We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings”
Review of The Global Palate

The Global Palate
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in West Park
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washingtonville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were a drive-by dining. My husband and I were celebrating our 5th anniversary, and happened to see the Global Palate tucked away on the side of 9W. We pulled in, and they had just opened their doors for the evening. The menu looked phenomenal, the atmosphere was charming, and the staff quietly friendly and efficient. Everything on the menu was locally grown and perfectly prepared. We started off with a bean soup that was solidly tasty and a basket of fries with truffle oil and parmesan that were out of this world. My husband tried the sun-dried tomato and potato dumplings with braised cabbage and fried kale, while I tried the duck confit. Presentation and taste left nothing to be desired. I would have given 5 stars across the board, but we left with a bad taste in our mouth. The meal ended with a coffee, served with cream and local organic sugar cubes. We aren't sure if it was in one of the sugar cubes or the cup, but somehow a denizen of the air (aka fly) found its way into my coffee. We were discreet in bringing it to our waitress's attention so as to not cause a scene, as we understand that these things happen occasionally in ANY restaurant. However, we felt that it was not addressed in a manner that would make us feel wanted or comfortable in coming back. After we expressed that we did not want a replacement coffee, it was quickly removed and a check brought to us with no further ado. We weren't looking for any grand gestures, but it felt as though we had suddenly become unwanted guests by virtue of our discomfort. In all fairness, ours was a particularly unique and (hopefully) unusual circumstance, and the dishes served would have been the one of the highlights of our visit if not for that!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    5
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing anniversary dinner...”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

It was our first wedding anniversary and my husband called twice to confirm that our reservation held a nice table for us. We showed up on time for our 7 o'clock reservation but it took about ten minutes to seat us and when we were it was by the waitress who barely made eye contact or said "hello" and power walked to our table. We just assumed that she wanted us to follow her. Our table was sandwiched between two other 2 tops.
The two waitresses on staff were barely able to fake a smile or be minimally cordial. It was as if they were just told the place was going out of business and they were losing their jobs. It wasn't just us either, the tables on either side of us were complaining about the lack of service. One couple waited fifteen minutes for a drink at the tiny bar, then half an hour later they were finally given menus. The other couple lacked silverware.
The food is fresh but the scallop entree was way overpriced at 28 dollars when it only had five scallops and some dried kale and sweet mashed potatoes. It would serve better as an app. The app we did order were the nectarines slices wrapped in prosciutto but it was pretty skimpy. I don't think it was even a full nectarine on the plate. Drink specials were great but would have been better if our second order of cocktails came before our meal and not after we finished dinner. We skipped dessert all together.
We only came here because of the great reviews but for anyone trying the place out for the first time keep our experience in mind.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lulu5552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Superb food in a warm & cozy setting”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Global Palate is a real gem, set alongside scenic Route 9W. Our dining experience was completely enjoyable, from start to finish. We sat at a cozy corner table, and the wait staff was professional and pleasant. The food was simply wonderful - from the delicately warmed bread, to the innovative appetizers, finishing up with the lick-your-plate-clean entrees. My spouse chose an evening special, cockles and sausage. The sausage was homemade & the cockles were extremely fresh. I enjoyed the flounder filet with homemade spaetzle. Flounder can be dry, and spaetzle can be tough - neither was the case here. The wine and beer selections were varied and intriguing, matching our meal perfectly. Our only regret - we were visitors to the area, and can't dine here regularly. If you live within one hour of this place, go now!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PAhomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best in Hudson Valley”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is not just the best restaurant in Ulster County; it is the best restaurant in the entire Hudson Valley. You will not find any place that serves more innovative, fresher food north of New York City. The chef changes the menu daily based on what's new in neighboring farms and her own garden. You can taste wild thistle soup; dandelion salad; fried fresh kale; gluten-free calamari. The fish dishes are outstanding and so are the meats. Even the hamburger is spectacular. Special needs? No problem. The kitchen here is suited to accommodate any request. I told my server I loved the salad dressing and within 3 minutes, the chef/owner emerged from the kitchen with the recipe! Homemade ice creams and sorbets are heavenly. If you're within 100 miles of this place in West Park, NY and don't go, you are missing a special experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jnjontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulster Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in Ulster County”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Creative combinations, fresh ingredients, all pulled together by a CIA Graduate, this is definitely the best restaurant in Ulster County.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Global Palate also viewed

 

Been to The Global Palate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing