We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, austere, bare bones but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Westbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

THE GOOD: clean rooms, beds fairly comfy with two pillows each bed (we had a double bed room), free wireless internet (ask for access code at desk), free coffee in lobby & room and free parking. The gal checking us in was most accommodating with our request to heat up a therapeutic pillow (see THE BAD).

THE BAD: No microwave available except in a king room. One tiny packet of tissues in the room. Thin walls have the potential for a sleepless night if your neighbors are noisy (that was not the case for this overnight stay). Nonetheless I recommend you ask for a top floor room located towards the end of the hallway.

THE UGLY: really nothing in this category.

This is a budget hotel with bare bones accommodations for a bare bones price. You get what you pay for compared to other pricier hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor end of hallway room, for a peaceful night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenrichard, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for the review on your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and the suggestions you made help us in getting better every day. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. I hope the next time you are in the area you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 419 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

What can I say about a Red Roof Inn? It is clean and basic, but this one is newly renovated. I especially liked that the rooms have hardwood/laminate floors, which feels so much cleaner. This is a great place to stay if you have a child at Hofstra University, as it is close to campus, to the mall, and to lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenrichard, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are very fortunate to be in such a great location as you mentioned. Being so close to major Universities, great dining and of course New York City is such a plus. We are glad you had a good time and hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am compelled to add a review after reading some of the other reviews posted about this property. I stayed at this location for a month in the aftermath of last falls Super Storm Sandy. I found the staff to be polite, courteous, helpful, professional, and usually friendly. Given that the hotel was full of extremely stressed people who just had their homes damaged or destroyed by the storm, that says a lot about the management team and all the other employees involved with operating the property. The room was clean and well maintained with a smart touch of replacing the carpeting with a laminate. No there was no pool or gym or tennis court but when you're there to work and sleep you don't need to be paying for amenities more associated with a resort. The property is centrally located and far enough from the city that the price is reasonable. Being that the property is pet friendly there was some barking from dogs, probably dogs just as stressed as their owners after being uprooted from their homes and routines. There are many resorts on the island catering to those that require fun and many more hotels on the island that do not welcome pets for those that are annoyed by them. As for me I don't need the entertainment but I do need a place that is clean, reasonably priced, and welcomes the four legged associates and I found that at this location. I will not hesitate to stay there again should business require me to revisit the area. It wasn't just me but my dogs were also happy with the location as you can see in the photo!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Ned53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenrichard, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for the review. Hurricane Sandy was a rough time for all those involved. We are glad that we were able to make you feel at home, as that is our goal for every guest that comes through our doors. Again we thank you for the kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Reserved with AAA and then when i checked in was told not accepting aaa. Smoke detecter alwasy going off from people smoking i rooms.

Staff was happy whenver i saw them.

Wish the hotel would do sumthing about all the drug use. Leaving hotel with my children and saw a drug deal right in the parking lot. Stayed for 2 nights on the 3 floor and smelled very funny smells. Checked out and went to holiday inn. Called down to front desk and was told unless i could prove what room it was coming from nothing could be done.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANONYMOUS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenrichard, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

I apologize for your experience at our inn. We strive to not only meet but exceed our guests expectations and in this case it sounds as if we did neither. Our team has a single focus to provide the best experience in regards to the comfort and safety of our guests at all times. I hope you will give us the chance to experience this the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hotel was clean, rooms were small, services and amenities were few. Located in a industrial area. We stayed for a weekend family event on the island. It was good enough for that purpose. There is no pool, restaurant, gym. The only amenity they offered was round the clock lobby coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunraygrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenrichard, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for the review on your recent stay with us. For the items you listed that were not there, we try and make up for with a comfortable stay in a great location. Being conveniently located near great dining and major attractions always makes for a great stay at the Red Roof Inn Long Island. We thank you for the review and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Have been staying here during the week for going on 3 weeks now, staying in a King sweet so I have a fridge and micro. The rooms have been very clean and comfortable much cleaner then other hotel I stayed in up here. The tv actually has good reception. The help have been very Friendly and welcoming. biggest knock is no fittness room. NOT AT ALL what I expected when I heard Red Roof Inn. Will be up hear off and on for a couple more months and will continue to stay here.

Room Tip: Need a place to watch sports go to Bottomz Up about 1 mile away (I have walked there) 50 Tvs any tea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPMiller1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We're from the area, and come back often to visit family. Since we usually travel with our dog our choices are limited in Nassau County. The rooms are clean and basic, nothing fancy but certainly adequate for a night or 2. The staff is pleasant and always welcoming. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner (they give you a tiny bottle of 2 in 1 shampoo and conditioner, pretty useless).
I have never heard any dogs barking, and I have not had any issues when we ask for extra towels. The location is great, lots of shopping and restaurants in the area and it's a safe neighborhood. They have coffee in the lobby but the powdered creamer is gross, not sure why they can't provide some milk or cream in the lobby in the morning. All in all it's a decent place to stay for the money, and if you have AAA ask for the discount! Beware, the free wi-fi is slow!

Room Tip: The king deluxe rooms are a little more $ but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#2 of 4 in Garden City
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City
3.5 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#3 of 4 in Garden City
596 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Carle Place Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island

Address: 699 Dibblee Dr, Meadowbrook Parkway at Zeckendorf Boulevard, Exit M2-E, Westbury, NY 11590-6617
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Westbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Westbury
Price Range: $116 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island is proud to announce our brand new renovation. The hotel has just completed a brand new and complete renovation of all guest rooms, suites and public spaces. Complete with a new lobby, new flat screen televisions and new hardwood flooring in all guest rooms. The renovation also included brand new furniture, all new bedding, updated granite bathrooms and window treatments in all guest rooms. Red Roof Plus+ Long Island remains dedicated to providing you a clean room at a great value with free parking and as always, we are pet friendly. Convenient to all local business and shopping in Garden City/Westbury and just minutes to LaGuardia and Kennedy airports and Long Island beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Long Island Hotel Westbury
Westbury Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing