We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Ordinary”
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #10 of 103 Restaurants in Westbury
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Ordinary”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Went here for a family member's birthday and the service was excellent. I wasnt impressed with the food, it was pretty average. best thing was the mac & cheese. The amount of food for the price was great too. I wouldnt go here if I was craving BBQ but if I was passing by and wanted something to eat, I wouldn't hesitate to go here. Side note, they arent allowed to sing happy birthday to customers. Pretty strange for a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    50
    28
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great BBQ Catering for family celebration”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My family had a catered celebration and what says summer better then BBQ. The catering staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. They had all you need along with food and plates, including moist towelettes and sauces. The food was hot, fresh and tender. The ribs fell off the bone and the brisket was tender and yummy. Cornbread, beans, slaw and mashed taters rounded out the ribs, 2 types, brisket and chicken. It was a terrific catered meal in the big happy red Famous Dave's truck. I only wish I lived near one so we can get eat there. But I highly recommend the food. Since I was a guest, I can't speak about the price, but boy was it a treat. Thanks Famous Dave's.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MooseLover08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK Barbeque”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've been to this location multiple times over the last few years. Food is always acceptable and typically the bartender on duty is good. My most recent trip wasn't all that great. I got the brisket platter and the bartender was slow to take my initial drink order and food order. When the food came out he didn't bother to tell me about the sauces or even make sure that they were in front of me.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I never been to this place before and have to say the service was great and the food was awesome and they have a good size menu to choose from also good for family meals. If you love chicken and ribs this is the place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John_L2110YM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yum and Yummer”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We always have good food here. The service is sometimes a little off, but never bad.

We wish they would put something on the table to snack on, like maybe some chunks of cornbread or something so we can taste all the different sauces while we wait.

Portions are huge here, and the food is always tasty and comes pretty quickly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheLadyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 
Rockville Centre, Long Island
 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing