We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-Go Brunch”
Review of The Thayer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Thayer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2004

Yesterday--Sunday, October 17th--my brother and I arrived at the Thayer Hotel at around 12:30 for their advertised brunch. We had been told that the restaurant does not accept reservations unless you are a party of six or more. So we expected to wait on line. And we did. After about 40 minutes of waiting in a long line with no apparent progress toward getting a table, I noticed that the lady in front of me--who was with her cadet son--went to the reservation desk to find out what was going on. She returned with a look of disgust on her face. When I inquired what she had discovered, she informed me that, even without a reservation, one had to put their name on a list for a table. No one involved with the restauarant had bothered to tell us this fact. Then I went myself to look at this list, only to see that there were many names on it--meaning that to add our names to the list would have meant yet another wait of at least a half-an-hour. So I went to the maitre de to ask if this was, in fact, the case. His aloof and indifferent reply was "this is the way we do things."
After stating that the way they do things was wrong, I left the restaurant with my brother--on the heels of the lady and her cadet son--to find lunch at some other, more welcoming restaurant ("Havana", at the Newburgh Waterfront.)

This was a very disagreeable way to spend even a small part of an otherwise beautiful day. And because of the restaurant's utter lack of concern for the inconvenience they caused more than a few people yesterday, I doubt that I shall return to The Thayer Hotel any time soon.

88  Thank hobancoh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2004

We went for the West Point- Rutgers game last football season- had prepaid months in advance and were really looking forward to a great weekend. Unbelievably shocked at the room- peeling wallpaper, stained carpet, retrofitted shower-garbage in the fleamarket quality dresser.
The service was very slow, the food was sub-par- it's a shame that a hotel with a beautiful view cannot be a world class hotel. A disaster of a weekend.

78  Thank Greenbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Staten Island, NY
169
Reviewed March 17, 2004

My girlfriend was nice enough to book a two-nite stay at the Thayer, Fri & Sat ( con.# 32950 ) for my Birthday. Saturday package including the special "Irish Night" fare, special foods and local beers etc. etc.
Sounds good! Well, she received a phone call the Thursday before we were ready to leave. We had both taken vacation days to make it the three day get-a-way. They called to say the Saturday special had been cancelled...not enough response. If that wasn't bad enough the person handling the call said "why not come up and spend the week-end anyway?
Fine! Of course this will be at the same special rate? Oh I'm sorry we can't do that. I don't know who runs this establishment, but I'm sure any person with good business sense would of course honor the "rate as quoted". The deposit, by the way, in excess of $300. was paid in advance. Scratch this place from my "A" list

69  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2004

The views may be great...but don't go for the food! We were shocked that an extablishment of this stature could have food service that was so bad. Abysmal may be a better word. We're local, and booked a $130/couple reservation at the Hotel Thayer for a Valentine's Day dinner and dance. We arrived on time, and were seated in a busy, nice dining room with perfectly adequate place settings and ambience.After 15 minutes of inattention, we flagged the waiter serving the next table, and asked if he was also our waiter. His answer, "I could be. Yes. " We asked him for water, and ten minutes later he returned with water...and shot off. We flagged him again as he passed by, to ask him to take our order. He did. And left.As he would shoot by our table, it began to be an annoying game to try to flag down the waiter, and from what we could see, many other diners were having the same problems with their waiters.We asked separately for bread, butter, drinks, and finally got up and went for the Maitre d'....who proceeded to chew out our waiter, and for a time, served us himself. He reached a point where he was serving multiple tables, while many waiters dashed about in no explicable direction, except away from patrons.Appetizers were dry and cold, limp salads were swimming in dressing, and entrees were gelatinous and cold (we sent ours back) and flavorless. Our desserts were astonishingly bad.As the evening was pre-paid, we asked for a receipt for our dinners, and received something which appeared to be the hotel's printout of their actual cost for our dinners - far less, of course, then what we paid. I brought the billing error to the Maitre d's attention, explained that we would of course be paying the agreed price, but also told him that in nearly 50 years of dining experiences, our meal at the Hotel Thayer was by far the worst in terms of service that we had ever - ever- experienced, and that only his intervention saved it from being a total disaster. We can discourage readers form being exposed to the deplorable service that we experienced.

79  Thank scooper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Port Richey, Fl.
171
Reviewed October 3, 2003

We have stayed at the Thayer on 2 occasions. Our room was clean and typical on our first stay but it was loud and we heard everything going on in the room next to us. After we complained we received a nice letter of apology and a discount for our next stay. Our second stay was uneventful and the room was fine.

Sadly we have learned that due to the limited competition in the area or maybe the hotels just don't care, the area hotels including the Thayer charge disportortionatly high room rates and on any Military Academy event weekend price gouging is rampant. The Thayer has a pattern of outragous overbooking including taking large upfront deposits then cancelling the reservations at the last minute, leaving no time to find reasonably close alternate accomadations. They do not appear to base the cancellations on how early the reservation was made, cancelling reservations made 4 years in advance the same as 6 months.

Buyer BEWARE!

71  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hong Kong
112
Reviewed August 12, 2003

Stayed at the Thayer hotel in March 2003. It was cold a snowing but the Hotel was warm and comfortable in a turn of the Century way. Generally the food was good and reasonably priced but breakfast was a bit of a disappointment as most things on the buffet were cold or looked as if they had been out for a long time at 8:45am. Room was adequate in a military sort of way but the view from the room across the Hudson river made up for it.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank SJBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Point
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
6.3 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
222 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
783 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thayer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thayer Hotel

Address: 674 Thayer Rd, West Point, NY 10996-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > West Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Price Range: $146 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thayer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most unique addresses in the world, The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point has been a celebrated part of American history since 1926. The Thayer Hotel at West Point consists of 151 luxurious guest rooms with 23 recently renovated executive suites and 10 elegant venues for meetings, weddings and special events. The Thayer Hotel offers a perfect home base for amazing group itineraries in the historic Hudson River Valley with a plethora of nearby attractions, cultural institutions, historical landmarks and award-winning dining options at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, General Patton's Tavern, and Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Thayer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayer Hotel West Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing