We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Break”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed here for long weekend with family for easy winter get away and enjoy the pool. The water in the pool was a little cold. The pool area was very comfortable and for most of the time quite. Room was very nice. We had a two room suite which had a king sized bed and pull out couch. A roll-away was $75. We asked for and recieved this free of charge after challenging the cost. Food was expensive...more expensive than it should have been. There was free hot chocolate in the lobby each evening. Kids loved that. All in all, I would cosider staying again, but most likely look for places providing more value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camcf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    118
    37
    11
    8
See reviews for
137
158
24
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on a business trip to the area. On the drive from Boston we had a problem with our hire car and the reception at The Ritz Carlton did all they could to help, even offering to return the car to the airport and collect another if Alamo allowed - Alamo didn't!
The bar is not cheap but the food and drink good and the "themed" nights were interesting. The Irish server in the lobby bar is a credit to Ritz Carlton and we thank her. The free internet access in the lobby bar makes it a fine place to work - and offsets the cost of the wine a little!
On the second night we, and many other guests, were kept awake by building work in the adjoining building (no fault of the hotel). When I called down to reception at midnight to ask what the heck the noise was they called back immediately to explain and gave us a complimentary breakfast the next day, which was appreciated. They handled a matter out of their control very well.
If it had not been so cold we could have ventured out to a good choice of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitby1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

this place was fantastic. it is new and modern, the people are so helpful, friendly and nice. the location is great, you are near the city of white plains and so much is within walking distance, including the trains to manhattan etc. the rooms were beautiful and clean, the bed was fantastic. the spa and restaurant i hear are fantastic too but unfortunately my stay was too short to really take advantage of them.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racerbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

This hotel is uniquely stylish with a sleek, contemporary feel. No 18th century reproductions or gilt-edged mirrors here. If this is the new face of Ritz Carlton... I'm all in. Looks like a new Four Seasons. Guest rooms are large and luxurious. Bedding was wonderful, Two built in cabinets with hanging space and drawers, for his and hers, should you travel with a partner. Double doors open wide to the spacious marble and wood bathroom. TV speakers in the bathroom allow you to hear the news while getting dressed in the morning, though a TV itself in the bathroom would have been nicer. Double sinks and vanity with space for toiletries was appreciated. A vanity chair would be my other recommendation for this space, but that's a small oversight. Front desk staff was unflappable, despite a blizzard outside. Lounge areas with small fire elements felt warm and welcoming and two additional lounges/bars to gather with clients made this a perfect spot for business. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and amenities of downtown White Plains. This just moved way up on my list of favorite city hotels!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I stayed at the Ritz in Westchester for 3 nights in August, and was not disappointed. This particular Ritz-Carlton is new, and the decor reflects that - contemporary and modern. The service was excellent and consistent, as the entire staff was very attentive and always willing to help with anything.
The biggest drawback is the view. I actually stayed in 2 different rooms - the first room faced a brick wall about 10 feet away, and the second room faced out over an alley. Aside from this, the rooms were fantastic with clean and comfortable bedding as you would expect from any Ritz. The rooms (especially the bathrooms!!!) were large and well serviced every day.
We had lunch in the restaurant in the lobby, which was fantastic. We didn't visit BLT, but did have a few drinks at 42, and thought it was nice.
Would definitely recommend the Ritz if you are planning to stay in the Westchester area!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGrlNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

From arrival to checkout, the process and staff could not be faulted - friendly and always helpful - you felt the customer was important.
Room was great and central White Plains are within walking distance - malls, restaurants & bars.
Station is nearby and provides a rail service to Grand Central on a regaular timetable.
Rooms provided great facilities and a great sleep at nights. TV great too.
In hotel, the Lounge provides drinks and lighted meals whilst 42. BLT and other restaurants in the building are not part of the hotel (It would be great if the hotel had a booklet detailing these including happy hours, times etc - perhaps mine was missing?)
Overall a great stay

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton for a conference, it was my was time ever staying at the property. The rooms were amazing, extraordinary features and services. Of course being a Rtiz, the $12 peanuts and $18 to dry clean a shirt got a chuckle out of me but it definately provided the most comfortable sleeping experience I have had.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vttraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Plains
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
4.9 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
HYATT house White Plains
HYATT house White Plains
#4 of 8 in White Plains
530 reviews
2.8 mi away
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
#5 of 8 in White Plains
761 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Address: 3 Renaissance Square, White Plains, NY 10601-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in White Plains
#2 Business Hotel in White Plains
#2 Family Hotel in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester, the premier hotel in Westchester County, just minutes from Scarsdale, Bronxville and Rye. A mere 20 minutes to Greenwich, CT and only 31 miles to midtown Manhattan, this modern and sophisticated luxury hotel offers business travelers, couples and families a convenient location paired with an unforgettable experience. The hotel features exceptional amenities, beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, full service Salon and Spa, 24-hour fitness center and a heated indoor rooftop pool with sauna and steam room. Enjoy two on-site dining options in either the Lounge or at BLT Steak to complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Westchester Hotel White Plains
Ritz Carlton White Plains
Ritz White Plains
White Plains Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester White Plains, Westchester County, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing