We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Clean, friendly...fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We only stayed here one night and arrived late, but was long enough to tell that this was a great hotel. We booked the wrong date by mistake but the lady working there was so good about it and didnt charge us extra and welcomed us warmly when we did eventually arrive 1 day late! The room we had was big, comfy, and nicely furnished. Staff took the time to help us out with planning things to do in the area and were just genuinely friendly people. We didnt get to use the facilities, like the pool etc, but everything looked neat and well kept. Was definitely a bonus to have somewhere with a washing machine too! Great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 434 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed two nights on our trip. The accomodation was great for our party of one infant, a 2 year old and very mobile 86 year old. The unit was three floors, so lots of stairs, which wasn't a problem for our group and provided nice views from the upper level. The top level was bedrooms (one with view of the ocean), the second level was the kitchen/dining/lounge and the entry with laundry on the groud floor. We made great use of the kitchen and laundry. The location is great, walkable into town. The pool was great and the whole place is modern, clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on our NZ tour ... excellent accommodation, especially the kitchen area which we made good use of. The mangers work very hard and long hours to keep a high standard on the site and are very helpful.
As previously stated the units are designed over three floors, so not suitable for some. Close to Whitianga facilities and the complex has a pool, cycle hire and free wifi (the latter is a bit of a challenge but I generally managed from the unit, but go to the office otherwise).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadders58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived in Whitianga to rain unfortunately but we couldnt have been more happy with the accommodations. The rooms were just as expected in the pictures. No trick photography making the rooms look nicer or bigger. It was spacious and modern. They were able to check us in at 10:30am about 5 hours early too. I told the host that my father had suggested I try the local fruit called a Figoa. Unfortunately they were not in season at that time but she went and got me some jam they had to let me try it. How amazing is that?! Now that is amazing service!!
We travel alot and I would give this place one of the best ratings ever.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Absolutely wonderful. Wonderful hosts, wonderful apartment, wonderful complex, wonderful area. We will most definitely be back again.

As much as its felt that you have all amenities available to you, you also feel as if you have your own space. Its a lovely clean and tidy complex, which is so close to the town and the beach, but at the same times it's beautifully quiet.

Room Tip: Room 54 - good internet, away from the road, and there is a glimpse of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivienneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Booked for and stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroomed unit.
Down a right-of-way (hence hidden).
Very clean, newish, well kitted-out. Drive in garaging, Close to the beach and town.
The unit we had was on 3 levels, garage, living/kitchen & dining then bedrooms & bathroom. If stairs are an issue you will need to ask for another style of room.

Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: If staying in summer you may wish to ask for an AC'd unit. But it was fine for the time we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We tried the Information Centre and was pointed in this direction. A two bedroom apartment on two levels, downstairs bed room with own toilet facilities and everything else on the first floor. Well maintained and heaps of room with a balcony. Wifi great reception and virtually free, 200gb per night. The only downside was the lack of Air con which was desperately required on those sticky nights. Reception really helpful. Give this a thumbs up even though the Air con was missing. Oh by the way you have your own parking spot/garage.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
81 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#10 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Address: 18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Family Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range: $112 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort Whitianga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing