We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cruel to Disabled Person” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Westbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cruel to Disabled Person”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I've only posted glowing reviews before.

But, I called the Viana directly & reserved a handicapped accessible room for 2 nights. I was thankful they had a room, since we'd flown thousands of miles on short notice & didn't have any reservations. They told me they were close to the hospital where I was having a scary proceedure the next morning. They said my room would be accessible by elevator, with no stairs.

The law says I don't have to mention I am assisted by a Service Dog...but I usually do...I was just exhausted & forgot. My Service Dog (Mobility & Alert), has never been denied in 45 nights spent in hotels, was never denied in resturants, theaters or on 22 Commercial flights! (he is brilliant & he looks like a poster for a Service Dog & he is well marked as a Service Dog!)

When I arrived the Viana, the Manager said I was "obviously" disabled & the SD was "obviously" well trained, but they require written certification for Service Dogs. They would not accept my Handicapped Parking Permit, a letter from the Hospital or my Airline Boarding Card. The desk clerk told me she told the manager they were required to admit Disabled persons assisted by a Service Dog.

I pointed out the Federal Law specifically forbids them asking for written verification, but they had a right to know I was disabled & could ask when the SD did for me. (I said he assists with Mobility, Alerts me to falls & has 35 other commands...but keeping me out of the ER was my favorite) I assured them they, their other guests & their cleaning staff would never know my SD was there!

The manager said "she knew the Federal Law", but did not have to follow it or the New York State Law. She called the hotel owner & said "he is an attorney & he says Federal Law doesn't apply in NY State, so without written SD Certification, you can not stay".

They refused to help me find another hotel.

They refused to speak to their own Reservation Service people who offered to advise them to let us stay. They refused to listen to the Police I called & who came & said they could not deny me because of a Service Dog. After 2 1/2 hours, they said my husband and I could stay ONLY if I agreed to NOT enter the hotel lobby, the elevator, or the restuarant. They said only my husband could go everywhere every other guests could go.

I told the officer it wasn't safe without the elevator & I was done being humiliated by the hotel, so we left.

The 800# was very nice, but they said they are not legally connected to the Viana & called me from London & offered me a free trip to any of their hotels, but I told her I had no problem with the 800# as they were kind. I only want them to post signs at their hotel saying "Disabled Persons assisted by a Service Dog are welcome."

I waited 2 weeks, but didn't hear from the hotel & I wanted to make sure they didn't treat anyone else so cruelly, so today I called the General Manager who angrily told me he knew all about it & the Front Desk Manager was RIGHT to refuse a Disabled Person with a Medical Service Dog unless the Disabled Person has a written PRESCRIPTION for the use of a Service Dog.

Over and Over he angrily told me "We are pet friendly, but only if the pet has a written prescription saying they are a Service Dog."

I said your staff made me disclose very private medical information but I was so exhausted after traveling over 15 hours I kept jumping through her hoops to try to get to go to bed.

He said none of that mattered since I didn't have a prescription written to THEIR HOTEL saying I could stay there.

I said I can't believe you have known about this for 2 weeks, but you couldn't spend 3 minutes checking out the law before chewing me out for trying to stay in your hotel. I started to cry & he hung up on me.

Then he called me back and said he would check out the law, but I had been asked to leave because I had taken a picture inside the hotel lobby! Not because I had a Service Dog!

Does he really think anyone will buy that any hotel wouldn't allow pictures?? Or is it more likely he googled the law before his last call to me? All I wanted was to know no one else would run into this, I honesty thought he'd say they would re-train and make sure everyone else would be treated better. Instead he angrily lectured me. He treated me like a cockroach! (I am still shaking!) I am a HUMAN BEING! Even if there had been some stupid rule that disabled people had to stop & see a Doctor before every hotel...was sending me out to the street after 15 hours of travel a solution??

Disabled people aren't trying to "put one over on you"! We just want to live our lives as normally as possible, for as long as possible!

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank ElizabethAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viana1, General Manager at Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for your feedback; praise and criticism are equally important to us and we take our guests concerns very seriously. Typically if there is a review placed on here about the Viana Hotel and Spa that is less then exemplary; we respond immediately with apologies and corrective actions described. However, in this situation there is simply nothing to apologize for. You were never a guest at this Hotel, by your own choice, and you were absolutely NOT denied a check in due to your service dog. As a matter of fact, while you were in our lobby another guest was checked in with their service dog at that very moment without issue.

We not only accept service dogs freely, but we are a generally pet friendly hotel. While inquiring with you as to whether your dog was a service dog or a standard pet dog; you took flash photography at close range of our associate’s faces. The employees were intimidated by you and requested that you stop taking pictures of them and repeatedly had to ask you to step out of their personal space. From the moment you walked in the door, prior to any discussion about the service dogs, you were exhibiting erratic behavior. You had no reservation. Upon arrival at approximately 5pm, you demanded full access to our spa, which had closed at 4pm. You requested the police to be called and our employees quickly obliged as they were looking for help. As a matter of fact you state in your letter that our employees said you were, “obviously” disabled. They told us quite the contrary; they felt you were actually a threatening individual. But even after all of this, the Front Office Manager with the assistance of the Police officer’s, advised you that you could check in as long as this erratic behavior stopped.

You decided not to stay at the Viana; it was your choice to leave the premises. Again, it had nothing to do with your service dog.

The Viana has been and will continue to be a Hotel that welcomes service pets. We will also continue to be a company that fully supports our disabled guests. In addition to helping our hotel guests, we receive 3 to 4 requests a week to donate to and support local charities; we send a complimentary room donation to almost each one. We are an organization that prides ourselves on our financial charitable endeavors as well including; the Holocaust Memorial and Tolerance Center of Nassau County and the FDNY343ride honoring wounded war veterans. You can see these charities at http://www.holocaust-nassau.org and http://www.fdny343ride.com. This Sunday, November 13, 2011, 10% of all of our room revenue will be donated to the wounded warriors that you can read about on the Fdny343ride website. These men’s lives have been forever changed by the injuries they sustained fighting for our country and our freedom.

It is our goal to satisfy every guest. We are sorry we did not have the opportunity to service you as a guest. Had we been given the opportunity, I believe you would have a different impression of us. We wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    155
    38
    16
    14
See reviews for
209
172
36
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

The handicapped parking is on the side of the building when it should be in front of the building. I had parked there and found that there was a flight of steps or a long walk to the front of the building. This parking should be reloacted to a sensible place.

The party I went to was very enjoyable. The service was excellent and the food delicious.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane36_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We were there for a local wedding and were stuck on the weekend of the October snowstorm. We did not know whether or not we could make it out that Sunday because of road closures. The people at the front desk were wonderfully accomodating and let us extent our check out time as a result of the storm uncertainty.

Check in was also an easy and comfortable experience with seats to allow us to rest while checking in. People were courteous and helpful. Rooms were modern, and clean. I could not ask for more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at the Viana Hotel because I was attending a special event at the theater down the road. I was pleased to see find the hotel was in comfortable walking distance.

The hotel was nice, and the staff folks were very friendly. The room was large as was the bathroom. I ate a meal in the restaurant, and I thought that was good too.

Finding transportation from the airport was a bit of a challenge. I ended up taking a taxi recommended by the hotel, which saved a good bit of money.

I did not find the hotel loud as was suggested by previous reviewers. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyvet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila area
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

if you rare looking to a modern, sleek hotel in an odd location, this is the place. The hotel is very modern and clean. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Our room as good size and clean. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.
If the hotel was in a more attractive location, it would be a real winner. It is not is a dangerous location, just an odd one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

My hubby and I had a brief one night stay here. It was very beautiful, clean and luxurious.
It's modern and fancy, not for families and not for children.
The only negative is that it's in the middle of nowhere, the only nearby entertaiment is a movie theater. So my advice is to use it as a relaxation type of place, not for tourism.
My favorite was that the checkout time, NOON!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaybee0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Mexico
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Booked a "premium" King room. The first major problem, we arrived to a very clean, very nice room, minus a couch or love seat. There was only one chair and one recliner, for a room with two people... Whatever! The biggest problem I had was our nice view of Praxair facilities. They had big trucks making noise all night, and when the co2 tank trucks refill, it sounds like a broken fire alarm for approximately an hour and a half. It escapes me that they built a hotel/spa next to a noisy welding supply company, that my window overlooks powerlines and Praxair's facility, that a room for $200+/night doesn't come with a couch. We ended up leaving and going to the Hilton Garden Inn, and got much better sleep. Book the Hyatt if you want a nice room, book the Viana if you want to hear the beeping of trucks backing up with the intermitten roar of a diesel motor. STAY on the front side if you do end up staying here

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waterproofpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
4.7 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
5.6 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#3 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
8.4 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
6.8 mi away
Oheka Castle
Oheka Castle
#1 of 3 in Huntington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Property: Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Address: 3998 Brush Hollow Rd, Westbury, NY 11590-1739 (Formerly Viana Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Westbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Westbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Viana Hotel & Spa! We are a member of the exclusive Small Luxury Hotels of the World and a LEED certified green hotel that has made a commitment to sustainability. Viana Hotel & Spa offers stylish and modern accommodations with luxurious amenities in every room. Our vibrant and colorful decor transmits the feeling of a tropical retreat in the heart of Long Island. Our layout has been carefully thought out to include feng shui, increased harmony, and an enhanced sense of vitality and joy. We are one of the area's only luxury boutique hotels that is energy efficient, green built, and feng shui based. We offer and unique and engaging alternative to small luxury hotels in the areas of Nassau County, Manhattan, and Suffolk County. We have many on-site amenities that are sure to provide the right balance of relaxation and enjoyment for your vacation. Our guests enjoy an atmosphere of peace and calm that is complimented by the zen-like design of each guest room. Special features of our hotel and spa include a rejuvenating spa, a full service beauty and nail salon, a state of the art fitness center and indoor lap pool, and a renowned casual restaurant with Italian/Asian fusion cuisine. Come enjoy our fresh approach to hospitality that ensure our guests' comfort is always attended to in style. We greatly anticipate your visit! Viana Hotel & Spa is a BW Premier Collection member and offers BW rewards points good towards free room stays. BW Rewards(R) members can earn points from a great selection of preferred partners, like Apple, or United Airlines amongst dozens of others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viana Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing