Garden Place Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Our Housekeepers do a great job making sure our property is exceeding our guests expectations and the Steak Russell you had at the restaurant is one of the all time signature dishes we currently offer at Salvatore's Italian Gardens. I have printed this out and will be showing all departments here at the Hotel. Our staff will enjoy reading your kind words about your experience with us. Thank you again and feel free to call us anytime for any special requests or reservations needed. Please let me know next time you come stay with us as I would love to meet with you.

Hospitably,
John A. Santora III
General Manager
Garden Place Hotel
Jsantora@Gardenplacehotel.net
716-635-9000 x4416
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I was looking forward to staying here as its not your usual hotel chain but I'm not sure ill return. I loved the atmosphere but the room was very disappointing. It was extremely cold and definitely needed updating. The bedspreads were very old and a little tacky. The best we could get the shower was "warm". Not great in a cold room. Not to mention it was so far down the hall I thought we would never get there. Breakfast was the usual standard liquid eggs and dry pastries. Yes I guess I expected more.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIII, General Manager at Salvatore's Garden Place Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. I'm shocked to see the comments you have left about our wonderful hotel property. All our employees and ownership have worked very hard to keep the "Salvatore's Experience" up to par. We go above and beyond for our guests and always are here to listen to any guests concerns or issues they may have. We can only improve from our guests experiences with us. Our Heaters work in all rooms and and are efficient pump heat systems. If you had a digital shower, they're preset at 98 degrees. If you needed to increase the temperature, you just needed to hold the "Up" arrow and our front desk could have assisted in that if needed. One of the best amenities here is the Complimentary Breakfast Buffet we put out. There are over 30 items we put out along with fresh fruit and do it yourself Belgian Waffles. Our selection was created to exceed all our guests needs. We are known for the products and services we offer and we stand by them. Feel free to call me anytime for any questions or concerns.

Hospitably,
John A. Santora III
General Manager
716-635-9000 x4416
JSantora@Gardenplacehotel.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have been doing Christmas shopping in the area for 30 yrs.; staying in cheap little motels with no dining. Decided to spend a bit more money and take the room/dining package for the 1st night and a reduced 2nd night through a booking agent. It was more than worth the extra money-the hotel is beautifully decorated for Christmas-and also any other time of the year. The room was spacious & clean. All the staff were lovely & helpful. Will review the dining in another section -briefly it was wonderful as were the two included breakfasts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moxiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel was chosen for our Christmas office party, and it was well worth crossing the USA border.

The hotel has a traditional aire, and is well furnished. It is decorated for the season, winterwonderland and Santa's grotto all rolled in to one - fantastic, really lifted the spirits.

The bedroom was very large, king size bed (a little firm) as was the pillows. A jacuzzi, and a lovely glass wash basin along with soap and hand lotion are situated in the room (not in the bathroom). The shower offered the convenience of a button that turned the water on to any temperature you selected, plus shampoo and body soap dispensers.

There is also a fridge which we are always thankful for, no warm wine on this trip. Individual cup coffee machine provided, but we preferred to use the coffee/chocolate/cappuccino making vending station in the hallway - hot chocolate is especially good.

The breakfast area reminds you of a Italian piazza, and is enhanced by a lovely staircase. Many a picture must have been taken here. Other than having to line up for toast (when will any hospitality business provide a toaster that gets the job done quickly) the breakfast area is large and easily accessible. The food is good, especially the little waffles, they taste and look yummy!

Prior to arriving I had to call the hotel twice and was little put off because the staff members I spoke to sounded a little impatient. However, once there they were great, smiling, no sense of impatience at all, and it was obvious they wanted your stay to be memorable. Check in and out was efficient.

The hotel also offers a shuttle service to their restaurant, so no getting into trouble with drinking and driving.

We would definitely stay again at this hotel!!

Room Tip: They offer several room layouts, we visited the Emperor room - wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eluthra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamsville
0.0 mi away
Salvatore's Grand Hotel
Salvatore's Grand Hotel
#1 of 12 in Williamsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Buffalo Williamsville
0.7 mi away
The Delavan Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Buffalo-Williamsville
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Buffalo Airport
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Buffalo Airport
La Quinta Inn Buffalo Airport
#6 of 12 in Williamsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvatore's Garden Place Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvatore's Garden Place Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Salvatore's Garden Place Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 6615 Transit Road, Williamsville, NY 14221 (Formerly Salvatore's Garden Place Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Williamsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Williamsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Salvatore's Garden Place Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salvatore's Garden Place Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvatores Garden Place Williamsville
Hotel Salvatores Garden Place
Garden Place Williamsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing