We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”
Review of The Thayer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thayer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Certificate of Excellence
Glenshaw
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 2 day stay at The Thayer pursuant to a Groupon offer we received a week or two ago. I had visited West Point as a kid many years ago and had often remarked to my wife that we ought to visit there sometime. The Groupon offer spurred us to do so. I'm not sure what our expectations were, but they were greatly exceeded. The staff could not have been nicer, and the food and service in MacArthur's and the Zulu Lounge were terrific. The breakfast buffet is first class. We were fortunate to eat every meal outside enjoying the view of the Hudson River. The location on the Military Academy campus is also very cool. We enjoyed a free concert by the West Point Band in Eisenhower Hall after dinner the first evening at the suggestion of one of the staff members. We also enjoyed walking around the campus itself and seeing the great views of the Hudson Valley from Trophy Point after taking a formal tour from the Visitor Center. We also spent about 5 hours hiking in Bear Mountain State Park, about 4 miles south of West Point .... lots of trails to choose from. In short, there is a lot to do, and The Thayer is in the middle of it all.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the Hudson River side offer great views. Our room was on the 2nd floor and looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Historic Thayer Hotel. We are very proud that our hotel boasts a beautiful location along the Hudson, blending tradition with the modern luxuries and comforts travelers can enjoy. The Thayer Hotel has been exquisitely re-renovated and we are pleased to hear that the hard work helped you to enjoy a weekend getaway. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us - we appreciate and use your feedback to congratulate our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    252
    117
    50
    55
See reviews for
285
325
35
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Thayer is fine as a three star hotel but no way would I classify it as "Luxury" as their description or price would lead you to believe. The staff was very nice and polite but do not ask for help or advice with local attractions or even West Point tours, they will direct you to the West Point Welcome Center in town.
If you are "lucky" enough to get a room facing the river don't forget your ear plugs. There's a train station across the river and it's active throughout the night.
Do NOT get a room on the fifth floor. The a/c units on the roof shake the walls and beds. (the maintenance person told me it's always like that, so why don't they fix it?).
We had two fire alarms during our two nights stay and had to evacuate. The first time during a strong thunderstorm and had to wait outside getting wet for 20 minutes before the fire department showed up. The second at 3am. Both were false alarms (luckily).
Breakfast was very basic for a "Luxury" hotel. I was not here for the Sunday Brunch.
I think the hotel would have been ok had I not paid such a high price and had I not expected a "luxury Hotel".

Room Tip: Do Not get a room on fifth floor. If you don't want to hear a train whistle throughout the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfdcttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayerWestPoint, Public Relations Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We appreciate your input and apologize that our staff did not inform you of the train noise. We have notified our Director of Guest Services who will be using your feedback as a case-study in our upcoming Service Excellence training for our Front Desk staff. We are sorry you did not receive the level of luxury you deserve but we hope you’ll give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Much improved since our last visit a couple of years ago. Loved the new valet parking. Easy, early check-in, pleasant staff. Immaculate room and bathroom, wonderful view of the Hudson river. Bed extremely comfortable as were the fluffy pillows. Guestbook in room was nice touch. The rooms are now dedicated to military personnel, including framed photos which were interesting. Keurig coffeemaker new to bathroom and coffee available all day in lobby. We had the seafood buffet on Friday evening, excellent array of delicious dishes and nice wait staff. Visited the new Zulu (outdoor) lounge and enjoyed a glass of their house wine (complimentary with online coupon), pleasant music and large screen tv's. Had the breakfast buffet on Saturday, a good variety including smoked salmon, sweet honeydew, eggs, and typical breakfast meats. Only drawback was one 2 slice toaster.

Room Tip: 4th floor room overlooking the Hudson, quiet, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for the superior review and wonderful comments. Through The Thayer Hotel’s Room Dedication Program, each of our 151 guest rooms will eventually be dedicated to an inspirational leader of character: each room will feature a West Point graduate who has been instrumental in shaping the history of America and the world. In those rooms, there are framed photos that were personally selected by the honoree (or his or her family), and we are happy that you were able to stay in one of th rooms that have already been dedicated. We are so glad that you decided to give The Thayer Hotel another try and even more pleased that you had so much fun with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My two teenagers and I spent 2 nights here while visiting West Point. The hotel is quite historical and very formal. We felt out of place in our jeans but not a big deal. Here are my observations:
:
1. Well maintained and excellent location. You must pass through a check point and show ID.
2. The front desk staff was curt but efficient. Out of all the hotels I stayed in NY the staff here was not overly friendly.
3. I parked in the lot below the hotel and it was a short uphill hike to the property. On the day I arrived it was raining and it was nice they had a van to drive us to the property.
4. We stayed in the executive suites which was recently renovated. Upon entering the nicely spacious room (I believe a king bed and a sofa couch in the front room) the smell of paint was overwhelming. I am sure over time the smell will diminish. The bathroom was also spacious.
5. Both phones in the room and the refrigerator were not working. I should have complained when I discovered these items were not working but I just told them when I checked out.
6. The restaurant was very good and attentive and friendly staff.
7. One reason I would never return is the fact that in each bedroom there is a fire/smoke detector on the ceiling that when the lights are off it appears there is a strobe light in your room! Hard to fall asleep with those little lights blinking in the dark (had to cover my head with a pillow!!!!). It must be a state law because I observed other hotels in NY having similar detectors but since they were on the wall I was able to conceal the light with a small towel.

Room Tip: Executive Suites are the newest rooms and are spacious .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvSDenvirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed the beauty of our location and that our restaurant staff gave you great, friendly service. We are sorry that the phones and refrigerator were not working: we are committed to resolving maintenance issues immediately, and quickly fixed the telephones after you notified us. We have a policy of keeping the refrigerators unplugged when the room is unoccupied (one of our efforts to reduce energy use in the hotel), and have since verified that when plugged in, the refrigerator in the room you stayed in does work. We are working with our Front Desk team to ensure that every guest is warmly welcomed. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Rooms were quaint, staff was wonderful and restaurants were very nice. Great location. Bathroom floor could have been cleaned better before we arrived. Great atmosphere. Took a tour of West Point and that was fascinating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler0166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayerWestPoint, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Historic Thayer Hotel. We are very proud that our hotel blends a rich sense of tradition with the modern luxuries and comforts today’s traveler expects. We are committed to meeting guest expectations at the Thayer Hotel and will work on improving the level of housekeeping service. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us - we appreciate and use your feedback to improve and congratulate our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We recently stayed at the Thayer Hotel and had a wonderful time! The Hotel is amazing, clean and the staff couldn't have been any nicer. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. I loved the cozy beds!!!!! Our weekend began at the Brotherhood winery which is a short distance from the hotel. Later when we returned to the hotel we enjoyed drinks at Patton's Tavern which is located right off the main hotel lobby. We also dined at the hotel's restaurant "MacArthur's" and we enjoyed a fabulous dinner! I had Sherman's Seafood Risotto that was cooked to perfection! We ended the evening at the hotel's roof-top bar where we enjoyed the music and sipped after-dinner drinks. Before leaving the hotel, you must take a guided tour of the grounds of West Point! The history and the beauty of the grounds are breathtaking! I highly recommend this hotel and promise you that you will not be disappointed!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayerWestPoint, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us: we are always pleased to be a part of making happy memories for our guests. Chef Marc Muniz, our Executive Chef and graduate of the prestigious Culinary Institute of America, was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Seafood Risotto in our MacArthur's Restaurant. The Thayer Hotel has one of the most unique addresses in the world and we hope that you will stay with us again as you explore more of what the Hudson Valley has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Then you have found the right place! My husband and I returned this weekend from a one night stay at the Thayer Hotel. Upon arrival we were welcomed graciously. Check in was quick and efficient. And what a grand hotel! You get a real sense of history when you stay at this hotel. Our room was on the fifth floor and overlooked the Hudson river with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. In addition we noted that the grounds were beautifully maintained. We opted for a Friday night seafood buffet and were pleased with what was offered. The following morning we enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Through a Groupon offer we received 50.00 toward dinner and a complimentary breakfast buffet. We thought this was a great value. On both days the waitstaff was very attentive to our needs. Today we have many choices about where we can spend our money. It is apparent to me that the employees at the Thayer Hotel have learned the much forgotten word "customer service." You get an A+. Thanks for making our stay special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fifth floor overlooking the Hudson River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewsfromdiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayerWestPoint, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We are so happy to hear that your visit with the Thayer Hotel was a memorable one. Our goal is to treat each guest to five star service, and are so glad that the you had wonderful stay with the service that we are dedicated to deliver. The Thayer Hotel has been exquisitely rennovated and we are pleased to hear that the hard work helepd you to enjoy a weekend getaway. Thank you again for the kindhearted words: we hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Point
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
6.3 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
212 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
West Point Motel
West Point Motel
#1 of 2 in Highland Falls
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thayer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thayer Hotel

Property: The Thayer Hotel
Address: 674 Thayer Rd, West Point, NY 10996-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > West Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thayer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most unique addresses in the world, The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point has been a celebrated part of American history since 1926. The Thayer Hotel at West Point consists of 151 luxurious guest rooms with 23 recently renovated executive suites and 10 elegant venues for meetings, weddings and special events. The Thayer Hotel offers a perfect home base for amazing group itineraries in the historic Hudson River Valley with a plethora of nearby attractions, cultural institutions, historical landmarks and award-winning dining options at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, General Patton's Tavern, and Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Thayer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayer Hotel West Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing