We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive to the next hotel you see”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

One night stay, was put off before check in to see you have to pay for parking, which I'd think would be free for guests. Check in was a breeze, staff friendly and courteous. Room clean and comfortable. Went to get ice to see the ice machine looks about 35 years old and did not work, had to go to another floor to get ice. Have to pay for wifi which is pretty ridiculous in this day and age. Saw coffee packets in my room with no coffee pot. Called front desk to ask if there should be one. Girl who answered said she didn't know if there should be one then said the coffee is instant coffee. Which it is clearly not. Breakfast not included. It just seems to me for the amount of money you pay to stay here they would include something; parking, wifi, breakfast, a coffee pot, something! Wouldn't stay again, there are plenty of other hotels out there that really value and go out of their way for their guests. This is not one.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vvittitoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear vvittitoe,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. I’m happy to hear you had an easy check in and found the staff friendly and courteous. However, I am certainly disappointed by the issues you experienced during your stay. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 805 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

These days I travel on a budget. I'm in law school. I was pleased to get to come to White Plains for a moot court competition, even though New York isn't my idea of a vacation. I'm an IHG rewards member, and as a general rule their family of hotels is really pleasant, especially because the service is usually outstanding for the price.
I got to Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown and our rooms had been purchased by my law school prior to our arrival. The hotel had a letter of authorization faxed to them to make sure we were taken care of. I was standing there when our director of student services said, "take care of them, give them whatever they need." 2 of our 3 reservations were not in the system, the letter "hadn't arrived" and they wanted me to pay $50 PER DAY for incidentals. It was explained to me that it is policy to cover damage. My trip is for 5 days. The hotel wants $750 ($50 per day from each of us) to cover damage that a group of law students (the youngest is 27, and I'm the oldest at 52) might do to the room? I paid $10 for a bowl of oatmeal and coffee in the restaurant for breakfast (no breakfast included here--the breakfast buffet is $21.50!!!) and then $8 for a draft beer. I'm not unsophisticated enough to know that this is a high priced part of the world, but this was absolutely not what I expected from International Hotel Group. The front desk is helpful enough, if very slow and inefficient. The real bright spot is the concierge. She is delightful.

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying $10 extra every time you turn around, all the rooms seem nice, recent r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear dadamsplsjd2b,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We regret to see the value prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We truly appreciate the high scores for Cleanliness, Rooms, and Sleep Quality. We do take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here after a wedding - very busy Saturday night with conference rooms busy after 10pm. Front Desk - Crystal was a delight. Have not been here in years - and the key system was a challenge - and was not told about it - so was stuck in elevator. The lobby had not changed much in years to me - other than the business center that was awkwardly placed to me. The bartender did not know how to make a proper martini - and our cousins had to tell him how. The bar food was alright. We had a king room. It was lovely and clean. The tolietries were lovely and smelled soo good. The bed was comfortable and the pillows also. A little noisy as the hotel was full - but nothing a sound machine does not block out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mishy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Mishy119:

We gratefully acknowledge and thank you for the time you've taken to write a review. We're delighted you found the service from Crystal a delight and the room lovely and clean and the bed and pillows comfortable.

Certainly we'll need to circle back with our reception team to ensure they're advising guests a key is required to access all our guest floors. And we'll also share your comments with our bartenders; they are by all accounts well experienced in the art of making martinis!

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back as our guest again soon!

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel itself is very nice and comfortable in terms of the rooms, bedding, lounge area, restaurant/bar. However, here is a quick list of what needs to be improved (especially considering how much you pay to stay here): the initial customer service at check in could be much friendlier and provide you with helpful information, such as where things are located, or at the very least ask if you have any questions they might be able to help you with; the restaurant was overpriced and not adequately staffed as evidenced by myself getting served my meal (a burger, presumably not that difficult) 45 minutes after my two dining partners were served their meals; the transportation person saying something and actually trying to follow through, like securing a taxi in order to reach a work conference in time (for which the organizers of the conference once contacted were able to secure the same said taxi in a matter of minutes that this woman took 3 hours and still had nothing); and the simple fact that basic wireless internet service is not included in the high price of the room (something that does not cost $9.99 per 24 hour period per hundreds of guests that stay in your hotel for you to offer). Overall, I would not choose to stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone else.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Jen L:

Thank you for the time taken to submit a review following your recent visit.

We are pleased you found the hotel very nice and comfortable. We are naturally concerned that your restaurant service was not timely and that there were apparent challenges in summoning a taxi for you. On behalf of all our associates, we apologize for the inconvenience.

We certainly hope you'll reconsider returning to our hotel again in the future. Thank you for staying with us.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My daughter was competing at a pageant-Again!! So I have stayed here before. Always great staff! My usual bellmen was on vacation and Kerri at restaurant fantastic!!!
Seen the hotel go thru renovations -looks nice
Don't appreciate the fact that now $3.00 service fee to take food out. You know we pageant moms are running back and forth getting dressed for next competition and penalizing us for this convenience isn't nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleLiz977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear LittleLiz977:

We really appreciate the time you've taken to write a review - thank you!

We will certainly pass along our thanks as well to those associates you acknowledge in your review. And we will also discuss the service charge you mentioned as well.

We are grateful for your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I'm not sure the available amenities balance the price tag, but the Crown Plaza White Plains always comes through for convenient, centrally located lodging. Their hotel has undergone significant improvements in recent years and everything is much more modern. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Close to plenty of shopping diversions and restaurants. I stay for business routinely and it's never a bad experience. The front desk staff is fantastic.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Saxtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Saxtell:

On behalf of all our associates, we wish to acknowledge and thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Crowne Plaza White Plains.

We are pleased you found our hotel clean, modern and the front desk staff fantastic. We know they'll appreciate that comment in particular and that it will encourage them to continue to extend awesome hospitality to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Crowne Plaza is not an impressive hotel but if you are going for business meetings in the White Plains Area and you need to be near some food and shopping choices and the budget is not too much then this is the one for you. Other nearby Hotels are the Renaissance and the Hilton, but both are located in the outskirts of the area.

Minus: looks a bit run down. not good food choices. The gym is very basic.
Pluses: Location, location, location. Vibrant area, lots of places to go considering we are in Westchester and good restaurants. I believe you get what you pay for. Until there is anything better I think this is the choice for a budget business trip or if the Ritz is crowded.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pahvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Pahvis:

We are grateful that you took the time to review our services and facilities. Thank you!

We are sad and disappointed that you report that we are "not an impressive hotel". Certainly there are 160 long-term associates here who would like to debate you on that point, and we are indeed proud of our recent $10M renovation program.

We sincerely appreciate your business and do genuinely hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the near future.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Plains
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
2.0 mi away
HYATT house White Plains
HYATT house White Plains
#4 of 7 in White Plains
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
3.8 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
815 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown

Address: 66 Hale Ave, White Plains, NY 10601-4504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in White Plains
Price Range: $151 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza White Plains Hotel is situated in downtown White Plains, NY, the heart of Westchester County. This White Plains New York hotel is only 30 minutes from Manhattan. Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike, it's accross the street from world class shopping at The Westchester Mall with Neiman Marcus and Nordstrom, among other fine retailers. New York Airports - La Guardia, JFK and Newark, are all easily accessible from the hotel. If you are planning a meeting, the Crowne Plaza White Plains Westchester Hotel is 'The Place to Meet' with the Crowne meetings director to work with you hand in hand until your event is completed. We'll ensure that you have one point of contact for all of your needs during your events by providing a daily meetings debrief. This Crowne Plaza White Plains NY hotel promises a better meetings experience for the meeting planner and a better night's sleep for the meeting attendees and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Hotel White Plains
White Plains Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Westchester County, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing