We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best B&B ever!”
Review of Kuaotunu Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuaotunu Bay Lodge
Ranked #11 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the best B&B ever!”
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Really I am torn: I'm dying to tell you about our wonderful time but then even more people will know and book it up!
Bill & Lorraine are simply delightful. We arrived mid-afternoon, and Bill showed us to our lovely sea-facing room; then appeared with a tray od tea and slices of homemade cake. Fantastic breakfasts on the sunny terrace, a commanding view of the beach/coastline. I lost a crown first evening, so Lorraine phoned her dentist who saw me 45mins later!-typical of the care they showed. After breakfast each moring they both came to sit with the guests to help us plan our day and then book excursions for us(Sea Cave Adventures - with local fisherman Dan was a superb 2hr exploration of the inlets and islands of the Coromandel coast). Our room had a private deck (they all face the sea + great sunsets]. Within three days we felt a part of the family. They made the Coromandel a "must-return" destination. Without doubt the best B&B we have ever encountered.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikplowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2010

This made a fantastic end to our New Zealand holiday - so relaxing after all the travelling. We stayed 3 nights and our hosts could not have done more for us. They made recommendations of what to see and do all of which proved to be excellent. The rooms were lovely and the view from the terrace was so beautiful I wish we could have taken it home with us. The beach was so accessible we walked along it every day. The breakfast was realy good and varied. But most of all we felt so welcome.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaysYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We stayed two nights at this B&B and we had a very good time there. The owners were very nice and welcomed us with a cup of tea and homemade christmascake.
Our room was at the corner of the house and had a very good bed and bathroom. Everything was very clean. We had a also a little terrace were we had privacy. The B&B is at a little hill looking out over the ocean. Very nice spot!! Also the breakfast was good.
Unfortunately we had to leave after two nights........
Our best pick during our vacation in New Zealand!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nootdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We arrived late at night in the rain but Bill was still waiting to help us. The rooms are good and very clean with fairly good views from the deck. Good hots with a great breakfast.. Close to some lovely beaches (but this is not it whitianga). We loved it here. Please note that the score is in comparison to 14 other hotels/B&Bs we stayed in during a 3 week trip to NZ, therefore it didnt get a 5 star due to the fact it wasnt really modern, but we did love it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisab80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We loved our relaxing two night stay with Bill and Lorraine. We happened to be the only guests and really enjoyed talking to them over both breakfast and dinner. They are very interesting, well traveled people who were very helpful in giving us suggestions. The room was beautiful and the views were great. The sound of the ocean waves put us to sleep at night. There was a great deck outside but, unfortunately, the weather was not conducive to sitting out. I'm sure in better weather it would have been delightful. We did enjoy seeing their beautiful, well tended gardens which were in full bloom. The only downside was it is a distance, on a very winding road, to Whitianga. We had no desire to drive there at night so one night we ate nearby at the golf course (very good!) and the other night, on Lorraine's recommendation, we brought food back and ate there. That worked out beautifully, but it's something to be aware of as far as meals.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Lovely friendly place. Very welcoming. Room was comfortable and views fantastic. Lorraine makes a mean blueberry pancake. The dining/lounge area is large with plenty of space to relax, with a view over the bay. We were lucky enough to see the California Quail come up to the Lodge for a feed at breakfast time - a sight to behold!

Worth getting up early to wander along the sweeping beach at dawn - just a minute's walk from the deck. Lovely falling asleep to the sound of the waves lapping at the shore - just perfect after our 12 hour flight from Hong Kong!

Lorraine and Bill were very helpful in planning our visits to local attractions (inc hotwater beach), and our subsequent drive down South to Rotorua.

We hope to go back again soon!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

The Kuaotunu Bay Lodge looks directly out over the bay, which is sandy and beautiful. We had the self-contained apartment, which was lovely and well equiped. Whilst it is at the back of the lodge, it's nice having your own big space and freedom and deck too and you do get a view of the bay! The other guest accomodation is in the lodge itself, the rooms look over the bay.
Our hosts, Lorraine & Bill were very hospitable. They had lots of good information about places to visit and you can't beat good local knowledge. The lodge itself is very spacious and has a wonderful view over the bay and sea.
The lodge is well positioned as a base to visit the top part of the Cormomandel peninsula. There are some great white sandy beaches in the area. They were totally empty in November.
Whitianga is the nearest town, with a good selection of eateries.
We wished we could have stayed longer.
It was a great peaceful location.
Bill & Lorraine give the experience of staying at their lodge a very personal touch, they are very friendly and approachable. A true kiwi experience.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHarmonyHut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
10.3 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
4.7 mi away
Within The Bays
Within The Bays
#8 of 42 in Whitianga
80 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 42 in Whitianga
162 reviews
21.0 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
53 reviews
20.6 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuaotunu Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuaotunu Bay Lodge

Property: Kuaotunu Bay Lodge
Address: State Highway 25 | Kuaotunu / Wharekaho, RD2, Whitianga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuaotunu Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuaotunu Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing