We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Really disappointing”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel seems to miss just a little bit everywhere which leads to a lousy experience.

Here are the pluses and minuses:

Pluses:
1) Staff is friendly but not overly helpful
2) Concierge lounge is great
3) Bar and breakfast area is excellent
4) Cleanliness of the rooms is good.
5) Aveda products are a nice touch.

Minuses:
1) Be aware, long walks to most rooms. I was in 587 and it took me 4-8 minutes to walk to my room or to reception.
2) Linens need updating for this quality of a hotel.
3) The internet here will make you long for the days of dial-up. It is just horrid and unacceptable. To put it in one word...shameful and they charge $12 for the privilege of wishing you had your internet service of 1999.
4) The bed is lumpy and not too comfortable.
5) Heating was spotty. At times it would feel like you were in a sauna and other times you would feel like you were in an ice house. They need to do better.
6) The heating system hurts your sleep quality. I woke up multiple times either freezing or sweating. Bad combination.
7) During winter, the room is unusually dry. My eyes were bloodshot each morning. I wish I could say it was because I was out clubbing but it was the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusLeis45458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    226
    85
    34
    19
See reviews for
218
140
26
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The staff at this hotel win the award in every category, and especially for hospitality. I travel weekly away from home, sometimes with my children. Each visit they have gone above and beyond to provide comfort, amenities and compassion to help make each stray unforgettable. They have become my family and friends away from home. Once again, best hotel ever!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieBB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio P, General Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Melanie,
Great to hear we have created a home a way from home for you! We appreciate your loyalty to the team and we are looking forward for your return.

Gavin Hasty
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

stayed @ the Renaissance Westchester Hotel for the 2nd time w/my family this winter & had another great experience! this hotel offers newly renovated/well-priced rooms for an upscale hotel (complete w/comfy queen beds, perfect when traveling w/kids), great access to NYC, great/friendly staff & a true home away from home feel. we recommend it to anyone staying in the NY/westchester area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJen225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio P, General Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear JenJen225,

Thank you for your review.
I’m glad that we're able to accommodate you and your family’s needs and make it feel like your home away from home.
We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
630 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for one night after our plans for alternate lodging well through. We had a wonderful experience and would consider a similar hotel for our honeymoon.

It's a bit hard to get to as it is off of a one-way road right near where two high-ways intersect, but I think that that adds to the seclusion of the property. We made it without any wrong turns.

Our check in experience was quite nice, as the representative gave us a short tour and was quite pleasant. We got our luggage and went to our room. It was very clean, ornate, and comfortable. We never used the tv, but the bed was quite nice. We overheard our neighbors also apparently enjoying the bed. My girlfriend heard them at least twice.

Breakfast in the main restaurant was amazing! After a run that chilly morning, we cleaned up and went down. The salmon and locks were just great! The eggs, potatoes, bacon, and sausages all tasted great. The berries were so fresh and juicy, despite it being December/January. The french toast was a bit dry, but otherwise, we were very impressed with the meal. (We were fortunate to have the meal included in our stay, although we would have gotten it anyway through my Platinum Status.) If you can, definitely book the meal with your room rate. It is worth nearly $20-30 a person, and well-worth it!

We were a bit sad to leave so soon but would seriously consider returning if we are in the area!

Room Tip: Maybe consider a suite if you are on a honeymoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hsphoser36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio P, General Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Hsphoser36,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay!
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your experience in our new Hive Living Room + Bar Restaurant.
We hope to see you on a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were a wedding party that stayed overnight at the hotel. The day before the wedding and the day of the wedding we were amazed at the level of service provided - often by staff that did not even know we were a wedding party. The front desk fielded all sorts of calls for assistance with kindness and grace. Engineering brought up super glue when the unity candle broke. Maintenance carried up a chair from the restaurant so that the hairdresser could easily do our hair. The restaurant prepared a special lunch and had it delivered to the rooms so the bride could eat something before the ceremony. Finally, housekeeping worked around a bunch of flustered women running in and out of rooms - removing plates, assisting wherever they could. Every single person at the hotel was delightful - even the bartender that waited on us before the rehearsal dinner. I highly recommend this hotel and commend the staff and management.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio P, General Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear DOB28,

Thank you for such a wonderful review!
It’s pleasing to hear that our staff was able to assist in making this a memorable occasion for you!
Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was my first stay in the west jester location and I loved it. I'm a local of west chested county and thought this location was ideal. Close to shopping and entertainment but far enough to relax when I wanted. Beef shirt rib dinner and pot of hot chocolate made my night lol. Oh...and Monique and Jessica, the front desk staff were amazing. They were very polite and friendly. They ordered My airport taxi and It was there when I needed it,

Room Tip: The halls are long so choose a room close to the elevator. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASH7984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio P, General Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear ASH7984,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay with us.
It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and the service provided by our staff members.
We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Plains
2.4 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
HYATT house White Plains
HYATT house White Plains
#4 of 8 in White Plains
540 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
1.7 mi away
Hilton Westchester
Hilton Westchester
#1 of 2 in Rye Brook
591 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Westchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Westchester Hotel

Property: Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Address: 80 W Red Oak Ln, White Plains, NY 10604-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in White Plains
#2 Romantic Hotel in White Plains
#3 Family Hotel in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Westchester Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the resort atmosphere of the remarkable Renaissance Westchester Hotel in White Plains, NY, nestled on 30 acres of scenic countryside in Westchester County. Our hotel is located only 35 minutes from New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Westchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance White Plains
White Plains Renaissance
Renaissance Westchester Hotel White Plains, Westchester County, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing