We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We always like it here”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Limits Diner

City Limits Diner
Ranked #2 of 261 Restaurants in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: City Limits redefines the traditional American diner experience by showcasing a wide selection of comforting, sophisticated dishes-from house-smoked meats to gourmet pastries. The diner, which has locations in White Plains, NY, and Stamford, CT, specializing in breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
186 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“We always like it here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We came here for Sunday breakfast to celebrate a birthday. This is a favorite place. Great place all the time. Not too busy yet. Like the renovations.

Good service, as always.

Thank you to the Livinos Family. They know the restaurant business. Good restaurant for White Plains.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teach1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    183
    81
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waiter asked us to moce tables in the middle of breakfast...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Yes that's right. At breakfast this AM we were seated next to a six top that had a few additional people show up throughout their meal. While we were in the middle of eating our breakfast, the server had the audacity to ask us if we would move to another table to make room for the additional people at the next table. Can you believe it? Wow, things here operationally continue to baffle proper operations. Oh well, no shortage of breakfast places in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Usedtobegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great selection and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had not been to City Limits since their renovation and was pleasantly surprised. The large dining room seems more quiet than its old incarnation, and the food is still very good (well above the standard diner fare). The menu is extensive, with "breakfast" items available all the time. My mother-in-law had a crab Eggs Benedict, which she really enjoyed. My husband and I each ordered a hamburger, which were cooked just right and nicely presented. We shared an incredible banana cream pie for dessert, while my mother-in-law enjoyed a fruit tart. I'd not ever come to City Limits at dinner time before, but it proved to be a success.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GGHHartsdale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
924 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
“Outstanding Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wonderful huge menu. Superb extra charge bread basket. For breakfast, lunch, or dinner, never a disappointing meal. Among many imaginative dishes for breakfast, I keep coming back for the Huevos Rancheros. Excellent burgers, wraps, and sandwiches for lunch. Wonderful choice of excellent dinner entrees, and yummy desserts. If I could choose only one restaurant to eat all meals in, my choice would be City Limits. I have been eating at City Limits since the Livanos family converted their fine dining restaurant into a diner. What a brilliant move! From early morning to late evening, City Limits buzzes with satisfied patrons. Diner variety and hours, with just enough fine dining options. Reasonable prices to boot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good, but something's amiss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Changing from the hustle bustle tribute to diner fare done by a REAL chef with REAL dessert to follow, to a Mad Men cool esthetic, the menu remains less changed than I thought. No matter, but the service has taken a nose dive. It's quieter, more refined, but slower, which is too bad. Prices a little high but then again the quality is very good for fish and fresh vegetables. Pastry is worth the trip for a better dessert and coffee than at any diner going. Second visit left me feeling the same.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAMarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Limits Diner also viewed

White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 
White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 
White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 

Been to City Limits Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing