We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of The Thayer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Thayer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had all of our wedding events at The Thayer in August 2013: rehearsal dinner, ceremony and reception, and newlywed breakfast. Both of us were extremely pleased and couldn’t have asked for a better wedding weekend!

Our guests loved the food, and complimented the friendly service. Those who slept overnight at The Thayer loved their luxurious accommodations. All of our guests were impressed with the Gothic style architecture of the historic hotel, the glamorous entry foyer, and the elegant and timeless furnishings and decorations of the rooms where we held all our wedding events.

We both have nothing but positive things to express about wedding weekend at The Thayer, and we recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: If you want a more quiet room, choose a non-river side.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCM377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
There are newer reviews for The Thayer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 990 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been lucky enough to come to West Point for various events and three times have stayed at The Thayer Hotel. Each time we have been here has been fabulous. The history of the hotel goes right in line with the history of West Point itself. We had an amazing dinner at MacArthur's Restaurant in the hotel - the food and service was excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel and feel this is the ONLY place to stay for anyone going to West Point!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The United States Military Academy at West Point is an important historical landmark and worthwhile to visit. If going, there is no better place to stay than at the historic Thayer Hotel right on the grounds. I went with my husband for his college reunion (he is a graduate). We were promptly greeted by a valet who unloaded our bags and parked our car. Nicely and efficiently checked in at the front desk. They supplied us with maps and information for navigating campus and handling the football crowds.

Our room was on the 5th floor and right across from the elevator and the ice room, which would not have been my first choice, but I have to say I was not bothered by any particular noise. A cautionary note: our room faced the river which was a beautiful view, but it also was over the hotel's "Zulu Lounge" which plays REALLY loud music until 2 am every night. At least every night we were there on Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I kept the air-conditioner on high (for white noise) and either TV or music on all the time to try to cope, but there is no way to avoid it. If you like quiet, you should insist on one of the rooms on the other side of the hotel.

I had some wonderful room service -- beautiful fresh fruit plates, Caesar salad, sandwiches, etc. and it was beautifully served and arrived quickly. I did not have much in the other restaurants that was not banquet style for the reunion events, so don't feel these would be the best measure of the hotel's restaurants. The banquets were a bit short on service and buffets were not well tended. The food was average and uninspired, but again could have been the budget of our events or something.

The room was large and lovely. Just a standard room, although they do have suites available. Very large and comfortable bathroom with tub, shower and large vanity. I don't use, but there was a coffee pot with service. Nice shampoo, lotion, mouthwash -- what you would expect in high end hotel. Bed was very comfortable with variety of pillows and the room had a sitting area with a sofa and coffee table, large flat screen TV and a nice desk. Love.y furnishings and tasteful for the historical nature of the hotel.

Housekeeping was good, responsive and it was very clean and well tended for such an ole building.

I would not stay anywhere else if I were going to West Point.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I try to stay at the Thayer once a year, or every other year when going to a game. It's just such a great old historic place and so convenient. I never get tired off walking the grounds, the cemetery, Trophy Point, Arvin Gym - just a national treasure. The stadium is great, little disappointed they blocked the view of the Hudson with the new training facility, but it was needed. Now, the hotel has really been upgraded, the new owners have put $$$ and time into it and the rooms are small, but very very functional and finely appointed. The dining room is great, the Patton Bar is my kind of bar (a little pricey - $7 for a draft beer), but the service and food is outstanding. Great desk staff, attentive front door staff, great hands on management.
The one glitch I encountered was not taking the desk person's recommendation to wait until a 'street side' room was ready. I took the river side to enjoy the view etc. Well, it was a Friday night and they had a DJ at the new Zulu rooftop lounge - could not even think about sleep until after midnight - impossible - forget it. We requested to be moved, and they moved us for Saturday night. So, either request the Buffalo Solidier side or stay out until Zulu shuts down! All in all, a great weekend.

Room Tip: Request street side (Buffalo Soldier field) is you plan on going to bed before midnight on weekends.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremiahF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had a very comfortable room here, and enjoyed a wonderful dinner on the terrace outside MacArthur's restaurant. Many interesting photos throughout the hotel. Staff was very friendly and responsive. Highly suggest the package that includes the tour of the US Military Academy. The history of the location from George Washington forward is very interesting. The only issue we had was the lighting system in the room. They have installed energy saving switches which automatically turn off after a period of no motion in the room, but they are very confusing to operate, and sometimes one switch would turn off all the lights in the room, and getting the ones back on that we wanted was difficult.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 04856Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

went for brunch on sunday...VERY GOOD! If you just go for that...great. We stayed the night on a package....very nice. fluffy pillow comfy bed...beautiful surroundings... low key... we went and saw a play ....across the river 10 + miles...thought they should have a shuttle...but didn't ...that was the biggest downfall...

Room Tip: we got river view...but the train goes by every hour or so...but it didn't really bother us....g...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1dukster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a lovely historical hotel which could be classy if the front desk was replaced and the dining staff was retrained. A rude staff on arrival can ruin the whole experience and one that doesn't try to be helpful or friendly is inexcusable.

Our room was well appointed with a very comfortable bed and nice bath. The breakfast buffet was average, along with the table service. If you're going to put me in a dark room for breakfast, please keep the coffee coming. Zulu terrace lounge is a fun place for cocktails with good bar food and an outstanding view.

Room Tip: Our room had a great view of the Hudson River. We were told that it can be noisy on that side if th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSnoopytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Point
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
6.3 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
221 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thayer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thayer Hotel

Address: 674 Thayer Rd, West Point, NY 10996-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > West Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Price Range: $161 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thayer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most unique addresses in the world, The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point has been a celebrated part of American history since 1926. The Thayer Hotel at West Point consists of 151 luxurious guest rooms with 23 recently renovated executive suites and 10 elegant venues for meetings, weddings and special events. The Thayer Hotel offers a perfect home base for amazing group itineraries in the historic Hudson River Valley with a plethora of nearby attractions, cultural institutions, historical landmarks and award-winning dining options at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, General Patton's Tavern, and Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Thayer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayer Hotel West Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing