We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

The Inn in Westport
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn in Westport
Ranked #1 of 3 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had almost given up any hope of finding a wonderful little inn in this area when we stumbled up The Inn on the Library Lawn. We loved everything about it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 76 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2009

Lovely place, wonderful location. And a really fun little bookstore that you need to spend time in. And for those who don't like browsing books, there is a dvd collection! Not to mention the lake only a block away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We stayed at the Inn on the Library Lawn in the summer of 2008; it was a nice enough place with what I thought was a surprisingly large room for the price. It was clean and large enough to be private, unlike some other B&Bs or small inns where we've stayed. The cafe and bookstore attached to the Inn were also nice and a benefit to have in the same building

The drawbacks, however, were the bed in our room was pretty uncomfortable (a _very_ soft mattress with almost no back support), and there was a clock bell that inexplicably seemed to ring all night (midnight being: *ding* x12); I think this was coming from the Library that the Inn is named after. So if you are picky about a good night's sleep, you might want to look at other options.

Wesport itself seems a bit down on its heels -- something like 50% of the property in town seems to be for sale, and we found few decent dinner options without getting in the car and driving for 10+ miles.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RItravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

My husband and I stayed in Room 4, which was very spacious and beautifully decorated, with great views of Lake Champlain and the Green Mountains of Vermont.

The innkeepers were very accommodating and friendly. Great customer service. They were so eager to help us and make us feel so welcome. Hospitality is a gift, and we thank them for sharing it so freely with us. We give this B&B a five-star rating!

A visit to this lovely B&B is a MUST!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mt1089gren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2006

I spent this past weekend in Westport visiting friends who are currently renovating their home so I opted to stay in one of the B&B's in the tiny village. The Inn on the Library Lawn is located next to the historic town library (henceforth the name) and has ten beautifully decorated rooms. Each rooms bears the name of a great writer or poet. I stayed in the Emily Dickinson room which is furnished with lovely antiques and offers a great view of Lake Champlain from one of the two large windows. All of the rooms have a private bath (which I truly loved) a television and VCR, or if you prefer to relax with a good book check out the huge selection the inn has to offer. The best part in addition to the comfortable accomodations of course is the Wheeler Family who bought the inn last year. They have lived all over the world so talking with them about travel is a joy. Anthony and Alexandra and their two daughters Alexis and Shannon all take part in running the place. Anthony is a warm and engaging host, while Alexandra is the "Wonder Woman" of innkeeping. I say this because not only does she cook incredible omelettes and French toast with cream cheese, she also designs, builds and lovingly decorates each room and is currently working on some modifications in the dining area. I was served each morning by Alexis the older of the two daughters who has a warm and fuzzy personality. I highly recommend the Inn on the Library Lawn if you are looking for a quiet escape, a romantic weekend, or just a nice place to call home after a day of hiking or canoeing in the Adirondacks.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hobojon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn in Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn in Westport

Address: 1234 Stevenson Rd, PO Box 390, Westport, NY 12993-2416 (Formerly The Inn on the Library Lawn)
Location: United States > New York > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $89 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn in Westport 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room Victorian Inn overlooking Lake Champlain in the Adirondack Park. Each room has a private bath and is richly decorated. Breakfast restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn in Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing