We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Lousy Service”
Review of Hudson Water Club

Hudson Water Club
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Hudson Water Club sits within a beautiful waterside setting, against sweeping views of the Hudson River. Inside, snazzy terrazzo tile, vaulted ceilings, and floor to ceiling windows make for tremendous use of the natural views of the river. The restaurant's cuisine is Contemporary American with a strong emphasis on seafood designed by our CIA trained Executive Chef Michael Dobias. Chef Dobias focuses on local ingredients and strives to feature seasonal items at their peak of freshness. Our diverse menus combine classic favorites with modern twists to be savored in surroundings of breath-taking river views and exceptional service and hospitality.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food - Lousy Service”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

After a couple of visits last summer for drinks and appetizers, decided to go for a full dinner a few week's ago (celebrating my son's birthday). It was fairly early on a Sunday evening, so it was not completely full, and we decided to sit at an outdoor table (because the setting was one of the main deciding factors in choosing this establishment. All of the dishes ordered were very weel done, including the presentation. A seafood tower was exceptional in style, although a bit overpriced for the amount of seafood on the platter. Unfortunately the service at the Hudson Water Club was horrible. with the exception of a few waitstaff that seemed professional and interested in their jobs, most could care less about their customers. The bus people made matters worse be reaching all over the table for plates that were clearly not finished ,and throwing them loudly into a central area behind a bar station (in most cases seemling breaking a good portion of them)...we happen to be seated very close to this area. The best service people were the one's actually bringing the food to the table - and my guess would be that they probably receive the least amount of the tip. If I do go back to this place, it will only be for a drink or appetizer during the day...the service ruins the experience

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rudygio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    13
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
los altos,ca
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice view of the water- excellent pizzas and salads”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

went here with family while visiting. Nice location by the hudson; outside table was very pleasant. Our server gave us excellent service. They have wood-fired pizzas, salads, and a wide assortment of other items. We really enjoyed it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aspalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist trap worth skipping”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The place is located on the hudson river which brings the crowd on most weekend summer nights. A lot of people who own boats dock here to enjoy drinks for the night. The concept of drinks or dinner by the water is nice but overrated in this case. There is usually a cover charge to get in. Price between $5-$20. Once you are in the outside patio is large with lots of tables and chairs. The bar is packed and the bartenders are that great. Most of them are slow to make a drink and even slower to ask if you need a drink. Drinks are small and pricey for the ounces you get. They do not offer a large beer on tap selection. In the past this place did not have a late night menu but now they offer pizza and wings I think every night for the bar crowd. The crowd of people that hangout there are usually older people mostly in their 40s but there is younger crowd too. The age range is from 20s to 40+ on any given night. There is usually a live band hence the covercharge or a dj. There is an inside bar too if it starts to rain. I would not recommend you go here in the rain because the inside bar area is small and tight when too packed and really the point of coming to this place is for the outside bar vibe. FYI there is usually limited toliet paper in the bathrooms so come prepared. The place is nice and can be fun if you are with a
large group of friends. For the record bloody marys are not their strong suit. It is worth going to Hudson Water Club at least once for the experice but not somewhere to hangout weekly. The parking lot has terrible lighting in the dark. Be care when you walk to your car.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tummysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“very good, but pricey”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We went for lunch with 3 children. The food was very good, the view was fantastic, right on the water, but the prices are a bit steep. the children's menu had about 4 selections for lunch all at 8.95. The selections do not include drinks or dessert. My daughters had the pasta and we brought home a lot of it (big portions). The lunch menu had good choices with many choices in the $9-13 range. My husband has the grilled vegetable panini with potatoe 'chips' (homemade). the panini was very good, the chips were OK. I had the pizza with mushrooms and onions (white pizza). The pizza was the perfect size for one persion and very good, but the crust was a bit soggy. The service was fine, but overall the price was 115 (including tip and two alcoholic drinks). So, for a nice day out, it is worth it, but I wouldn't come here all the time due to the price.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noelle1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great setting with mediocre food and service”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were there for the Mother's Day brunch. It was a perfect spring afternoon to eat by the water, but that was the only thing perfect about our experience. The food was OK, but nothing special. A chicken dish that should have been served hot was almost cold. It didn't help that I came back from the buffet with someone else's hair in my food. I see how that can happen, but it was still off-putting.

Service was slow, both as we waited for drinks and upon arrival. We had booked the 1:30 seating, but had to wait in a slow-moving line for 15 minutes. There were plenty of tables available, but only one person seating people. When it was finally our turn, we were brought to a table that was supposedly for us only to find other people there. We were then shifted to an alternate table. They had to know how many people had made reservations and should have been prepared.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson Water Club also viewed

 
Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
Ossining, Westchester County
 

Been to Hudson Water Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing