We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
14
6
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
6
5
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2016

I recently spent a few days in the airy Renaissance Suite. I have stayed at the Candlelight Inn a number of times, each time in a different suite. I have enjoyed each one, but I think the Renaissance Suite is my favorite so far. I look forward to staying again and trying some of the other rooms.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank fanofVictorians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma B, Owner at Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

Thank you very much for your very positive review, especially since you have stayed in several of our suites. Yes, the Renaissance not only is large but is a room of light with earlier 19th Century furnishings. We look forward to accommodating you once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2015

Location was great; close to everywhere we wanted to go, but that's the best thing I can say about it. If you are passionate about antiques, then this is the place for you. Otherwise, I would recommend skipping this place. It was poorly maintained: cobwebs on the ceilings and furniture, broken and stained furniture, terrible smell. In addition, you don't get breakfast (which after staying there, I probably wouldn't want to eat there anyway). Instead, you get a $6 voucher to one of the local diners (the first one we went to was closed). I expected much more and was very dissatisfied.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back of the house; perhaps the second floor rooms were nicer?!?!
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma B, Owner at Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2015

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We understand that real antiques are not for everyone nor understood by as many people today. We have been antique dealers for 43 years and have furnished Candlelight Lodge with some of the best pieces we have found. As to condition, all of our pieces are original and well kept. Candlelight Lodge has been our B&B for 30 years, long before anyone knew what a B&B was.

As to cleanliness, we did find the cobweb and some Champagne stains on a rocker that we had not yet addressed. We also found slight cane damage on one chair. For this we are sorry but we really had to look. We offer suites not rooms which are also harder to maintain. Smell, no way, this suite has cross ventilation, AC and a ceiling fan with no smoking and no pets. These people offered not one “real” compliment. For example, no comment about the “new state of the art” Kohler bathroom in their suite.

This couple in making the reservation also asked for a cash discount and exemption from sales tax on two separate inquires for themselves and two additional couples for a single night. We normally require a two night reservation. We said no to his discounted cash offers and he then agreed to our single night price. Upon arrival he asked once again, offering cash, since he has a cash business. We again said no. He then asked me to chauffeur him and his friends to a nearby wine event, offering $40 cash for the evening which I also declined. We are in our 70’s, have some medical issues and probably should have refused his request for accommodations to begin with.

This couple already reviewed us on another website and until now we chose to ignore it. This new review by the same couple is just as vindictive for whatever their personal reasons. What did I say or do wrong to make you go to an additional review site?
The other two couples never commented much about their stay and paid by credit card but seemed to enjoy the house. The couple paying cash offered a parting shot. He said, “make sure you declare that.”

We explained our breakfast policy on the two earlier telephone calls and we saw and said hello and briefly talked with them at one of our designated restaurants the next morning at breakfast. One of the other couples wives was missing. The breakfast certificate is $12 per couple not $6. Our breakfast policy is also detailed on our website. No one commented on any problems with their stay or made any suggestions in our guest book. Unfortunately the web can be very empowering for some and this couple also chose to be hurtful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2015

My partner and I wanted a relaxing vacation week in the Chautauqua area, and we certainly found a place that suited us with the Candlelight Lodge.

Located in scenic, serene Westfield, the B&B is ideal for those who want peace & quiet as well as convenience to Lake Chautauqua and the surrounding area wineries.

We occupied the Pine Suite, and we found it in pristine condition when we arrived, with a comfortable living room, sleeping area, kitchen, and bathroom. One issue thought was the temperature of the place when we arrived (mid-August. It must have been at least 80 degrees inside, and the a/c, even after it was turned on, took about 24 hours to cool the place down completely. However, in the evening, the temperature dropped considerably outside, which helped immensely.

Our host--Wilma--met us on arrival, and she was helpful, nice. She recommended places to eat, visit, etc., and the main common area had lots of brochures, pamphlets, etc. The entire lodge is tastefully decorated with 19th century furnishings, and everything felt very comfortable.

The kitchen included with our suite was perfectly adequate, with a refrigerator, freezer, gas range, and plenty of dishes, pots, silverware, etc. As I already said, everything was clean and meticulously arranged.

If you're in Chautauqua and looking for a place to "get away from it all," I'd recommend this place to you. We stayed a week and would certainly consider staying again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2015

Didn't have much interaction with anyone because I had an emergency trip to the ER that night, but our room was large and beautifully appointed. The whole place was very large and quiet, didn't get a really warm vibe off it but was happy to be there.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank CBWritergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma B, Owner at Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

Thank you for your positive response. We were sorry that you had a medical emergency just before your arrival. Fortunately we were able to offer you an upgrade on the main floor downstairs since you stayed mid-week. The Oak suite which you originally selected has a bit more quaint charm but the stairs would have been difficult for you. The Rose which is where you stayed has a more historical and formal look. It was also quite fortunate for you to have our local hospital within the next block. Hopefully your leg injury is a thing of the past and we encourage you in the future to come back and try a different suite, each has its own special appeal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2015

We occupied the Renaissance Suite for two nights and found it more over the top than genuinely charming or romantic. I'm sure antiques connoisseurs would have appreciated the large and heavy antique furniture more than we did; at least to our eyes, the suite felt old and outdated, particularly the low dark green ceiling in the bathroom. We didn't see any of the other suites, so this relates solely to the Renaissance Suite. However, it was very quiet and comfortable, with good AC but windows that could not be opened. We slept well. Wi-Fi was consistent and strong.

As their website indicates, guests at the Candlelight Lodge receive vouchers good for $6 off breakfast at any of three participating restaurants. We tried out the Westfield Main Diner and found it totally average.

As indicated below, it is very close to the center of Westfield, but Westfield is a town with little shopping, and few restaurants or noteworthy attractions. We would have done better taking advantage of the kitchen facilities in the suite and cooking for ourselves. However, this was a fairly convenient base for visiting the Chautauqua Institution, Panama Rocks, and the numerous Lake Erie wineries along US Route 20.

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Culp1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma B, Owner at Candlelight Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2015

Thank you for your review in which you state our B&B and the community was “adequate” for exploring Chautauqua County. Hopefully we can correct some mistakes and lack of understanding.
The Renaissance Suite is just one of eleven suites that we have and as you state Victorian lovers do find it wonderful. We also feel that as you state it is over the top, the bed for example is over 8’ tall and the ceilings are 13’. With 10’windows in this suite, we leave them closed but you can adjust your AC next to the bed to fan for fresh air. The bathroom ceiling is a little over 7’ tall because it is incorporated into the roof section of an addition to the house. Forest green is the color of the walls with normal ceiling white above not the reverse. You could have chosen another suite on the website that was totally different such as the Oak, a country Pine, a Southern Antebellum suite with canopy bed or the Captain Storm House next door which is furnished with many 20th Century Arts and Craft, Art Nouveau and Oriental motifs. All have modern Kohler bathrooms. Our Victorian preference at the Candlelight is Mary Jane’s, richness and definitely elegant with great smaller Civil War furnishings.
The community of Westfield, while small and yes perhaps lacking some of your shopping interest has a number of things you missed. We have small privately owned shops not any large “box” stores. Perhaps part of your disappointment in our area was also because you visited over the July 4th holiday when many of our shops were closed. As to a lack of restaurants, two of the finest restaurants in Chautauqua County are right across from the Main Diner where you had breakfast. People visiting Chautauqua Institution say that they have enjoyed some of their finest meals there. The Main Diner option for breakfast is also a $12 (not $6) voucher per couple and servings are extremely generous. As to few noteworthy attractions, there is a Farmer’s Market on Saturdays in the park, two blocks away and the McClurg Chautauqua County museum. Across the street from the museum is the Patterson Library and Octagon Art Gallery which many people feel is an architectural wonder. After your arrival you expressed interest in some research you were doing which the Fenton Museum in Jamestown could not help you with. We suggested the McClurg Museum and called them on your behalf. Afterwards you mentioned they had been very helpful. Perhaps at least one real compliment to the community should have been offered other than its use as a base to other places. Candlelight Lodge is nestled in the heart of the wine trail with five wineries within four miles. One mile away is also the NYS sponsored Grape Discovery Center. One mile north is Barcelona Harbor, Lighthouse and Pier on Lake Erie, a great picture perfect New England setting. Many guests generally find the Westfield area restful and quite charming.
Should you ever have the opportunity to visit Westfield again perhaps a different suite choice would be helpful. This can be made in advance on the net or upon arrival if possible, you can choose a different suite if you are not satisfied. As to the community, a closer look might also have been more helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews