We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice view - nothing else” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Normandie Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Normandie Beach Club
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice view - nothing else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The view is wonderful. Everything else they promise hasn't been true since 1960. The room was very dirty and shabby. The breakfast consisted of half-cooked pancakes or pre-made eggs. Where was the "mouth watering maple syrup"? Where was the fresh fruit ? Where were the yoga classes. Was that dusty attic with broken furniture the game room? When are the yoga classes?.

No Canoes ( paddles all broken)
No Windsurfers
One small 2-person sunfish for all guests to share. not available "broken" one of the days
Game room was dusty attic with some broken stuff

We made complaints and were ignored.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CDS212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandieWestport, Owner at Normandie Beach Club, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We were waiting for this one, remember her well, taking a photo of the cereal table, quite odd. This woman was interesting, she was aware that we offer a hot course each morning plus a cold buffet. On the day of pancakes, she asked for eggs. On the day of scrambled eggs, she asked for pancakes. She then came into the kitchen, I was there, and thanked the chef very kindly for making her a special breakfast.

As for the sailboats, we actually have zero Sunfishes, haven't for years. We now only have 3 J-y 15s and 3 O'Days, a 22', 24' and a 26'' Not sure where she saw a Sunfish??? As for canoes, I guess 6 is not enough for her?

Anyway, I will say it again, please come join us and judge for yourself and remember, it is only grumpy people who write these reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at Normandie. The setting of the beach club is beautiful - right on the lake, quiet, peaceful. We were disappointed, however, by the condition of the cabin. The pillows were old and had obvious blood stains, the sheets threadbare, and the mattress itself ancient. We requested new pillows the first night and were not given anything better than what was removed from the room. The carpet was dirty; we did not feel comfortable walking around barefoot. We were not expecting the Ritz, but clean and comfortable bedding should be a staple of any hotel/resort establishment.

We had dinner the first night at the CoCo Cafe on-site restaurant. The food was mediocre, but overpriced. The waitstaff was somewhat unorganized, but friendly. We didn't know to ask for the discount for those staying at the beach resort and missed out on the savings.

The beach area itself is the best feature of this location. We enjoyed kayaking and laying out on the lounge chairs, soaking up the sun and the views.

In sum, we would not return to Normandie. We look forward to exploring other beach resorts in the beautiful Lake Champlain region.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandieWestport, Owner at Normandie Beach Club, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I am not really sure why any woman would write such a hurtful review, none of this is true. Please come see us and judge for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westport hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a perfect location for a supposedly romantic dinner: the view over a bay of Lake Champlain paired with a glowing sunset couldn't be any better. But this Normandie Beach Club (what a pretentious title for a rustic hut!) disappoints. My wife and I were greeted by untrained hosts and the waiter-waitress was not very interested to accommodate us. As this place is mosquito heaven, we wanted a table away from the lawn and were led to a corner under a awning/ceiling. The assigned waiter, a young man with little experience in waiting tables, rattled off the drink and wine options, and kept us waiting for the menu which he finally brought without telling us anything informative upon our questions about menu choices, options, or specials. The menu choices looked promising, and we decided upon Steak frites (what French restaurants offer as Steak poivre with French fries) and a fish dish. That Steak was tough despite my order to cook it medium rare, was slapped on a mountain of soggy French fries, and also the fish my wife ordered was unappealing when served.
Considering the exorbitant prices, we were deservedly disappointed to the extent to voice our bad impression on this forum. We have seen much better…

Room Tip: Not applicable, but we suspect that the rooms are not any better than the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 827Contributor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandieWestport, Owner at Normandie Beach Club, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Just the tone of this review speaks for itself. I will note that the Restaurant is called The Coco Cafe and is located within Normandie Beach Resort. Anyone willing to assume that the cottages are not nice without seeing them should not be given much credence. Try us again with an open mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family (3 generations) thoroughly enjoyed our four day vacation at the Normandie in July. The grounds are beautiful and the cottages were very clean. Owners Waldemar and Molly were gracious hosts and went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Waldemar was wonderful with the children when he took them tubing, and the adults appreciated his friendliness and sense of humor. The international staff of young people were charming and helpful. The food at the Coco Cafe was outstanding, and dining outside along the water was a treat. We had dinner there three of the four nights of our stay. We highly recommend the Normandie.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stated at these beautiful cabins in July. Our cabin was facing Lake Champlain, what a beautiful view. Under our porch was all wild flowers. Next to us was a trail and stairs that went down to the beach. We brought our little puppies, and they had a wonderul time with the employees that worked there. There are wonderul young people from all over the country that work at this club. What a pleasure to talk and visit with them. The hosts never bothered you ( and in our case, were very patient with our puppies) but were there to make sure everything was good. Food was wonderul in the Coca Cola Cafe. We only ate one dinner there, and I was very sorry I did not eat more. The breakfast that comes with the cabin was good. I would go back without hesitation to these beautiful cabins by the lake. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night, but you can't beat the setting, right on Lake Champlain, stunning views. Cabins are newly renovated and clean!! Owners are warm and friendly!

Such a gem, only complaint was service in restaurant, very sporadic and unprofessional for what they were charging for dinner, although the setting makes up for the less than stellar food and service. A very special place, throw back to another era!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Degalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stopped for lunch three times at the Coco Cafe but have not stayed in the rooms since we are fairly local. We like that they have dock space for our boat when we spend time on Lake Champlain. The first two times, once just husband and I and the second time with friends, we had panini sandwiches and were very happy. The wait staff is young and friendly and the outdoor seating with lake view is very pleasant and casual. The establishment is very close to the Westport public launch site, so it is very convenient. However, our recent visit with family visitors was not as good. Three of us ordered the lobster roll and were very disappointed. The sandwich consisted of a scant amount, maybe 2 or 3 tablespoons, of some kind of finely chopped seafood salad served on a low quality pale hot dog roll straight from the bag. I'm not sure it was lobster. A true lobster roll should be brimming with lobster meat on a nicely toasted or grilled New England style top split hot dog roll. The French fries were brown, but limp. I guess maybe it's not a good idea to order lobster roll outside of New England. My husband had a club sandwich and was satisfied. When the very sweet waitress asked us how we enjoyed our food (she saw that we left quite a bit on the plates), I politely explained that I did not enjoy it. She asked if we would like to order some more food since we were probably still hungry. I wasn't sure whether she was offering replacements or not, so I just said, "No, thank you." We'll probably try them again, but I'll stick with the panini and no fries. They also need to do some dock repairs because the end near land was under water. But to be fair, it was early in the boating season and a young man did come out to help us dock safely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adkgrayghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
0.8 mi away
The Inn in Westport
The Inn in Westport
#1 of 3 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.2 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandie Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Beach Club

Property: Normandie Beach Club
Address: 96 Furnace Point Lane, Westport, NY 12993
Location: United States > New York > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Normandie Beach Club is a breathtaking property on the shores of Lake Champlain in Westport, NY Normandie offers sailing, windsurfing, canoeing, kayaking, tennis and many other activities as part of the lodging fees. A gem of the Adirondacks, your new summer home. Quality restaurant on the property, breakfast is included with your cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Normandie Beach Club Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing