We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food; Poor Service”

Marco Polo's @ The Viana Hotel & Spa
Reserve with OpenTable
Marco Polo's @ The Viana Hotel & Spa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 103 Restaurants in Westbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Baldwin, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food; Poor Service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We would definitely try the restaurant food again for dinner, however not for Valentine's Day weekend again. The service was mediocre for the price we paid plus gratuity was already included and the waitress absolutely did not deserve it. Food was interesting with the fusion and their Parmesan Risotto was yummy with the shrimp. Breakfast was awful; food had no flavor and there was NO service in site and staff were rude.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marissa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Attention locals”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

As a business traveler, I don't expect much from hotel restaurants. But Marco Polo is an exception. Diverse fusion menu cooked in open kitchen by accommodating chef. Chicken francaise lemon sauce was great tho chicken could have been thinner.....sea food platter was a winner among my colleagues. Definitely a winner

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank wefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bday dinner”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

they have fresh food , the breakfast was the best lots of selections, the cook also can cook your omelet to your liking. our dinner was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bhel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We bought a Groupon to try this out, as we are always looking for interesting, reasonably-priced places for lunch on our shopping days. We were not disappointed at all. The food was fresh and delicious - we had the turkey avocado sandwich and the kobe burger, both served with fries. The fries were very good, although not as crisp as we usually like them. They were, however, seasoned well and frying them longer to make them crisper would have detracted from the flavor of the seasoning, so they were still great. I also had a Gin-Ger Spash cocktail, which was delicious and refreshing - would love to try each cocktail in turn when I eat there again.

For dessert, we asked for the s'mores eggroll, but were told that it wasn't available, so we ordered the brownie sundae instead. To our surprise, the chef did make the eggroll for us, and it was an unusual and very creative dessert. It is an obviously labor-intensive dessert, and something I would never make at home, so definitely a treat.

The service was great. Tatiana was our server, and she was also busy doing inventory at the bar and managing the whole service. There is an open kitchen behind the buffet bar so you can see them making your lunch. The portions were larger than we expected for such reasonable prices at a high-ish end hotel.

The restaurant itself is a little odd. The entrance to the hotel is in the front, but the separate entrance to the restaurant is on the side, and you wouldn't see it unless you went around back and parked there. There is a large dining room off to the side, which was closed off because it wasn't too busy when we went. The decor is pretty, but the decorator seemed to be trying just a little too hard to make it look exotic - it almost works :) I don't agree with other reviewers who have posted that all the hotel did was put some tables and chairs in a leg of the hotel - the restaurant can be accessed thru the hotel lobby, up some stairs (there is an elevator hidden in the back for wheelchair access) and thru the bar. It's really more of a lounge with drinks and food, rather than a separate restaurant, but that's not surprising and it's perfectly acceptable.

Interpret my 5 stars with a little bit of caution, because when we went it was not very busy, so it's hard to tell what kind of service we would have received if it had been crowded. We also went during lunch, which is priced considerably lower than dinner, so we can't comment on the match between food and cost during dinner. But our visit was excellent - food, service, drinks, atmosphere, price. We highly recommend going there for lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ciocio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service and option for the area”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at the hotel and had a dinner the night before our wedding here. The service was good, the food is asian-fusion and def. good quality. We were also provided a separate room for our party which was a great way of having some privacy. The bar is amazing and everyone enjoyed the food and ambiance. Def. the best option if you're staying in this area. Good places to eat are hard to find in this part of the island.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank wish6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo's @ The Viana Hotel & Spa also viewed

Westbury, Long Island
Jericho, Long Island
 
Westbury, Long Island
 

Been to Marco Polo's @ The Viana Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing