We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#2 local choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sangam Indian Cuisine

Sangam Indian Cuisine
Ranked #12 of 55 Restaurants in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“#2 local choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Friendly service in pleasant surroundings. Offers a good range of foods on menu and variety of "heats".
I'd like more vegetable included in the meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 70yoKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    91
    22
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Service was satisfactory. Food was tasty. Food portions were a good size. All curries came with rice. Overall a good experience with traditional indian music in the background that added to the ambience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Parker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

All the dishes are superb. We have been making our way through the menu and haven't had a bad one yet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love indian food so was really pleased to find an indian restaurant open in Whitianga. Great service, great food, loved it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank shazcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Most delicious Indian cuisine, we always go back here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We don't often get to the Coromandel, maybe once a year at most but if we ever find ourselves near enough to Whitianga we always make a point of eating at Sangam Indian Cuisine. If you like Indian food this is the best I've tasted for a long time. The food is rich and flavourful and there is a varied selection in addition to the favourites. We like our food hot and they will make it nice and spicy but are also happy to make mild dishes too. Expect to pay around $20 for a main, which is cheap enough compared to other Whitianga restaurants. If you have children they do a pretty reasonable kids meal too that includes non-Indian food for the untrained child's palette ;) on one occasion we even had a free belly dancing show (professional not accidental hehe). Really rate this place xxx

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sangam Indian Cuisine also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Sangam Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing