We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a pet "friendly" hotel. Too bad its NOT people friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Westbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend. Called down to front desk, asked for an extra pillow (there were 3 on bed for 2 people) We both like to sleep with 2. We were told there are no more pillows. How are you out of pillows? When maid came to make up room, our towels were not replaced. The dust on the dresser is a shock. The fact that it was not wiped down amazes me. I put my purse on top of dresser and dust actually blew. The faucet on sink which is located in same room as your bed ( about 3 feet away) was broken. The set up is very odd. Sinks are usually in bathrooms. Our door we had to SLAM shut as the lock on door was broken. I have lived in NY my entire life, and have seen other hotels in area when family would come up to visit, and this by far is the worst. Stay at the Hyatt or Hampton Inn which is around corner. Much better quality. This place is dark, dingy and a joke. They should host a murder mystery weekend here - It would be perfect. Oh btw - The dogs barging across hall was a complete joke. I have 5 dogs, so I am a huge animal lover. However, I would NEVER let them get out of hand like that. So be aware - this is a pet "friendly" hotel. Too bad its not people friendly.

Room Tip: Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 407 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

My first stay. Expected 3 stars per TravelAdvisor. Wasn't even close. Changed rooms bc of uncontrolled dog barking in first room and lack of light bulbs or iron. 2nd room had uncloseable exterior window, no lamp on desk, side wall light that didn't work, broken faucet on sink, bathroom door unlockable with broken handle, dirty carpet, no soap, no extra TP roll and had to call twice for iron over 2 hour period. Rooms are generally dark. No complimentary breakfast. Staff not knowledgeable about local walkable places to eat. Hallways and stairwells needed attention re vacuuming etc. Beats sleeping under a bridge and I'm sure I don't appreciate the residual impact of Hurricane Sandy, but...yes I was disappointed. Sorry Red Roof Westbury but that IS what happened.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StanDyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenrichard, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for the comments on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing as we are looking into all that you have mentioned. Your feedback is so important to us and every day we use it to get better, so we thank you for that. I hope you will give us another chance if your travels bring you back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn recently for a bit less than a week. We managed an online deal and got a king-sized room for a reasonable price. But it's definitely one of your average, no-frills hotels. You get free soap, thin towels, shampoo and your standard anemic hair dryer. The only other frill was a mini coffee maker in the room which was not bad - better than the coffee in the lobby.

Our biggest issue was that they put us in a handicapped-accessible room (number 215) without warning us. The shower was almost impossible to use - the showerhead was at shoulder height in the middle of the tub (not the end) so you had to huddle to one side to get under the spray. When we tried to adjust it it either fell off or sprayed the water outside the shower. But the next morning when I asked for a non-handicapped room they were happy to change us over.

Pros: Comfortable bed, lots of room, nice and clean. One of the staff members was wonderful and polite (wish I could remember his name) - he was the one who changed over our room and later on asked to see if we were happy with the new room.

Cons: Sink area is pretty small for a couple sharing the space. No breakfast option at all. Walls were pretty thin - we heard our neighbour's alarm go off about 5 times one morning. A different staff member was a bit abrasive at check-in and when I rang to ask what the weather was going to be he told me to look out the window to see it was raining; when I asked the temperature he said 'cold.' Maybe he thought it was funny but I found it quite rude.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm that you are NOT in a handicapped room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenrichard, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for the review. We are sorry about the room type you were originally put into. I am glad we were able to work that out for you to make your stay more comfortable. Also, I have shared your comments with the staff because feedback such as yours only makes us better. We hope to see you real soon if your travels bring you back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've stayed here multiple times at different times over the years, mostly for the location, then for the price. The service is fast and friendly and the rooms always clean. The hotel is a five-minute drive to the train station that takes you into NYC (45-minute ride) and parking is always available for less than 10 $ (I think it was 6 $ for the entire day). So much easier and less expensive than driving and parking in town! It is also very close to diners, tons of restaurants, shopping centers and other retail stores as well as close to the Westbury theater where we attended two Melissa Etheridge shows.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyS1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenrichard, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thanks for the great review. Location is everything and being so close to all whether it is public transportation, restaurants or night life we are the place to be. Again, thanks for the great review and we hope to see you real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Everyone at the red roof was fantastic. The front desk staff:
Adanna
Wonda
Christine
Louis
Lyra
Andrew

We're all warm and welcoming. They made the stay feel like home away from home!

The management team Richard & Diane really went above and beyond to ensure our stay was pleasant.

Consuela (room service) was such a sweet person. Everyday always with a smile. It was such a joy.

Many thanks red roof!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Tara604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenrichard, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for the great comments. I will be sure to share the review with the team. It was a very tough time in the area with the storm that came through. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you during this time and make you feel as if you were home. That is and will always be our goal. Again, thank you for the comments and we hope you will come back again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is average. It was clean and the staff was friendly. It is also a pet friendly hotel. However the cost of our room well surpassed what it was. This was a 2 star hotel with a 3-4 star price tag.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALP1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenrichard, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your stay. I am sorry that the price did not meet your expectations. Being rather close to New York City and in the heart of Long Island we try to give our guests a fantastic experience at a great rate. We thank you for the feedback and hope that your travels will bring you back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a pet-friendly hotel, that is managed exceptionally well. It is great to see that everyone is happy to see your pet. They provide a nice touch-complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby, 24 hours a day. Check -in was lightening fast. The staff was courteous and happy to answer any questions. The rooms are clean, spacious and quiet, but the bathrooms are small, with the sink located outside the bathroom. They provide comfortable beds, a flat screen tv and a good nights' sleep. My room had a big desk for any work I needed to accomplish. At a difficult time during Hurricane Sandy, this hotel came through with a supportive staff and comfortable accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator, as it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenrichard, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for the comments about your recent stay with us. It was truly a tough time for the Long Island area. We are just glad that we were able to provide a great experience for you while all of this was going on. Our goal is to make all of our guests feel at home regardless of what is going on outside. We thank you again for the nice comments and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
3.5 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Long Island Marriott
Long Island Marriott
#1 of 1 in Uniondale
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City
5.8 mi away
Ramada Rockville Centre
Ramada Rockville Centre
#4 of 4 in Rockville Centre
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#3 of 4 in Garden City
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island

Address: 699 Dibblee Dr, Meadowbrook Parkway at Zeckendorf Boulevard, Exit M2-E, Westbury, NY 11590-6617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Westbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Westbury
Price Range: $110 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island is proud to announce our brand new renovation. The hotel has just completed a brand new and complete renovation of all guest rooms, suites and public spaces. Complete with a new lobby, new flat screen televisions and new hardwood flooring in all guest rooms. The renovation also included brand new furniture, all new bedding, updated granite bathrooms and window treatments in all guest rooms. Red Roof Plus+ Long Island remains dedicated to providing you a clean room at a great value with free parking and as always, we are pet friendly. Convenient to all local business and shopping in Garden City/Westbury and just minutes to LaGuardia and Kennedy airports and Long Island beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Long Island Hotel Westbury
Westbury Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing