We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mana-Nui Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grumpy's Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Makona Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
41
28
9
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
28
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsmall poolcentral locationfresh milkfriendly hostsspa poolcomfortable bedclean tidywould stay againstayed two nightshot tuba great place to stayon arrivaljoanneunitstowelscoromandel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 79 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

The Mana-Nui is for sure not the most modern motel you have seen. But the cordial and friendly hosts, the location in the city centre and the fact that it's really clean, tidy and well kept make totally up for that.
I recommend this place and would come back anytime.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank muc_123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your great and honest review. We do appreciate constructive comments and would certainly welcome you back. We host guests to the best of our ability within the limitations of our building and property. Thank you from Merv and Jo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds with great linen and well appointed rooms. Love the huge flat screen TV that I can plug my camera into to view pics. Had a swim and spa on site and walked to restaurants, river and ocean whilst being right in town. Genial hosts who protect their clients with their long experience in the industry. Stayed 4 days and will be back. Maureen and Gordon

Room Tip: 2 bedroom with full cooking facilities for families Studio for couples wanting less cooking facilities
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. Your repeat custom has certainly been appreciated, we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Thank you Merv for going above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. You took great care to ensure Jacqui and I had everything we needed and her wheelchair could fit into the bathroom & bedroom easily.

Unit was close to everything, clean & tidy with comfortable beds and plenty of space. I found the retro chic decor charming and was happy to have the heat pump & a nice big TV in the room. We both thought the price was very reasonable

Thanks again Merv & we hope to come back

Room Tip: If you are in a wheelchair the front unit is great and has heaps of beds if you are in a group - 3 singles and one queen bed in the room and own carpark and private picnic table right outside the door
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Great guests do make our hosting easier. We enjoyed your stay and hope to be of service to you again in the future. Thank you from Merv and Jo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic service, great location. Loved the spa pool... a little expensive we thought for the dated rooms (were were in the older section) but they were very clean and tidy and had everything we needed. Beds were nice and firm and the best ice-cream shop in Whitianga is right across the road! Also the best fish n chips we've had in a long time (the one right on the corner, not the other one). Thanks heaps. We had a fantastic time Easter weekend.

Room Tip: Choose the unit(s) closest to the spa pool!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rina067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Merv and Joanne run a great operation with fantastic customer service. If you want a great location, clean and presentable units and a well managed motel this is the one for you. Some may say the units are a bit old, but the owners do a very good job of maintaining them and they would be hard to fault. Thanks for taking such good care of us and we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Your kind words appreciated by us both. Great guests make for enjoyable hosting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews