We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the Ritz Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lives up to the Ritz Standard”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We spent a long weekend here while checking out the Hudson Valley. The Ritz is only four years old and is dressed to the hilt in contemporary high end furnishings. The shower in the room alone is enough reason to come back. The hotel occupies the first 10 floors beneath a 42 story Ritz Residence so while in a large building, the hotel itself is relatively small and intimate. There are lots of places to shop and eat right in White Plains and you are half way between the city and the country.

Room Tip: There are no good views to speak of. The rooms on the back look into or just over a rather old offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clherrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    118
    37
    11
    8
See reviews for
135
158
24
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

From the moment of our arrival until we loaded our car to leave, the Ritz Carlton delivered the excellence expected from such a hotel line. The bell staff and reservations personnel made our first moments in the hotel exceptional and had us in our room with bags in no time. The room was outstanding, with an exceptional all-appointed bathroom. The beds seemed a bit less-comfortable than many we've slept on while traveling, but it was hardly a hardship. As to business capabilities, the room had everything a traveler would need while working, including an outstanding working area with video teleconferencing capabilities. It would seem a stay at the Ritz would include free wireless internet, but that's not the case. That would be an excellent addition to the stay. Finally, meals and drinks in the restaurant were outstanding. The breakfast was super, and the service superb. All in all, a great stay in a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAmericanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york,usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Had to leave lower Manhattan so got last room at the Ritz. Rooms are excellent. Outstanding bathrooms and room has plenty of space. Only fault at hotel was breakfast served in the lobby with somewhat slow service but good food. Overall an excellently run Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewY0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The room was excellent, we had a one bedroom suite. The bathroom was amazing, with the french doors & marble, & the shower was amazing with the waterfall effect.
DVD players and minibar. Accommodations offer separate sitting areas. Flat-panel TV'S come with cable/satellite channels and complimentary TV Internet access. . A nightly turn down service is provided. We had a wonderful dinner at BLT,Tuna Tartare to die for a perfect infusion of classic French techniques, wonderful aged angus fillets and INCREDIBLE WAIT SERVICE pricey but worth every penny if you're feeling overindulgence with that special someone. ROOMSERVICE WAS AMAZING breakfast in bed ahhhhhhhh! Used the Bentley service to go to a local pub, the driver came back on time as requested and was ever so nice. Great place for romance and relaxation after a taxing work week! Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Close to some great shopping like Nordstom's
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanisaNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Mandatory evacuation for hurricane Irene left the Ritz Carlton White Plains as my only option as I have 2 Afghan Hounds. The service was great. Staff is wonderfully accommodating under a stressful conditions as everyone else with pets was camped here too. Food at Lobby restaurant was lackluster at best and overpriced. No slippers on room. Had to call for them. Arrived quickly. No welcome amenities as stated when I booked 3 night stay at 300 USD per night. My decentsized room on floor 6 looked at another building. If I wasn't there to get out of a hurricane and possible debris flying through plate glass, I wouldn't have been happy about this room. They were sold out=packed to the gills and it was felt by guests especially when staff didn't arrive after Irene and only the lobby Rest tried to handle the hungry guests.

Slumped on toiletries. At RC in Middle East, I received nice-sized Bulgari products. Here they were tiny Holiday Inn style, no name products. I was also put off by iron and board in closet. What kind of guests are they receiving? I have never seen this in the other RC's I've visited.

Had manicure and facial on arrival day and asked for massage on hurricane day. They never told me when it was scheduled until it was 0 minutes into it. I couldn't make it. I think they had a no show and tried to fill it at last minute. The next day the spa was closed so no massage. Oh well. Sloppy at best. You decide.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZazoosMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic Ct.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our check-in early, was as requested and a mention of our stay's recently at the Central Park Ritz, Manhattan, and a small $20 for "have a coffee on me" Which is for me a way of saying Thank You for doing your job. The suite was large and the dressing> bath area very modern Deco. The down side having been spoiled at the NY Club lounge we missed that special perk. Hotel restaurant at least the more upscale one is closed Sunday, the concierge recommended La Boca, around the corner. Very simple, but tasty Italian food. Judging by the number of Ritz umbrellas, a popular spot to suggest. Hotel nice pricing ABA discount the fact that we bring our dog $125.00 and her burger with steamed peas $39.00 is not the problem of the Ritz just the owners!! Breakfast service in Lobby overwhelmed, slow, lots of unhappy faces. All in all Ritz still is my group of Hotels

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuchessMysticCt_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I stayed here 3 times for business from August 2010 to February 2011. One of my stays was during one of New York's epic snowstorms. The hotel provided excellent service to assist in dealing with the storm. The rooms were large, elegant, comfortable, and luxurious. The hotel has a nice gym, plentiful conference rooms, and dining options. My only hesitation to give it an "excellent" rating is the the question of value - it's a top flight place, but they nickle and dime you for almost everything. That said, you will not go wrong otherwise with this hotel.

White Plains itself is not much to enjoy, but the hotel is close to Westchester airport and the federal courthouse.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingbobIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Plains
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
4.9 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
HYATT house White Plains
HYATT house White Plains
#4 of 8 in White Plains
529 reviews
2.8 mi away
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
#5 of 8 in White Plains
758 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Address: 3 Renaissance Square, White Plains, NY 10601-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in White Plains
#2 Business Hotel in White Plains
#2 Family Hotel in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester, the premier hotel in Westchester County, just minutes from Scarsdale, Bronxville and Rye. A mere 20 minutes to Greenwich, CT and only 31 miles to midtown Manhattan, this modern and sophisticated luxury hotel offers business travelers, couples and families a convenient location paired with an unforgettable experience. The hotel features exceptional amenities, beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, full service Salon and Spa, 24-hour fitness center and a heated indoor rooftop pool with sauna and steam room. Enjoy two on-site dining options in either the Lounge or at BLT Steak to complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Westchester Hotel White Plains
Ritz Carlton White Plains
Ritz White Plains
White Plains Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester White Plains, Westchester County, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing