We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracker Box Room Lacking Necessities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ocean Resort at Bath & Tennis
Owego, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cracker Box Room Lacking Necessities”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The room--absolutely the worst designed guest room in the free world. Tiny--really TINY, no drawer space except under the bed, no table space (only 2 small end tables), no luggage rack, no soap dish or shelf in the shower, miniscule washstand, no lamps or reading lights (only high intensity ceiling lights). Terrible, terrible, terrible (but very clean). The room we had faced Dune Road and it looked like those which faced the ocean side of the property were noticeably larger so I will limit my comments to what we had. This Travelzoo special was a loser, unlike our prior experiences with that website's offerings. The resort itself was quite nice. The pool and beach areas were excellent; our problem was strictly with the room. Although there were a microwave and refrigerator in the room, there was no coffee maker. When we requested one, it was delivered promptly with a good supply of coffee and two excellent chocolate bars as a bonus. While most of the staff we encountered were pretty good, a couple of them seemed to have issues with cordially engaging with guests.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms facing Dune Road. Rooms on ocean/pool side appeared better and larger, at l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    17
    20
    33
See reviews for
35
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The location is quite stunning if you plan to get married at Oceanbleu. However, EVERY SINGLE guest who occupied 20+ rooms (for a Wedding) had problems. Overwhelming moth ball smell, mold, dirty and old. Oceanfront suites are a bit better, depends which one you get (all different and individually owned) and they assure you a particular room, then do the bait and switch upon arrival. Seems whoever complains most, gets the most. Our extra bed was NEVER made no matter how many times we asked? We went to cleaning quarters, found sheets, did it ourselves for our 5 year old. Requested (in advance) non down pillows, and extra pillows (I was 9 months pregnant) and that request was never fulfilled.

The prices are outrageous for what they offer. No elevators. No access from street rooms to poolside room without walking all the way around hotel. Staff was beyond rude besides ONE male manager. I can go on and on about each problem and how awful this Hotel is, but it would be too long. Absolutely not worth staying here. Bride was horrified and totally disappointed. Do yourself a favor, stay someplace else and pay for the roundtrip cab to/from the wedding. You'll be SO GLAD you did when you enjoy your vacation! Sadly, many reviews are similar. Don't let the convenience fool you!

Room Tip: Pay top dollar for an average room, the oceanfront suites. Then HOPE you get what you paid for upon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westhampton Beach hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August. The facility is beautiful. We stayed across the street at the tennis courts. The rooms were minimal but clean. The beach chairs, umbrellas and tennis were complimentary. We would go back again.

Room Tip: The rooms across the street have patios and chairs. It was nice to sit outside in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancybtru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had my wedding at Oceanbleu, the somewhat separate event space, which is a beautiful place to get married.

Our experience in touring the hotel was less than stellar, so we decided not to stay here & directed our guests to hotels 20 minutes away. Rooms were old looking, strange smelling, dirty, and presented very poorly. I don't see how they can charge what they do for rooms and some weekends, have a multi night minimum stay.

This place has such potential but the hotel needs to buy out all of the rooms owned by individuals and completely renovate. Will they? Probably not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tgoeltz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights because we were attending a wedding. The location is awesome, pool is nice and just steps to the ocean. Unfortunately the rooms are gross. There is definitely a mold problem there. For the price we paid it was totally not worth it.
The only plus is that we attended a great rehearsal dinner there and the food was great as well as the room with a view.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Labn2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were in Westhampton for a wedding and a reservation was made for us. Our room faced Dune Rd so there was no view, and while we were disappointed, it was not a huge problem. However the room was a horrible as soon as we opened the door. It was tiny and had not been updated in years. The website says it is aged like fine wine... Not so! The furniture was old and scratched, the lampshades dented, the rug ugly. The bed took up most of the room. The sink was jammed into a corner next to a mini closet with one hanger. The shower area was tiny, the shower faucet not attached to the wall, and the drain did not even have a covering (you looked down the pipe). There was a hole in the wall where the doorknob hit and the place smelled funky. I know rooms are limited in this ares, but I wished we stayed in Riverhead.
I do need to say we attended a rehearsal dinner in the banquet room that was wonderful. The room and ocean view are lovely and the food was excellent. I cannot believe that the same people who own the resort and banquet facility would offer such awful rooms as part of their resort. I cannot recommend the rooms on Dune Rd to Tripadvisor members.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on Dune Rd
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

First the good news,the property is lovely, the beach front,with lounges and umbrellas included, is very nice and clean,breakfast (at hotel prices) was excellent and the setting adjacent to the beach was beautiful as was the pool.However the rooms by the tennis courts made motel 6 look like the Ritz. While clean, the room was small, had paper thin walls, and was without even a chair to sit in, more like a cabana than a room.Nonetheless given the limited choices in Westhampton, as long as you just utilize the room for sleeping and do not mind the cost, the location is super.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABBYSPROUDDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westhampton Beach
2.3 mi away
The Quogue Club
The Quogue Club
#1 of 1 in Quogue
55 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
7.0 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
509 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
151 reviews
14.4 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Resort at Bath & Tennis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Resort at Bath & Tennis

Property: The Ocean Resort at Bath & Tennis
Address: 231 Dune Rd, Westhampton Beach, NY 11978-3005 (Formerly The Bath & Tennis Hotel and Marina)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Westhampton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westhampton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Ocean Resort at Bath & Tennis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bath And Tennis Hotel And Marina
Bath Tennis Westhampton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing