We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The abslolute best place to stay in all of The Coromandel Peninsula!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kuaotunu Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuaotunu Bay Lodge
Ranked #10 of 41 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The abslolute best place to stay in all of The Coromandel Peninsula!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I and our two good fiends began our NZ holiday in Coromandel. After 24+ hours of flying to get to this beautiful country, there was no more relaxing place to unwind and ease blissfully into vacation mide. Lorraine and Bill were excellent and attentive hosts who helped us out by suggesting things to do, making arrangements, and thoroughly filling us in on Coromandel,s history, geography, flora and fauna--right down to finding us the best and most divinely deserted and prstine beach (Otama) and the best little open-air restaurant/beach bar in all creation (Luke's Kitchen in "downtown" Kuoatunu).

The best part? Breakfast on the deck looking out over the ocean. A traditional Kiwi breakfast not be believed, complete with Lorraine"s fantastic homegrown rhubarb. (And before now, I have always hated rhubarb!) The second best hing? Being lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf and waking up to the golden Coromandel sun.

This place is a gem and will definitely be on our itinery again when (not if) we return to NZ.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

This was our first experience of New Zealand B&Bs and we were not dissapointed. A beautiful home and a room which looked out over a lovely garden across to an outstanding vew of the bay. Our comfortable room had a private patio area where tea and cake could be enjoyed. Our host were very welcoming and made us feel truly at home. They also helped organise our stay, including a boat trip to the sea caves and an astronomical evening, which we will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Kuaotunu Bay Lodge is a fantastic B&B accommodation, the room we had was very comfortable and the views from our room accross the bay are quite spectacular. The gardens are beautifully tended and all in all a very peaceful location.
Breakfast was exceptionally good to start the day, and a bottle of wine on the decking outsde our room in the evening was the perfect ending to the day. Bill and Lorraine will even provide plates and utensils in your room if you wish to have a snck in your room to go with that bottle of wine. As I say Perfect!
Bill and Lorraine were so helpful and their local knowledge second to none, providing maps and information whenever we asked, plus the bonus of free wifi and they even let us use their laptop.
All in all a wonderful stay and would love to go back if we are able.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slinda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location, right on the beach at Kuaotunubay bay. Superb views from the bedroom window. Bill & Lorraine were perfect hosts, helpful in every way and produce an excellent breakfast. The B&B is appointed to a very high standard, with very comfortable beds etc. we would love to stay again?

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very friendly hosts. Stunning views from the room. Excellent breakfast. The perfect B&B!! The only disadvantage is that the B&B is not very easy to find. However, once you are there.. this is easily forgotten.. ;) For travellers: take care: the B&B is not in Whitianga but in Kuaotunu.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Bill and Lorraine have created a wonderful home in the Coromandel and it was definitely the wow factor for us four Brits touring New Zealand. The vast window views and the breakfast deck outside are breathtaking, all enhanced by a well thought out garden and local mature plantings. We stayed in the well appointed studio and our friends in a room that looked out over the lawn and coast. Breakfasts were excellent and the rooms comfortable and if the area wasn't so beautiful there would be no incentive to get out of the comfy beds with quality linen. I should simply write: see the other 5 star comments - they are all spot on.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_thePeaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

When you arrive you know it`s like going back to your old home and when you look from your room across the well tended lawn and gardens to the beach beyond, you know there is no better place.Wether it is the warm friendship of Bill and Lorraine, the freedom to wander through their spacious yet cosy home, the garden setting or the views across the bay, I don`t know but it all adds up to a perfect stay. Breakfast on the wide deck is wonderful and we stayed four days and on each we walked the 2km beach and only once met one person.There is no need to dash about to tourist spots just stay here and soak it all up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
22.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
10.3 mi away
Wairua Lodge
Wairua Lodge
#4 of 41 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.7 mi away
Within The Bays
Within The Bays
#9 of 41 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 41 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
20.6 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuaotunu Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuaotunu Bay Lodge

Property: Kuaotunu Bay Lodge
Address: State Highway 25 | Kuaotunu / Wharekaho, RD2, Whitianga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuaotunu Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuaotunu Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing