We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent but slipping a little”
Review of The Thayer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thayer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Looking back at my second stay at The Thayer Hotel I can sum it up in one sentence "consistent but slipping a little". Let me explain: last year my wife, myself and our 18month old daughter took advantage of a groupon offer to stay two nights at The Thayer for a discounted price. We loved it, the concierge staff are warm, courteous and well trained, the hotel is well maintained and the overall feel is respectful of the guest and the fine tradition of military leadership it honors.

This year, we took advantage of the same groupon discount and decided to stay for Easter weekend. While most things stayed consistent, other things have started to slip.

Firstly - maid service. Last year, as well as this year, we found items not cleared from the floors under the bed, under the desk and behind furniture. Food particles, utensils, paper etc. Small items but items nonetheless. The bed linen was also not as spotless as one would expect from a hotel such as this. It's time to change the bed sheets Thayer.

Now onto the bathroom. Yes they have K-Cup machines in the bathroom (an odd place for them) but they neglect to add anything else such as sugar, creamer etc. With two adults staying in the room one would expect there to be more than one K-Cup with the brewer. The sink fixtures were loose (maintenance anyone?) and the floor sticky. Its a beautiful bathroom; spacious and modern but a little upkeep goes a long way.

Now onto the noise factor. I understand the hotel was built almost 100 years ago, but surely we could make some modern improvements about the noise leakage factor from hallway to room and from room to room. If someone above you uses the shower or toilet, you'd swear they were in the room with you. The noise from our own bathroom shower and toilet were not as loud as the one above us. Puzzling to say the least.

Amenities: I am dismayed that The Thayer does not offer a small refrigerator unit in each room. This is a small amenity to offer guests.

Wi-Fi : My BIGGEST pet peeve here. The Thayer charges you $10.00 to use their Wi-Fi. C'mon Thayer, its 2013, even Motel 6 offers free Wi-Fi for their guests. The #1 amenity hotel guests look for in any hotel - is FREE Wi-Fi.

Sunday Easter Brunch - a great offering of food but the chefs need to know what seasoning is and proper temperatures of food. What is the point if serving lamb and prime rib if its bland, dry and overcooked? For $42.00 a person one would expect amazing culinary skills in the kitchen.

Since The Thayer sits on West Point grounds and I understand the military must maintain proper security, it would still be nice if The Thayer worked out a deal with West Point to issue parking or access passes to guests once they check in, so that we don't need to produce ID every time we enter the Hotel area.

Overall a pleasant experience. The Thayer stays consistent on most things, but slips on others. I think The Thayer needs a visit from Anthony Melchiorri to get them into the 21st century.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCRocknRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We really appreciate your feedback and comments. They are essential in letting us know how we can improve and meet the needs and standards of our valued customers. We will be sure that all items mentioned in your review are brought to the pertinent departments. We welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future so that you may experience the Five Star Service the Thayer Hotel is known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you want to relax and get away this is the hotel to stay at. The hotel with its beautiful scenery and the history of WestPoint is amazing. The hotel and staff are very friendly from the minute the doorman open the front door of the hotel for their guests. The Easter Brunch was grand and the waiters made it all happen. I certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaOakland_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We appreciate your comments and will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to our staff. Each person who works at the hotel is required to attend and graduate from a Service Excellence course and we are happy to hear this training is being implemented on an everyday basis to our guests. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stay at the Thayer Hotel regularly with my frequent visits to west Point.

friendly and professional staff as usual.

excellent meals at MacArthur's Restaurant and at Patton's Tavern.

very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us and let us know how we are doing. As a repeat customer, we are so pleased to hear you are still finding your stays with us memorable and enjoyable. We can’t wait to greet you again soon and continue to show you the hospitality and Five Star Service our hotel is known for. Have a wonderful spring season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

For anyone who remembers the "old" Hotel Thayer of the 70's and 80's, the current managment has made significant improvements in the decor and comfort of the rooms and lounges. The rooms are spacious, stylish, comfortable, and reasonably priced. The views are, of course, breathtaking. Finally, the brunch, which was always very good and plentiful, is even better, with more high-quality offerings. I used to avoid staying at the thayer because I remembered that it was expensive and not as nice as other hotels that might be a little farther away. None of that is the case anymore, and I will make the Hotel Thayer my first choice when I come back to visit West Point.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to make your recent TripAdvisor review. Your feedback is essential in our continued growth and goal to provide nothing but the five-star service to our patrons. We are so happy to hear that our recent renovations are getting noticed and appreciated. Please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

If you are visiting West Point, this is the place to stay. We were greeted by a warm and welcoming check-in staff. The hotel is old originating back to I believe 1926. Huge wood burning fireplace in lobby as well as original West Point lantern hanging in entrance are elements of charm that can't be seen just anywhere. Visit the 4th floor where every room is named for a West Point Graduate who has gone onto excel in various aspects of life. Our room was comfortable, loved the bed, but my 6'4 husband found it a bit short for him. Newly added sensor lighting is a nice touch. Remember hotel is old and our windows were a bit drafty. There are shades that help. It did not take away from our stay at all. If you are a picky sort and like modern updates, this place isn't for you. If you appreciate history, because the place is running rampant with it then it's must. We had two queen beds and a pull out sofa. We weren't in room much, but there was a nice tv, ample closet space and very clean bathroom. If you have kids there is a McDonald's just outside the security gates and a few places to eat that have a variety of selections for the pickiest of eaters. McDonald's is the only franchise you'll find in close proximity. Visitor center and West Point Museum all within very short walking distance. (Great Army merchandise for sale in the visitor center as well). I might add that while we did not eat in the restaurant, it looked lovely and menu if I didn't gave three kids with me would have been beyond my expectations. Bistro offers coffee, tea other assorted beverages and pastries in the am until 10:30 AM. You can dine at their little seating area or get it to go.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. Your positive feedback will be passed along to our staff. We pride ourselves in offering our guests the five-star service they deserve as well as sharing with them the history that is at their fingertips in our historic establishment. We are glad you were able to learn more about the Academy, a true national treasure where the future leaders of our nation are molded and made. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We attended a wedding reception at the Thayer and it was lovely. We stayed in a king room that over looked the Hudson, was clean and bright. The shades pulled tight and darkened it well. The hallway noise was loud at times but no other noise kept us awake. The whole campus is beautiful and steeped in history. I can't wait to go back in the fall and see the colors or the foliage.

Room Tip: The room over looking the Hudson was quiet. Our kids had a room over the front entrance and said th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank folks41298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We appreciate your TripAdvisor review and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will come see us in the fall. Our rooftop bar and lounge, Zulu Time, will be open then and there’s no better place to take in the beautiful fall foliage than on our outdoor venues. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Thayer Hotel while attending Plebe Parent Weekend. The stay was everything we hoped it would be - and then some. We stayed in the Col. Lee Van Arsdale room and were so impressed with both the letters and photos shared with us as well as the lovely appointments for our comfort. The king sized bed was unbelievably comfortable, the sitting chairs and table were convenient, and the bathroom was immaculate and spacious for an older hotel. The staff were helpful and always at the ready. We loved General Patton's Tavern at the end of the evening. Whether sitting there in casual clothes - or in our formal attire after the ball, we were comfortable and at home. Dinner in MacArthur's Restaurant was superb and something we look forward to doing again. All in all - a top-notch experience that we can't wait to do again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our Room Dedication Program is a new addition to our hotel in recent years and it brings us great joy to hear that our guests are walking away with this important historical knowledge that can be found in the Dedication Rooms. Our goal is to transform each of our 151 rooms into a dedication room one day and with positive reviews like yours, we know we are moving in the right direction of providing our valued guests all the luxuries of a modern hotel, yet offering them a plethora of history at their fingertips when they stay with us. Thank you again for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Point
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
6.3 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
222 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
786 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thayer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thayer Hotel

Address: 674 Thayer Rd, West Point, NY 10996-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > West Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Price Range: $146 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thayer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most unique addresses in the world, The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point has been a celebrated part of American history since 1926. The Thayer Hotel at West Point consists of 151 luxurious guest rooms with 23 recently renovated executive suites and 10 elegant venues for meetings, weddings and special events. The Thayer Hotel offers a perfect home base for amazing group itineraries in the historic Hudson River Valley with a plethora of nearby attractions, cultural institutions, historical landmarks and award-winning dining options at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, General Patton's Tavern, and Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Thayer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayer Hotel West Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing