We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Great Place, fantastic Appartement, excellent accomodation. Well furnished, full Equipment, very friendly staff, clean rooms, Good Location close to the Beach, Shop nearby, a few small Restaurants as well. Although, for the ones who are looking for a Party town, are gonna be dissapointed. It is a fine, quite rural village.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 435 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

18 days, 11 cities and 3 countries!! My trip around the South Pacific was short by most 3-country trek standards but it was well planned and allowed me to enjoy pretty much EVERY activity I wanted to experience while there. I promised many of the companies I booked with an honest TripAdvisor review and here I am making good on that promise. Of course everyone was not excellent but mostly everyone was!!
Okay, so the Oceans Resort is not your typical “American”resort; it is SO MUCH BETTER! First of all Whitianga is by far my absolute favorite place in New Zealand. If I ever go into hiding and need to live three months in peaceful beautiful place my family will be able to find me here at the Ocean’s Resort ☺. These are not hotel rooms, these are not condominiums these are townhomes people and they are great. Ours of course had three bedrooms, one off the back of the garage and two on the top (third) floor. If you booked a one bedroom you are only allowed to use one bedroom (makes sense to me) so they housekeeper doesn’t have to tidy more than one bed. There is only one television on the main (second) floor (again no problem for us) and great wifi! The laundry was helpful and much needed; the kitchen was fully stocked (wine glasses and cork opener), we didn’t have any real ocean view, which is a shame because the beach across the street is beautiful. I got amazing sunrise pictures of it, but we had to walk over. I did not use the pool and our home was close to the Lost Spring walkthrough, which I did use although I chose not to pay for the Lost Spring’s services (chose to do the springs in Rotorua). The Resort is also a quick walk into town. This is a small town people with great people. We were out walking around (really looking for donuts) and my friend left his camera somewhere. We did not even notice it was gone, by the time we got home the Whitianga Police pulled up behind us with our camera in her hand. Someone had turned it in and she found us to return it to us. Far and beyond the call of duty; we don’t even know where we left the camera. We did have a few electrical issues in our garage but they were fixed expeditiously and information about when to go to the hot water beach and the spades were priceless. I want to go back so bad☺ Loved the Oceans Resort. My rating is really four and a half, lost a half for no ocean view. With it would have made it perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzbuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The owners are extremely friendly.
The accomodation is great and clean. The perfect place to spend holidays. The chalet are located close to the see with a dedicated walkway to go to the beach.
Nice heated pool.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Oceans Resort have beautifully appointed townhouses that I would struggle to fault. They are a block from the beach, are well appointed, tastefully decorated and the owners were very friendly. They are 3 stories with living area on the central floor, bedrooms on the top and a garage and further bedroom and laundry on the bottom floor. Would definitely recommend. Top spot!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank mwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Amazing place wid a amazing n active host Pamela.. Booked a 1 bed room apartment and unexpectedly got a ground +2 floors for complete use.. All facilities are included like d laundry, well equipped kitchen, good recreational area like a tennis court, cycling and a swimming pool, etc.. Go for it with your eyes closed.. I feel you will enjoy it fully.. Best start of a honeymoon with the expectation rising higher for next destinations.. Hope to see this place again..

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prateek30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. We had booked a two bedroom apartment as there was three adults and we were taken back by the high quality of the accommodation for the price, we had a duplex apartment which had a garage, double bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor and the lounge/kitchen on the first floor, with another double bedroom and bathroom. It was apartment number 13, and had partial ocean view which I don't think many of them have. It was lovely and clean and well equipped. Whittianga is so well situated for visiting the coromandel with hot water beach and cathedral cove 15-20 mins drive away. Can't recommend these apartments enough!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We booked this accommodation at the last minute, when we found out about the forthcoming Labour Day holiday whilst we were touring New Zealand. We were surprised when the man at reception led us outside and got on a bicycle to show us where our 'apartment' was. We were even more surprised when he led us to a residential street of rather nice houses and showed us right into one of them! With the garage on the ground floor, and the living area and main bedroom on the first floor, plus a balcony too, we were delighted - and could pretend to be native New Zealanders with our own house, even if it was just for one night! The house was immaculately clean and fully equipped for a long stay. Only one minor criticism, we really needed a shelf or something similar to put a wash bag in the bathroom - there is nowhere to put anything at all. After three weeks of being on the road and staying in typical motels, it did feel a little strange to us be staying in someone else's house, but we could have got used to it very easily!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandC428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
68 reviews
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Address: 18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Family Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range: $108 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort Whitianga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing