We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good comfortable stay”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights here whilst visiting nearby Purchase.

I have no complaints about this hotel other than the wifi and breakfast are ridiculously expensive.

Room was large with a super king bed that was comfortable with comfortable bedding. A/c, in room tv, bathroom all working.

I would definitely stay here if I was to visit Purchase again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Victoria E:

Thank you very much for your review of our services and facilities. We're pleased you found the guest room comfortable and in good working order. One should expect no less!

We do charge $9.95 for high-speed internet, however, it is currently free to all IHG Elite Rewards Members and, starting in January 2014, it will be free to all IHG Rewards Members. There is no cost to become a member, so next time you're here we can just sign you up at reception or you can go on-line to apply.

We appreciate your trust is stating you would definitely stay with us again. Thank you for that, and thank you for your business.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    221
    96
    28
    14
See reviews for
147
73
32
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have been staying at the Crowne in White Plains for at least one week a month for a few years and finally have decided it was time for a review. I was hesitant to post until after all the renovations were completed and the function of the hotel was back to normal. Service at check in is efficient. Don't hesitate to request a bottle of water on your way in. The property has twelve floors and the top two are the club level. The decor is pleasant and the bathrooms are clean and functional. Finally, enough light in the rooms. I especially like what they have done to the showers in the Club level rooms! At the club level they offer a light breakfast and snacks at happy hour. The service is terrific, but the management is still trying to figuring out the menu. That can be hit or miss depending on the day. Self-parking I cannot recommend. Twice I have been nearly hit head-on negotiating the turns. Use the valet, it is much less stressful. The hotel is very convenient to Westchester Airport and a train ride away from the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penta-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Penta-Seattle:

We are very grateful indeed for the time you have taken to review our services and facilities. Thank you!

We're delighted you have enjoyed our newly refurbished facilities, and that you find the guest room clean, functional and well lit.

Our parking garage has also been under a major renovation, which certainly made navigating the 8-levels a challenge. That work is pretty much wrapped-up now.

We really appreciate your business and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdese, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed just two nights in the hotel and overall it was very good. Some attention to details as they concern guests would make it even better:

First, driving up to the hotel you naturally pull in by the hotel’s front door. That is not where you can park and the driveway from the hotel entrance and parking sign were blocked by all the hotel’s vans. Once parked inside the parking garage there are no signs telling you which way to go to get to the hotel. Lucky, we walked in the right direction and saw a sign near a door for the elevators to the lobby. We got on the elevators. The only problem was we were on the lobby floor. There were no signs directing you to the lobby.

None of this was tragic, but a hotel should pay more attention to such details.

On a much better note, Andrea in the club lounge was wonderful and very helpful at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat-TL++
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Cat-TL++:

We gratefully acknowledge and appreciate your review of our services and facilities. Thank you!

We are in the final stages of the garage refurbishment and we agree some way-finding signs are not completely in place. We apologize for the confusion this may have caused.

We're very proud of all the hotel associates, but certainly Andrea is humbled that you singled her out by name and is very grateful for the recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest again, and thank you very much for your business.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley,MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I arrived at the hotel just as as a pretty substantial line was forming to check in. Almost immediately, 2 additional people appeared to help the2 that were checking people in. The line moved very quickly and the person I dealt with was very professional and whisked me right thru.
The rooms very nice, with a mini fridge and good storage.
I was using this as a stay over for visiting the city via the Metro North. The train station is not within reasonable walking distance and parking can be an issue. If you are using the Metro take a cab. You'll probably pay less overall and not have the hassle of driving. I would have paid a fee if the hotel shuttle ran to the station.

Room Tip: Even the rooms near the elevator were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear joe651:

Thank you very much for the time you've taken to write a review. We appreciate that you found our services efficient and the guest room nice with good storage. We offer a mini-fridge in every room, which is great for storing personal refreshments and food items.

A taxi to the Metro-North White Plains station is a mere $5, so for sure it's best to grab a taxi from the hotel rather than park there (the walk is 1.1 miles which would be about a 23min walk).

Thank you for your business and please do call on us when you are next visiting the New York City area.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am staying here as part of a conferenced and really enjoyed most of my stay. the room is very nice and surprisingly quiet given that I am right by the elevator. I will say that the bathroom is a little dim in the shower area. The television cuts out every now and then. you pay for wireless offer day offer device, which I think is important to know upfront. the staff was really friendly, especially the servers we had during our lunches and dinner.

but why do you advertise a shuttle to the metro station and then when I call to ask about it, you tell me it only goes to the airport. now I have to rearrange my plans. so unhelpful and misleading. you should stop advertising it now

Room Tip: there are huge pillows on the bed, but they aren't the best for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Kara T:

On behalf of all our associates, we wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit.

Certainly we're very pleased to learn that you found the room very nice and quiet, and that our servers for your lunches and dinners were especially friendly!

Regarding our shuttle services, we remain Westchester County's only hotel to run to / from the major corporate parks in / around White Plains as well as a shuttle that runs every half-hour to the County Airport. All these are complimentary to hotel guests. We previously had a "local" shuttle; however that free service was discontinued in early September. We thought we had removed any mention on the dozens of websites that re-sell hotel rooms, so we'll have to check to ensure they have removed that service (we do not control all of their content, so at times we have to remind them to make changes).

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and thank you also for your business.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

At first sight, the white plains crowne plaza looks like it could use a refresh. However, once you have settled in, you will find that everything is meticulously taken care of. Sure, some of the materials and interior design might not be of the global design elite kind, but it is a solid hotel.

Surprisingly, it even has a decent pool and fitness center. For the avid runners, I can reccommend running the gronds of new york presbitarian hospital which is located around the corner.

Breakfast is ok, but in my mind could really use soe better whole grain bread. Just a bit of toast and bagles seems limited. But there is fresh fruit and someone to bake your eggs as you like them.

Rooms are surprisingly roomy. It is very unfortunate that the windows only open abut 15 cm wide, but good that they open at all.

My only real point of improvement towards management would be to look into the smells. It seems that the airconditioning might be a bit outdated, and a stange smell hangs in hallways and rooms.

I would stay here againf if in white plains on business.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Patrick S:

Many thanks for taking the time to review our services and facilities.

We're pleased you found the guest rooms roomy and meticulously taken care of.

We have not had comments from other guests regarding the "smell", so we have asked our engineering team to check the ventilation units on your floor to ensure they are fresh and operating efficiently.

Thank you for your business and for the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Third time we have stayed here while visiting relatives in White Plains. Hotel is adjacent to Westchester mall with good chain restaurants nearby (Morton's, Cheesecake Factory, P.F. Chang). Hotel seems remodeled in last year with bright new carpeting throughout, new furnishings in room etc. The garage is still being remodeled. Has the feel of a business man's hotel. The weekend we were there, coincided with the annual conference of the New York State Elks which was held in the hotel. Rooms run to $190+ rack rate with $12 per day parking, all of which is a substantial increase from last time I was there. Breakfast buffet and internet are extra (I've never understood why higher end hotels charge for this while lower end hotels include it in the standard rate). Anyway, good solid choice in White Plains, New York.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annandale,Va.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Annandale, VA.:

On behalf of all our associates, we gratefully acknowledge and thank you for writing a review.

We're delighted you found our location and facilities a good solid choice.

We certainly hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon!

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Plains
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
2.0 mi away
HYATT house White Plains
HYATT house White Plains
#4 of 8 in White Plains
526 reviews
2.4 mi away
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
#5 of 8 in White Plains
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
3.8 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
784 reviews
5.1 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
Address: 66 Hale Ave, White Plains, NY 10601-4504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in White Plains
#5 Family Hotel in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza White Plains Hotel is situated in downtown White Plains, NY, the heart of Westchester County. This White Plains New York hotel is only 30 minutes from Manhattan. Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike, it's accross the street from world class shopping at The Westchester Mall with Neiman Marcus and Nordstrom, among other fine retailers. New York Airports - La Guardia, JFK and Newark, are all easily accessible from the hotel. If you are planning a meeting, the Crowne Plaza White Plains Westchester Hotel is 'The Place to Meet' with the Crowne meetings director to work with you hand in hand until your event is completed. We'll ensure that you have one point of contact for all of your needs during your events by providing a daily meetings debrief. This Crowne Plaza White Plains NY hotel promises a better meetings experience for the meeting planner and a better night's sleep for the meeting attendees and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Hotel White Plains
White Plains Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Westchester County, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing