We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Bad Schonborn, Germany
Level Contributor
142 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a business stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

With only one night stay in the hotel it is difficult to write much about the activity possibilities nearby, but the tennis court, the indoor pool, etc. didn't look bad at all. The rooms got all a complete make over and have fairly large new (Flatscreen) TVs, a modern and large bathroom. The rooms are all more in the garden area building of the hotel and as such very quite. Definitive a hotel where I will stay the next time I'm in this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adpalme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Vordenbaeumen,

Thank you for your review! We look forward to your next visit with us.

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    218
    82
    34
    17
See reviews for
210
135
25
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

A nice stay for several nights was marred by the inability of the hotel to provide internet in the hotel.

Connecting was very slow and the speeds were slower. I even had selected the enhanced higher speed connection. Interestingly the speed was much better in the lounge but that didn't help where I needed it. When I told the hotel on Thursday night I assumed they would fix it on Friday, but alas they did not and it was still woefully inadequate in Sunday. The computers in the lobby also did not work.

Otherwise it was a great stay. Only other complaint is that the hallway noise was not well blocked by the room doors.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsotripsneedsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear lotsotripsneedsleep,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered with our internet. We have alerted the team to check all areas in the Hotel and ensure the internet is working properly. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit us again.

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a wedding party and the hotel is very nice. First, it is very very clean. All of the hallways, outside area, bar, restaurant areas, etc were clean. The rooms were also immaculate. There was an indoor pool, which we didn't get to use, but that also looked very nice.
The hotel doesn't look that large, but the walk from the lobby to our room was quite a trek. It seemed like we were in part of an extension or something. That was one drawback. The room also seemed to be cheaply furnished. The headboard and TV stand were most certainly not real wood. They looked like Formica/pressboard. The maid came on Sunday morning at about 8:30 am, which I thought was ridiculous. Despite all that, the hotel allowed an early check in, the staff was very friendly, and they had an excellent Sunday buffet. The hotel is a bit out of the way, so it would be a nice retreat I guess. It wasn't very close to the wedding venue for us. Definitely very nice staff and service and fairly priced for Westchester County.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank keirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear keirao,

Thank you for your review! I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff proved to be as friendly and helpful as we aim to be. We hope you visit us again!

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is not the easiest hotel to find... I have to say that up front - I almost drove past the entrance to it and I had a navigation system in the rental car, but I did see the sign and got there... and glad I did.

This is a really lovely little place - I was there in the dead of winter, with snow on the ground and the temperature sitting around 20F... so not the best time to visit - but the welcome was warm, the staff were excellent and the room was very comfortable, with a nice bed, good facilities in terms of shower and bathroom etc. and for the week I was there, it was a nice home from home... what more could one ask for on a business trip.

The gym was being refit when I was there so they had a temporary one in place, but to be honest I didn't bother going - I grabbed an extra hour asleep and felt better for it.

It was a great location and I would definitely recommend this to other travellers with a need to stay in this area

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Shaun B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. You will be happy to know our fitness center has been completed as well as our pool. We hope that when your travels bring you back to the area that you will come and visit us again!

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
397 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Staff was excellent and very welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately the fire alram had gone off just as I was heading to my room so couldn't enter hotel. Fire alarm went off again at 10:59 pm and we were instructed to vacate. After 20+ minutes we were allowed to go back to room. Hopefully they've solved this problem because the hotel and staff are so good. Even though the hotel is hard to find, it's well worth it. Their club lounge is even open for frequent guest on the weekend and it serves a great breakfast. Would gladly stay here again. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Bob S,
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear our staff was very welcoming and helpful during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that our fire alarms have caused you. The safety and security of our guests and hotel employees is paramount. These systems are in place to ensure the continued safety and security of all of our hotel guests and its employees. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed over the Independence Day weekend. Normally, weekends are wide open as most of its guests must be during the week. Occasionally, there is a wedding or in this case a small group. In any case, they know how to take care of famiies as well as larger groups.

The lay of the land. Nice, renovated Renaissance property. Modern but not flashy. Most of the rooms are the same size. We occupied two connecting rooms thanks to Leticia for setting it up for us. At the price they were offered, it was a great deal. Breakfast is very nice and if you want to eat on property, look into the rate with breakfast included. If you want a lighter fare, look into a concierge floor room where a simpler breakfast is served.

All the rooms are separate from the main entryway. You can access from there or if driving, it is easier to drive to the rear entrance. This is NOT a modern tower but a few connected five story buildings. The restaurant served a nice lunch and dinner fare. The kids will love ordering room service off the childrens menu.

The renovated indoor pool is now open. Yeah. You can do laps when not crowded as there is no outdoor pool. There is a nice sitting area outside the pool, tennis courts, sand volleyball court and a little hiking trail around property for the kids to explore with an adult.

We love the staff. A mix of younger folks and experienced folks managing things. Gavin is one of the managers out on the floor. I mentioned to him a small issue which he thanked me for pointing out. You have to check out the restaurant. Did I say that already.

White Plains is 15 minutes away. Shopping, movies, book stores abound.

Disclosure. We have been going there with our kids for 4 years. It is our unofficial weekend home away from home. Lovely property standing the test of time

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for a room far away from the elevators. It makes for a longer walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Ray_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Jeff_Ray_NYC,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear you and your family had a great stay with us. We thank you for allowing us to be your 'home away from home' for so many years. We look forward to your next visit!

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Expect to be treated like a VIP here by the friendliest staff. From the front desk to the window cleaners, you are greeted and made to feel welcome. Great lobby and area to sit and meet both inside and out!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator can be quite a walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Jane T,
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and hope you visit us again soon.

Delighed,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Plains
0.3 mi away
HYATT house White Plains
HYATT house White Plains
#4 of 8 in White Plains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#1 of 2 in Rye Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
1.7 mi away
Hilton Westchester
Hilton Westchester
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Westchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Westchester Hotel

Property: Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Address: 80 W Red Oak Ln, White Plains, NY 10604-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in White Plains
#2 Romantic Hotel in White Plains
#3 Family Hotel in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Westchester Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the resort atmosphere of the remarkable Renaissance Westchester Hotel in White Plains, NY, nestled on 30 acres of scenic countryside in Westchester County. Our hotel is located only 35 minutes from New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Westchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance White Plains
White Plains Renaissance
Renaissance Westchester Hotel White Plains, Westchester County, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing