We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Welcome to NZ - perfect place to stay!”
Review of Flaxhaven Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flaxhaven Lodge
Ranked #21 of 43 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Flaxhaven Lodge was the first destination on our New Zealand tour! There were five of us in our group and John and Lee made us so comfortable from the moment we walked in the door--- greeting us with wine, friendly smiles, and great conversation. Upon arriving, they arranged our dinner for us at Eggsentric- a quaint and enjoyable local spot just down the road. The house itself is modern, beautifully furnished, and welcoming. Throughout our entire trip [which lasted a month], we never found a garden that was more immaculate! It was stunning-- beautifully manicured and it is so obvious that they take pride in every inch of their property!

We absolutely loved starting our day with their delicious and healthy breakfasts and we felt right at home around their table. They were so helpful with suggestions for sightseeing and dining, and impressed us with their extensive knowledge of the area! There are gorgeous trails accessible from the property.

John and Lee are truly in the right business--- what a joy it was to be introduced to New Zealand by such a pleasant and hospitable couple. We were so glad we stayed two nights, but wish we could have stayed more! Lee even sent us her scrumptious cookie recipe--- one we will cherish, along with our memories, for years to come.

-Chris, Judy, & Katie S.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong! John and Lee made arrangements for a triple to accommodate our adult daughter...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruralcoast, Owner at Flaxhaven Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

Spending time with a lovely family like yours Judy is one of the things that makes our business so worthwhile. Thank you for your generous comments and for including the photo of the garden.However, l can assure you the garden is not always immaculate! l guess it is because you saw it in the Spring that it was especially tidy! We wish you all a very happy 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Flaxhaven Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 57 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband, 7-year old daughter and I stayed with Lee and John for two nights at the start of our North Island tour and loved it. Lee and John were great from the start, very welcoming and always managed to surprise us with thoughtful "extras" like age appropriate books, a nice wooden puzzle which our daughter loved and soft toys in the room for her upon arrival. They also made a special breakfast for her on her birthday and a nice card and balloons to go with it. Really made her feel special. I am lactose intolerant and they made sure I was well taken care of at breakfast. They have a lovely home and garden, and the guest wing which we stayed in had a separate bedroom and living room, both good sized and very private. I would without reservation recommend their place to anyone going to the area. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-planner-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruralcoast, Owner at Flaxhaven Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you Travel- planner- Mum, we appreciate your generous comments especially as you are both widely travelled. As you know our place is not really set up for children so we were grateful for the way you accommodated the extra bed in your room. Ella was a delightful child and no trouble at all and we thoroughly enjoyed the company of the three of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Flaxhaven Lodge after spending Xmas with the rellies at Whangamata. We wanted to relax and enjoy this part of NZ where I had not been since I was a child. The b and b far surpassed what I had been expecting and we have seen a few, having been in the b and b business ourselves; there was a spacious bedroom, separate little lounge, roomy bathroom, separate toilet and two small patios from where you can view the lovely garden. Lee and John are wonderful hosts, going out of their way to make sure we were happy and the position, right by Shakespeare nature reserve is fantastic with Flaxhaven Bay 50 metres up the road, leading into Front Beach and on the other side, Cooks Beach 100 metres down the road. A little further around from Cooks Beach is Purangi Inlet, very sheltered and good for swimming. A good cafe (Eggcentric Cafe) close by and another excellent one (Go Vino)a short distance away at Cooks Beach. If you want to see the sights of Cathedral Cove, Hahei and Hot Water Beach, they are all within close range but we found all we needed right on the doorstep.
We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return next year. Thanks very much Lee and John.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirondelle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruralcoast, Owner at Flaxhaven Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Thank you C for your response which we received on New Year's Day! We were very encouraged by your comments both about the time you spent in our lovely immediate area and at Flaxhaven lodge especially as you both have run a succesful B and B in the past. We will look forward to your return next Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The rooms (living area, bathroom and bedroom) were very comfortable and in a self contained building with its own private garden area. The gardens of the whole property are a delight and immaculate. The B&B is run by John and Lee and you could not find two more helpful and inviting people. They spend time with you when you arrive and sit with you over a mighty and delicious breakfast. there are only 2 guest rooms so it never feels crowded. The area is quiet and the B&B is withing spitting distance of many remarkably beautiful sights. There are good reastaurants in the area too. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Stayed in "The Cottage" which is excellent but their other room might be as well (didn'...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruralcoast, Owner at Flaxhaven Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Thank you Robert. Again it is always a pleasure to host considerate, interesting and friendly guests. May we wish you both a Happy and Prosperous 2012.
Best wishes
John and Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Flaxhaven Lodge was the first stop on our New Zealand trip. What a great first impression of the country and the people! John and Lee were waiting for us with a glass of wine and warm hospitality. The grounds and the gardens were immaculate and filled with flowers ( you could tell they had much experience in gardening). The lodging was new,well-appointed, very clean, and very comfortable.
John was extremely helpful in giving us suggestions of things to do in the area and pointing us to good restaurants. He gave us shovels to use at Hot Water Beach and outlined several lovely hikes.
We enjoyed having breakfast in their kitchen/eating area where we all conversed while we were being served. Just like home!
You can tell John and Lee really like what they're doing and they do it very well! This was an A+ introduction to our month long trip, and John and Lee and the Whitianga area won't be forgotten!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruralcoast, Owner at Flaxhaven Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you Marcia for your generous comments. It was our pleasure to host you all and we did appreciate you being such considerate guests. Aren't we lucky to live in such a special part of our planet ? To be able to share it with folk like yourselves who appreciate great scenery, diverse experiences and companionship makes our hosting role just so worthwhile.
Best wishes
John and Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Flaxhaven Bed and Breakfast near Cook's Beach on the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. Flaxhaven is exactly what we were looking for, located in a quiet setting but close to restaurants, beaches and local attractions. We stayed in the cottage adjacent to the main house, which had a sitting area, kitchenette, bedroom and bath, and our own patio. The cottage was immaculate and the grounds beautiful. Breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed John and Lee's company. They were so helpful in directing us to a sea-kayaking guide and other activities. The property was beautifully landscaped and across the street from a nature preserve which we enjoyed on our morning walks. Several beaches were within walking distance as were several restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the wonderful food at nearby "Go Vino" tapas restaurant and wine bar. And after we returned John and Lee went to the trouble to mail the glasses I had left behind all the way to the U.S!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatandSusan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed in a lovely cottage which was very clean and nicely furnished. Had a hot powerful shower, comfortable bed and some complimentary wine and beer in the fridge. Plus the home-made cookies were delicious, Lee even brought us some more fresh from the oven.
John and Lee are excellent hosts, breakfast was great (and featured fruit from their stunning gardens) and we enjoyed their company, lovely people. A perfect example of just how lovely; we went for dinner at Eggcentric (booked by John, handy as we needed somewhere to eat and it's walking distance.) but it began to rain. Facing the prospect of a damp trudge home, we were delighted to see John arrive with 2 big golf umbrellas to save us from a soaking on the way home. He also lent us a small shovel for our trip to Hot Water Beach. Very knowledgable about the area, all in all, a great weekend. Lee also gave us some passionfruit from the garden, yum!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughGarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
1.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
65 reviews
7.5 mi away
Taigh Na Mara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Casa Aquila Boutique Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
2.5 mi away
On the Beach B & B
On the Beach B & B
#12 of 43 in Whitianga
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flaxhaven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flaxhaven Lodge

Address: 995 Purangi Road | Flaxmill Bay, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: $139 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Flaxhaven Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flaxhaven Lodge is uniquely situated alongside picturesque Flaxmill Bay, near Cathedral Cove Marine Reserve and Hot Water Beach, yet central to countryside and town. 4 white safe sandy beaches and a great restaurant are within a few minutes walk. At Flaxhaven Lodge there is a glimpse of the sea, but essentially this is a garden setting, spacious quiet and peaceful yet with bars/restaurants a short walk, drive or quaint ferry ride away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing