We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smaller than expected but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Emma's Ale House

Emma's Ale House
Reserve with OpenTable
Emma's Ale House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 263 Restaurants in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mamaroneck Ave
NY
Level Contributor
161 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“smaller than expected but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Dined here for the first time last week and food was very good...especially the home baked soft pretzels they bring out at the start. Good beer/wine selection and service was excellent....everyone enjoyed their meal. The only negative I could say is that it is smaller inside than it appears on it's website...but aside from that, I recommend a visit here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elsbells63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    35
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
“Great comfort food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I love the atmosphere! There are pictures of dogs everywhere!:) The Mac and cheese, the chicken pot pie, the chopped house salad and the barbecue wings are all mind blowing! They also give you warm pretzels to start. If you want modern comfort food this is the place

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMandelgrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains, new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Be aware”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Had an ok meal but not great. My husband ordered a johnny walker black that was on the menu for $11. Got the bill and we were charged $13. When we asked about the extra 2, we were shown a note on the menu saying that if you order a drink on the rocks, they charge an extra 2. Asked to speak to manager who argued with me and said that many restaurants do that, even BLT Steak, a very high end steak place. Are you serious? Will never go back. If you go, bE aware of extra charges,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank joedee656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains
Level Contributor
239 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good food and drink. Very friendly. Small enough to think really casual. Lighting was dim. Had to borrow a flash light from the server. Still a Must try.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JP J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pub Grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Interesting neighborhood place; filled up fast for lunch. Parking is difficult to find and not well marked. lots of space available across the street.

Menu is limited and not overly creative. Hamburger choices seemed to be the best option. Hamburger tasted good, fries were okay and overall I would consider this a generally satisfactory lunch. Five of us had lunch, everyone seemed satisfied.

Price was a couple of dollars more than similar places but definitely not out of line.

I would return if in the neighborhood and seeking a place for lunch

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emma's Ale House also viewed

White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 
White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 

Been to Emma's Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing