We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to Miss”
Review of West Point Museum

West Point Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The mission of the West Point Museum is to collect, preserve, exhibit, and interpret historically significant artifacts pertaining to the United States Military Academy, United States Army and the Profession of Arms. The Museum supplements cadet academic, cultural and military instruction and provides educational programs and services for military and civilian personnel. As a public institution, the museum stimulates interest in the United States Military Academy, the United States Army and the Military profession. In addition to the main museum building in Olmsted Hall, the Museum also administers Fort Putnam which it operates seasonally. The Museum also maintains part of its collection on display on Post with the cannon collection on Trophy Point, The superintendant portraits in the Cadet Mess and artwork in many of the academic and administrative buildings. All visitors to the United States Military Academy are encouraged to tour the Museum to view what is considered to be the oldest and largest diversified public collection of miltaria in the Western Hemisphere. The Museum does not require ID to visit. ID for everyone over 16 will be needed if you plan to tour the Academy grounds. Please visit the West Point Garrision webpage for further visitor information.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Easy to Miss”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The West Point Museum is easy to miss on a visit to the Military Academy, but is definitely worth the visit. Situated just behind the Visitors Center and just off the main campus, it is one of the better military museums in the world.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VetTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    105
    18
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“History buffs..this is for you”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A person interested in history could spend days in here and love it. We visited only two of galleries (small and large arms) in the 90 minutes we were there. There is so much to see that it is overwhelming to try to view it all at the same time. If you aren't an aficionado, it is still worth a short visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank judy155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't bypass this gem.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you are a history buff you will probably have this on your list anyway. I am not myself, but I was more than pleased at stopping in at this museum. I thought it was just going to be about the West Point Academy and it's history but it has much more in it. They do have exhibits on the life of cadets, past and present, but also the history of military warfare, weapons and uniforms. A fabulous gun collection from many countries was one of my favorites. It's a short walk from the Thayer Hotel and right in downtown.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadytogoPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“History you may not know.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Where do I start? Conveniently located with ample parking and near the Thayer. Whether you are a veteran or not, there is something in this museum to capture your attention, if you bring your children their is much they would love to see. worth the visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerfreberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“majestic!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

such a wonder of past present and future west point features that are so enchanting!! My walk thru the museum was one of awww!! The cadets and their pride and joy!! Remembering our country and how much it means to me to have such wonderful -well respected young men serving in it!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Point Museum also viewed

 

Been to West Point Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing