We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WAY over priced”

Schwabl's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in West Seneca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WAY over priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Food is sooooo expensive I ordered takeout it was like $10 a sandwich with a pickle the roast beef was cut so thick you couldn't even chew through it! Charlie the butcher is soooo much better. The new owners are not as good roast beef was over done also.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    66
    37
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beef on Weck. The Best We've Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Schwable's is a small quaint little restaurant. It has a nice quiet atmosphere and is very relaxing. We had the Beef on Weck with pickled beets and German potato sald. Everything was so good, including the service, but the Beef on Weck was sooo good is definitely worth writing about.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pugsley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Food is expensive [you get what you pay for] but worth every penny. Roast beef is tender, and served as requested [I like mine, pink] Tom and Jerry [a special drink, served in our cool months] will warm your spirit. Try it once, and you will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtyltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Collins, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Western New York Classic Cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

When you think Western New York, you think of a great roast beef on kimmelweck roll, ("Beef on Weck") with some eye-watering horseradish, if desired! Schwabl's has the tradition rolled up and sealed with flavor, with the best lunches and dinners around. Our family saw the roast coming out of the oven, and tasted the freshly sliced, perfectly done, juicy beef! After devouring the sandwiches, German potato salad, and beets, we immediately made plans to go back again. Old fashioned home-like atmosphere drew us in and put us all at ease, seated in our own little alcove.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 300kathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best beef on 'weck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Schwabl's beef on 'weck is the gold standard as far as I'm concerned. Every time I'm in Buffalo this is a must for dinner. Also love their homemade German potato salad and great homemade soups.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schwabl's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Schwabl's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing