We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wedding experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thayer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thayer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Wonderful wedding experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I had my wedding reception here last June and had a great experience overall. The staff was superb in accommodating everything I asked for and more. They couldn't have been easier or nicer to work with. I got married at the Cadet Chapel and the Thayer was nice and convenient for friends and family. We had the Washington Ballroom on the bottom level and had the entire floor to ourselves including access to the grounds in the back. It was a beautiful day and made for a beautiful setting and back drop to our wedding. The only wrinkle in the evening was the fire alarm went off but luckily we just grabbed our drinks and hung out on the beautiful back lawns some more. They even allowed us to stay an extra 30 minutes longer to make up for it. Another great feature of the hotel is the Zulu Bar on the rooftop. It made for a great post reception hangout for friends and family who weren't ready to call it a night. My advice to future brides is make sure you book rooms in advance. It's a historic hotel and the only one on West Point, so it's best to book as soon as possible. Overall the Thayer Hotel provided beautiful accommodations, and the price may seem steep initially but when you're dealing with great staff, great food and you see everything it includes, you're getting A LOT for your money! I wouldn't have changed one thing about my experience here and still consider my wedding day the best day of my life thus far.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBurd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It is our great pleasure to hear about your wonderful wedding experience of marrying the love of your life on your eleven year anniversary of graduating the Academy. The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point has undergone many renovations in the past few years, and these types of stories confirm we are taking strides in the right direction. Each of our employees attends and graduates from a Service Excellence Program to ensure we that keep up that high standard for our guests. Our ballroom is the perfect location for a wedding reception with outdoor access to our lawn area which provides guests with great views of the Hudson River. Our rooftop bar and lounge, Zulu Time, is yet another prime location for those breathtaking views and is also a wonderful place for our guests to relax and take in all that great Hudson Valley region offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    247
    108
    48
    54
See reviews for
269
310
35
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

As a cadet at West Point 65 years ago, I was never able to stay overnight at the Thayer, and when I visited West Point for alumni reunions, my class was always too junior to be eligible to stay there. Finally, after all these years my wife and I were able to enjoy a stay at the Thayer. It has been beautifully restored and reminders of West Point's historic past are to be seen and enjoyed everywhere. Not only is the hotel in a magnificent location on the Hudson River, but it is also the gateway to West Point, and all the interesting sites at the academy are within easy reach. We had no trouble getting a room for a weekday night, and since no special events like graduation were going on, things were relatively quiet and uncrowded during our visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review of The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point. An alumni reunion is always a great time to catch up with classmates and revisit old memories and we are so pleased you had a chance to finally catch up on the history that lines the walls of our establishment. Cadets now have many opportunities to visit our hotel, in fact, this year we sponsored several events for them including a post-Branch Night event. It always brings our staff much joy to serve the future leaders of America! We are pleased to hear of your experience with us and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

as an old grad '62 i know the historical significance of Hotel Thayer. the NEW renovations along with the rooms that were dedicated to some of West Points most famous grads are a treat in themselves. each room has a plaque with a synopsis of the graduates caeer. inside there are also framed pictures of some of the graduates important events. you never know who you might find staying at the Thayer and wandering through the lobby. as a cadet i met President Eisenhower in the lobby in front of the entrance. the service is excellent. larry waters '62

Room Tip: a room overlooking the Hudson River is definitely nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrence w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We can’t thank-you enough for not only your positive review, but for your commitment to our country. The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point has undergone various renovations, including our MacArthur’s Riverview Restaurant. One of our additions has been hand-crafted murals of Five Star Generals that are now hanging near the entrance of the restaurant. If you find yourself wandering the lobby and halls of the hotel, you will find plaques lining the walls with accomplishments of selected United States Military Academy graduates and a brief history of their careers. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

After passing The Thayer Hotel for four years while out son has been at West Point, we decided to reserve a room and treat ourselves! Much to our surprise, the rooms were reasonably priced, extremely comfortable and the the staff was beyond wonderful! Being in The Thayer, with its rich history, was a great experience. The decor all over the hotel was lovely and our room was equally beautiful. The food was very reasonably priced and delicious. We also enjoyed the weather and views at the outdoor dining areas and grounds. I highly recommend making the trip to The Thayer. We wish we had years ago and fully intend to come back!

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a sleep sofa, which was offered to us, and was a great help as we could of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are so thrilled to hear you treated yourself to a stay at The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point. The Thayer Hotel not only offers million dollar views of the Hudson River, but is a place with extraordinary historical value. Each and every corner, hall, and room presents our guests with a piece of history. Our Room Dedication Program honors some of the most accomplished graduates in our nation’s military and gives our guests the opportunity to be surrounded by memorabilia, such as awards, medals, and photographs. This intimate and exclusive element makes for a very memorable experience. We appreciate you taking the time to write up the positive review and we look forward to seeing you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Pretty from the outside, once you step inside worst experience you'll ever have. The most exhausting hotel experience I have ever had. We had booked in for a wedding. We confirmed it three times, yet the hotel 'lost' our booking on our arrival. Yes, lost the bridal party booking for a three night stay as well as many of our guests. They also lost our restaurant booking for the bridal shower, checked people into our room when our property was in there, the porters lost cars, and promised our bridal couple the most amazing room for their wedding night and it was crappy, after everything we have dealt with. For a hotel that advertises themselves as wedding specialists you are Unprofessional and unreliable. Will never recommend you. Oh and their is no cell phone reception!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yvonnef655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are sorry that you did not have an excellent experience when you stayed with us, even though your wedding was not held here on the premises, we appreciate you holding a room block here. Unfortunately, it appears that there was some miscommunication prior to your room block. We were delighted that despite that miscommunication, upon the Bride's early arrival to the hotel, our Front Desk Manager was able to work with her to get the rooms that she'd blocked into the hotel a day earlier than the confirmed arrival, and that our Reservations Manager was dedicated to helping her throughout the reserations process prior to arrival. We also worked with the Bride after her Bridesmaids left a key for the mother to access the Bridal Suite without the Bride's permission. We were glad that on the first day of your group's arrival, our Director of Front Office Operations was able to give the Bride's party free wi-fi, an upgraded room, free drinks at our Rooftop bar, and accomodate your her early arrival with rooms. We are also glad that others in your group who booked their own reservations booked them for the rigth arrival date, and were able to smoothly check in to the hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to discuss your experience with our Executive Officer, and we have shared your feedback with our team. We are sorry that your cell phone provider did not offer you the coverage that you needed within the area: The Thayer Hotel is located in the Hudson Valley Region where we have nearby Storm King Mountain and Bear Mountain. Your review is not indicitive of the experience that our guests have here, and we apologize that you did not have a wonderful experience while staying at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was looking to schedule a sales meeting with my team in the Greater NY area. Then I had this idea to have the meeting at The Thayer Hotel. Having never stayed at the hotel, I was slightly nervous so I read the reviews very carefully to see if this would be a fit. Then I went there and checked out the rooms, meeting space and common areas. I decided to go for it and we had an awesome event! My folks are still talking about the whole experience, the setting was great (we did a private tour of West Point), the food at McArthur's surprisingly good, atmosphere top notch. The rooms are updated with all the latest amenities and are very clean. Bathrooms are much larger than you get with a modern hotel.

As the other reviews point out, if you opt for a river view room beware of the train noise. If you are a light sleeper this will be a problem as it goes all night and the whistle blows right below the hotel. I noticed it while sleeping but it didn't cause me to lose sleep. Most of my folks had river front rooms and said the view was worth a little train noise.

But whatever your purpose for being at West Point, The Thayer Hotel is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: River view = train noise. But it's not that bad if you are a heavy sleeper. Ask about staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BackinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are so delighted to hear that your sales meeting was a great success here at The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point. Our Conference and Meeting Rooms can cater to even the most technical savvy presentations with 6500-lumen projection systems, advanced lighting control, and internet access for all in attendance. Our MacArthur’s Riverview Restaurant is newly renovated and we have also recently welcomed a new Executive Chef, Brian Aspell, CEC. Aspell is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America and he has been delivering wonderful menu items to our valued guests. In addition to our MacArthur’s Riverview Restaurant, our rooftop bar and lounge, Zulu Time, offers a fantastic atmosphere and is the perfect location to soak up all the beauty of the Hudson River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I look forward to staying at the Thayer Hotel whenever I visit West Point. It’s been wonderful to see it transition to a first-class hotel over the years, worthy of its location at the entrance of the US Military Academy.

The stately lobby offers a welcome fireplace in the fall and winter months. The guestrooms are beautiful appointed, with many offering picturesque views of the Hudson River, and some a part of the room dedication program honoring distinguished West Point graduates, giving guests a glimpse of the historical significance of the area. The dining is excellent, whether eating in the restaurant, or attending a special event. A rooftop lounge has been added that offers a beautiful view of the Hudson Valley.

The service of the staff is outstanding throughout the hotel – employees are ready to assist when needed, whether it’s help from the front desk, a special request for the restaurant, assistance with a reservation, or a request of the general manager. The Thayer Hotel employees all go out to accommodate their guests.

I highly recommend Thayer Hotel to anyone visiting West Point – you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We send you many thanks for always thinking of The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point whenever you make a visit at the Academy. Located at the entrance gate of the United States Military Academy, we aim to uphold the same standards and honors that reside within the installation. We take pride that our guests can walk in to the hotel’s welcoming lobby and appreciate our lovely, historical fireplace. Another gem in our lobby is the lamplight hanging in the entrance foyer that is an original piece from the old West Point Hotel which used to be located near Trophy Point. Most importantly, we are very appreciative of you taking the time out to compliment our staff. We always want to provide exceptional services to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Point
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
6.3 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
10.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thayer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thayer Hotel

Property: The Thayer Hotel
Address: 674 Thayer Road, West Point, NY 10996
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > West Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thayer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most unique addresses in the world, The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point has been a celebrated part of American history since 1926. The Thayer Hotel at West Point consists of 151 luxurious guest rooms with 23 recently renovated executive suites and 10 elegant venues for meetings, weddings and special events. The Thayer Hotel offers a perfect home base for amazing group itineraries in the historic Hudson River Valley with a plethora of nearby attractions, cultural institutions, historical landmarks and award-winning dining options at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, General Patton's Tavern, and Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Thayer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayer Hotel West Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing