We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming all the way around. Would definitely go back.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn in Westport

The Inn in Westport
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn in Westport
Ranked #1 of 3 Westport B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Charming all the way around. Would definitely go back.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

The suites are named for authors. We stayed in the Emily Dickinson suite. It was clean, pretty, reasonably priced. Breakfast is not included but well worth the price one pays. Very nice. Dinner is available but you are better off heading down to the restaurant at the marina to eat. Has a used bookstore, free wifi, free coffee 24x7 and a gorgeous view of Lake Champlain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ML7kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had almost given up any hope of finding a wonderful little inn in this area when we stumbled up The Inn on the Library Lawn. We loved everything about it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
909 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

Lovely place, wonderful location. And a really fun little bookstore that you need to spend time in. And for those who don't like browsing books, there is a dvd collection! Not to mention the lake only a block away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

We stayed at the Inn on the Library Lawn in the summer of 2008; it was a nice enough place with what I thought was a surprisingly large room for the price. It was clean and large enough to be private, unlike some other B&Bs or small inns where we've stayed. The cafe and bookstore attached to the Inn were also nice and a benefit to have in the same building

The drawbacks, however, were the bed in our room was pretty uncomfortable (a _very_ soft mattress with almost no back support), and there was a clock bell that inexplicably seemed to ring all night (midnight being: *ding* x12); I think this was coming from the Library that the Inn is named after. So if you are picky about a good night's sleep, you might want to look at other options.

Wesport itself seems a bit down on its heels -- something like 50% of the property in town seems to be for sale, and we found few decent dinner options without getting in the car and driving for 10+ miles.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RItravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2007

My husband and I stayed in Room 4, which was very spacious and beautifully decorated, with great views of Lake Champlain and the Green Mountains of Vermont.

The innkeepers were very accommodating and friendly. Great customer service. They were so eager to help us and make us feel so welcome. Hospitality is a gift, and we thank them for sharing it so freely with us. We give this B&B a five-star rating!

A visit to this lovely B&B is a MUST!

  • Liked — Heavenly bed and the great views.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mt1089gren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2006

I spent this past weekend in Westport visiting friends who are currently renovating their home so I opted to stay in one of the B&B's in the tiny village. The Inn on the Library Lawn is located next to the historic town library (henceforth the name) and has ten beautifully decorated rooms. Each rooms bears the name of a great writer or poet. I stayed in the Emily Dickinson room which is furnished with lovely antiques and offers a great view of Lake Champlain from one of the two large windows. All of the rooms have a private bath (which I truly loved) a television and VCR, or if you prefer to relax with a good book check out the huge selection the inn has to offer. The best part in addition to the comfortable accomodations of course is the Wheeler Family who bought the inn last year. They have lived all over the world so talking with them about travel is a joy. Anthony and Alexandra and their two daughters Alexis and Shannon all take part in running the place. Anthony is a warm and engaging host, while Alexandra is the "Wonder Woman" of innkeeping. I say this because not only does she cook incredible omelettes and French toast with cream cheese, she also designs, builds and lovingly decorates each room and is currently working on some modifications in the dining area. I was served each morning by Alexis the older of the two daughters who has a warm and fuzzy personality. I highly recommend the Inn on the Library Lawn if you are looking for a quiet escape, a romantic weekend, or just a nice place to call home after a day of hiking or canoeing in the Adirondacks.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hobojon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
22.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.7 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Strong House Inn
Strong House Inn
#1 of 3 in Vergennes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
17.4 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
17.1 mi away
Heart of the Village Inn
Heart of the Village Inn
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn in Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn in Westport

Property: The Inn in Westport
Address: 1234 Stevenson Rd, PO Box 390, Westport, NY 12993-2416 (Formerly The Inn on the Library Lawn)
Location: United States > New York > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn in Westport 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room Victorian Inn overlooking Lake Champlain in the Adirondack Park. Each room has a private bath and is richly decorated. Continental breakfast is included with the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn in Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing