We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel and Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Belcamp, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property 16-17 March and had a very good experience, with a couple of hick ups. Upon arrival the valet staff were very busy and no one offered to assist with our bags which is uncommon at the Ritz. Check in was prompt and the staff was very warm and friendly. We booked the executive suite, which was very nice and roomy, with a view of the front of the property. The sleep quality was superior, the beds were comfortable and extra pillows were left in the room, as requested.

The highlight of our stay was the couples massage at the Ritz Carlton Spa, it was truly a delightful experience worth returning for, many times over. We ate breakfast in the lobby; the service was slow, it took 20 mins to receive a menu, and an additional 25 mins for the food to arrive. Many of the tables were left dirty until guests inquired about seating. Towards the end of our meal, I felt as though we were being rushed by the staff because, they were trying to turn over the room for lunch.

This location has a residence attached therefore, there is a steady flow of traffic through out the day. Overall I had a pleasant experience and I would return, if not only to visit the Spa.

Room Tip: Executive Suite is roomy with good sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKLYNQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    107
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
123
149
24
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you need to stay in White Plains and want to stay in a very high end hotel, this is a great choice. The prices are not cheap ($300 - $400) for a weeknight but not insanely priced for a Ritz. This is probably because its in White Plains, not New York or London. In those cities, the rooms are 2x - 3x more a night!

Even though its not in a premiere location for tourism, it is conveniently located in "downtown" White Plains. The rooms are very spacious and look very classy. The bed was very comfortable with a reasonably sized flat screen TV nearby. The bathroom was spacious with both a bathtub and shower and plenty of counter space. There is a pretty nice set up for coffee or tea in the room.

The service was excellent from the moment I walked up to the front desk. I arrived at 9AM and they managed to get me checked in that early. The valet pickup for my car was quick and the bellhops were courteous. Its what I expect a high end hotel to be so you shouldn't be disappointed. There is a gym that is pretty good and I heard there is a pool on the top floor but I didn't check it out.

Any negatives? You have to pay for wifi. I never understand why some pricey hotels still charge for that. Oh, and there is a Starbucks right up the street in case the room coffee doesn't cut it for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnasty71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to this Ritz-Carlton for a friend's daughter's wedding, so we were staying for just one night. We do not ordinarily stay at such high end hotels, but with the special wedding rate the tab (including valet parking) came to a little over $300. No extras, but they do seem to offer a pricey breakfast buffet in the main lobby. The room and marble bathroom were beautiful and spacious, super comfy beds, terrific towels, etc. So if you happen to find yourself in White Plains and in the mood to splurge, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for one night in Feb 2013. A great addition to White Plains. I think it's fairly new. Extremely nice, wish I could have stayed a few more days to enjoy the amenities and surrounding area. Went to Morton's nearby, but the restaurant at the hotel looked very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ketel_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

great hotel, love 42 their restaurant as well as the BLT that is on the lower level... and their spa is one of the best i have ever been to, have frequented their spa many times and even sent my mom there twice for treatments... they will make any accommodations for you special or regular, no request is too big... highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Recent stay at the Riyz in White Plains was excelent convient location great service rooms were a nice size with a good view of the area. Two restaurants at this location 42 and BLT steak house both were excelent. At least have cocktail in the Lounge at 42 the views are amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors the view are great and being in a bust location keeps the noise level down.If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gturco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I only use the spa on this trip because I arrived in NYC too early to check into my hotel in Manhattan. A 35 minutes ride from GCC and enjoyed the lower Westchester county countryside. The spa is great. I always enjoy a location that has seperate areas for men and woman. My massage was outstanding. I've to many hotel spas and this one was great. Plus, I saved a lot money compared to the other NYC locations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjaysfan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Plains
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
4.7 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.8 mi away
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
#5 of 8 in White Plains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
2.4 mi away
HYATT house White Plains
HYATT house White Plains
#4 of 8 in White Plains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Address: 3 Renaissance Square, White Plains, NY 10601-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in White Plains
#2 Business Hotel in White Plains
#2 Family Hotel in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester, the premier hotel in Westchester County, just minutes from Scarsdale, Bronxville and Rye. A mere 20 minutes to Greenwich, CT and only 31 miles to midtown Manhattan, this modern and sophisticated luxury hotel offers business travelers, couples and families a convenient location paired with an unforgettable experience. The hotel features exceptional amenities, beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, full service Salon and Spa, 24-hour fitness center and a heated indoor rooftop pool with sauna and steam room. Enjoy two on-site dining options in either the Lounge or at BLT Steak to complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Westchester Hotel White Plains
Ritz Carlton White Plains
Ritz White Plains
White Plains Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester White Plains, Westchester County, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing